1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVIDIA GeForce 296.10 WHQL

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by stasio, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. Techio

    Techio Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX Fury 4096SP Unlocked
    I followed Jvmagi's advice. I didn't install fresh copy of Windows 8 but I did install the 285.62 and so far, nothing has happened. :)
     
  2. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,515
    Likes Received:
    308
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Sigh... NVIDIA has had AA compatibility bits for ME1 for years. I.e. you just force it and it worked fine. Now it does not work any more at least in my case (it seems to work for some while it doesn't for others). I have exactly the same issue in UT3 too. I have no such problem with 285.62 drivers.
     
  3. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,515
    Likes Received:
    308
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    0x080100C5 flag works just fine in ME3 at least with 285.62 (and 285.79) drivers.

    8xMSAA+4x Transparency supersampling:
    http://www.abload.de/img/masseffect32012-03-0693kwx.png

    I wouldn't be surprised if it did not work in new drivers since at least in my case that flag stopped working in ME1 in 29x.xx drivers. It may be same issue.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2012
  4. chicoguay

    chicoguay New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    msi 560 gtx twin frozr ii
    yep i just had the pink screen of death with these drivers on youtube it´s the same as with 295.51 , it only happen one time if it happens again i will be rolling back to 295.73 , wich work just fine.
     

  5. BoobPhysics101

    BoobPhysics101 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 570 2.56 GB 960/2300
    Very nice, thanks for the info! That's really strange that 29x.xx drivers seem to have lost that ME1/2 bit compatibility with ME3. I wonder what changed? But again, that's really interesting/helpful information.
     
  6. keenu

    keenu Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 560 TI
    I got the pink screen as well, great going to rollback
     
  7. Soundcreepy

    Soundcreepy Member Guru

    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY 780 Enthusiast 3gb
    Well, no PSOD for me, however I have noticed lower frame rates on NFS The Run and Skyrim so far, so, back to the last one for me, not that this driver really added much from 295.79.
     
  8. draegunstrife

    draegunstrife Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 780 Classified
    I am a bit sad by these drivers. I've gotten the PSOD too. Didn't happen with the previous versions and the quadro/tesla versions.
     
  9. vrhett

    vrhett Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD7850 2GB GDDR5
    Hi. I am new comer here and was wondering if I could get some assistance. Anyway, I came across this thread and the above post particularly caught my attention due the updated CUDA driver profile.
    [​IMG][/IMG]

    I was able to install the 296.17 version on my Win7 SP1 32bit OS, but I have not tested it on any of my graphics intensive games such as bf3, metro 2033, skyrim since i was not sure of the implications - if any.

    Have you guys tried the 296.17 driver on a Windows 7 platform?
     
  10. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,360
    Likes Received:
    896
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    looks like PSOD is limited to GTX560Ti cards
     

  11. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,284
    Likes Received:
    546
    GPU:
    Redacted by NDA
  12. xDfieO

    xDfieO Member Guru

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX 970 DCUII
    Bad drivers. Getting CTD for BC2 on ALT-TAB. x64. GT330M. I r sad.
     
  13. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    ^
    hm so far so good, everything is ok here, no PSOD etc.. I never had that, but maybe because i dont use any special Codecs, i use build-in KMplayer stuff.

    I have, but i didnt see any real difference, i thought CUDA 4.2.1 will be faster, but overall i lost 1-2fps in most benchmarks :D
     
  14. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,134
    Likes Received:
    611
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    How come so many people have issues with the 290 and 295 Drivers?

    They all been issue free for me :S

    You all sure you Uninstall the old ones properly?
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012
  15. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,003
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    same here i havent had a problems so far.
     

  16. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,515
    Likes Received:
    308
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    It's probably the exact same issue that is causing AA to not work in ME1. It's a nasty problem. For example if I limit my frame rate 30 or start recording video at 30 FPS, AA comes back on. o_O Or at least it did in previous 29x.xx drivers. Doesn't make any sense to me, though. However, AA did work fine in ME2 but UT3 had exactly the same issue as ME1. They clearly have changed something.

    If it doesn't work any more in ME3, I don't see any reason to update.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2012
  17. clawhamer

    clawhamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 780 Classified
    ...and yet again, another problem free driver here.
     
  18. ThEcLiT

    ThEcLiT Master Guru

    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 460 1gb OC
    PSOD is not limited with 560 cards :) I got this also, 3 times so far, on 2 different driver. Last one and previous beta one (forgot which beta)
     
  19. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,834
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    Yes, the full package works fine, but stuttered in swtor so switched to 296.10 that runs it somewhat better.
    Mixing them seem ok to for that particular game, so something works different with a full package.
    I'm not to deeply into driver architecture to point it out thou, except for a difference in DPC latency.
     
  20. MoodyB

    MoodyB Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS 6870 IceQ
    I can get both msaa & ssaa working in ME1 here with the 296.10 drivers & the latest NVInspector :

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page