NVIDIA Geforce 263.00 WHQL

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by theonlybabyface, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. aayman_farzand

    aayman_farzand Master Guru

    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    I installed this one today. I was waiting as I thought maufacturers were slow with their own WHQLs, and a newer WHQL was around the corner.

    Anyway, so far no major differences.
     
  2. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,078
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    Merc 319 6800 XT
    If you don't need DX11 I'd suggest holding onto yer 295 for a while. Those cards are still beasts.
     
  3. Kolt

    Kolt Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    506
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    Working nicely so far. Tried Black Ops and WoW only so far. Awesome IQ. Good performance.

    Keeping until problem found, if any.
     
  4. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]


    although i got some weird corruption in TF2 after a while, i think it was pl_goldrush map (i saw it with some older drivers too and only this map), it started after around 1hr or so,..

    i saw some black lines appearing here and there and eventually it froze with a sound loop..

    im back to 258.96, well i never seen anything like that with this set..
     

  5. dnottis

    dnottis Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA SSC 970 GTX 4GB
    MOH stutters again with these. Back to 260.99 and smoothness.
     
  6. DooGie

    DooGie Master Guru

    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970 SC
    Same here. Also I don't find the IQ of these drivers better than 260.99, in fact I think it's worse.
     
  7. El1iP3S01D

    El1iP3S01D Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia 880 gtx in SLI
    Fantastic

    This is one of the best drivers by far for Test Drive Unlimited, NFS Shift for PC and Mass Effect 2...
     
  8. anth_15

    anth_15 Master Guru

    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080
    These drivers have great IQ and run pretty good.
     
  9. smut

    smut Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX 960 SuperSC
    Can someone upload this another mirror? These gigabyte servers are effing slow. 3 hours to download a driver in 2010? come on
     
  10. anth_15

    anth_15 Master Guru

    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080

  11. Saifz

    Saifz Master Guru

    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    460 Zotac 1gb 800/2000
    no diff at all =(
     
  12. spike21

    spike21 Member Guru

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970CF 16@2133mhz
    Best driver for me so far.I.Q. is awesome in FC2.
     
  13. WacKEDmaN

    WacKEDmaN Guest



    +1 what darren said...CUDA has absolutly NOTHING to do with game issues..

    basically it allows programmers to write programs that run on the GPU in a semi -"C" language..
    the only time CUDA comes into games, is with Physx (its written in CUDA language) or if the game has special options (Just Cause 2 is the only one i know of..used for that bokeh filter)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 5, 2010
  14. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    don't be so sure.

    Im not 100%, but i saw a pattern in the past; every time they went to new cuda it broke something or new issues emerged..unless they went from buggy cuda to updated version..
    for example
    cuda 2.2.1 (buggy)>> 2.3.1 (ok)
    cuda 3.0.1 (buggy)>> cuda 3.1.1 (ok) >>cuda3.2.1(50/50 but still buggier than cuda 3.1.1)



    edit:
    im gonna try 261.20Q (cuda 3.1.1) to see if Dirt2 doesnt stutter then its defo cuda3.2.1 fault with 260+..


    edit2: yea like i thought its fine with 261.20 with cuda3.1.1; see for yourself
    [​IMG]



    261.20 (cuda3.1.1)

    263.06 or 265.90 or 260.89 or 260.99 or 260.53 (cuda 3.2.1) all with the same low fps spike


    coincidence? i think not, any driver before cuda 3.2.1 (before they tweaked it for 460gtx with 260+ drivers) doesn't have this issue.

    There you have it, black on white lol:pc1:
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
  15. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    Then is it weird that DiRT2 (on steam) doesn't stutter on my end?
     

  16. gstanford

    gstanford Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Galaxy GTX670 2gb ref
    Do these drivers support GTX460 SE?

    I have a couple arriving this week, one will replace a GT240 for PhysX duties in my SLI GTX460 (Gainward 2gb) rig.
     
  17. WacKEDmaN

    WacKEDmaN Guest

    wtf? ur worried about a 10fps drop on min frame rate (which is less than half a second) when your avg and max are higher?...which could just be the benchmark itself (just look at mafiaIIs benchmark and how it runs different on multiple runs...or the 3dmarks where scores can vary by 1000 points on consecutive runs) or some background app kicking in..could even be just the game loading up textures instead of calling them from the cache (cache misses)...

    CUDA is NOT the issue..

    stick with your old drivers for your old cards...and stop making assumptions
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 5, 2010
  18. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    ^
    or you generalizing it Lmao, nvidia broke it once they optimized it for 460gtx, what can't you understand here!


    yes becuase you have 460gtx, doh...


    it doesn't stutter here too, only when it shows the cars before you race - at that 3d flash it micro freezes for a sec., and like i said its not here with older driver or before they optimized it for 460gtx or with this (cuda 3.1.1) 261.20 driver.

    Check release notes with any 260+(cuda 3.2.1) and you will see what i mean..
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2010
  19. WacKEDmaN

    WacKEDmaN Guest

    :bang::bang::bang::bang::bang::bang::bang:

    CUDA is a layer that sits on top of the driver, just like physx and opencl are layers that sit on top of CUDA, if the drivers didnt have cuda, your games would still work as they do now

    PhysX/OpenCL
    |
    |
    \/
    CUDA
    |
    |
    \/
    WDDM <-- directx/openGL calls go to here not through CUDA
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 5, 2010
  20. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    ^
    and it also controls cuda cores(shaders) and keeps them busy, and not just for physx, openCL, directcompute or some small effects, but in general.


    im not replying to you anymore, why bother seriously.
     

Share This Page