Nvidia forceware driver 169.09 XP and Vista OUT (Crysis driver)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by StreeTunder, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080 GXT
    Well I still can't even get past the main menu in DX9 or DX10 because of the crappy nvlddmkm.sys stopped responding error. All my other games play relatively fine accept for a slight hitching problem.
     
  2. jbgoode

    jbgoode Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    275GTX /GTX580
    Installed 169.09b from 169.04b
    Crysis plays v.well everything maxed out 1680x1050.
    Timeshift, Stranglehold, FEAR PerseusM and Jericho no stutters no nothing. Very stable . winXP 32bit only (no VISTA)
     
  3. Benamin

    Benamin Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 8800 gtx/Samsung 226bw
    Humor me and slow your vid card memory to 1900mhz and see what happens. Leave other clocks alone.
     
  4. sunkid

    sunkid Master Guru

    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    STRIX GTX 1070 Ti
    169.09 + CoD4 + 7950Gt PCI-E = same jittery performance + bsod.

    Meh...
     

  5. Boostland

    Boostland Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI NX-6800GT @ Ultra
    Textures in Call Of Duty (OpenGL) are still not working in these, all the 169.xx drivers have this issue.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. BIGWORM

    BIGWORM Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sparkle GTX 260 SP216
    ^ You run DX7 mode?
     
  7. Hog54

    Hog54 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    Evga RTX2060 KO

    I guess none of you have seen the new apple commercial mentioning vista?lol
     
  8. aleicgrant

    aleicgrant Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok what am I doing wrong. Core 2 extreme @ 3650 ghz, 4 gig dominator 8888 memory. 2 8800 gtx cards all water cooled. 169.09 drivers and a fresh install of Vista 64bit. All settings on v high except texture quality shadow. Once the plane comes into the scene it comes CRAWLING almost to a stop. if its 5 frames per second I would be surprised.

    Can anyone offer some advice or post your setting.

    If I can only get 5-10 fps with this sort of hardware something is wrong
     
  9. Marri

    Marri Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5970
    What resolution r u running @
    I know I'm not quite impressed too , I'm getting 20-18 FPS on Very High during multiple gun fights , running at 1280x720 , no aa !
    If im not mistaken before the plane scene ends , the FPS should shoot around 35-40 !

    But ur clearly not running SLi
    Try this....
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2007
  10. Slam

    Slam Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 XC
    Is my wife cool or what?! Heard me talking about this game, she comes home from work, reaches into a bag, and pulls Crysis out. Awwww yeah!

    I don't know about any other Vista64 users, but these drivers have made a big improvement for me. Just installed Crysis full version, at 1680x1050 and have everything on Very High except shader on medium, and water on high. It's totally smooth, and looks awesome. I keep thinking that the 8800 series has some life still left in it, and that the software is catching up with optimizations etc. You'd think with all the sp's in these cards, that we should be able to run games that these damn cards were originally designed for.
     

  11. Hog54

    Hog54 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    Evga RTX2060 KO
    With the fps you guys are getting with 8800s,I guess crysis was made for the 9800.lol

    Seriously,I dont know what you guys are doing wrong but i get fps in the 20-30 range with my measly 7600 in crysis demo.
     
  12. bagman

    bagman Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1060
    I would be interested in what section of Call of Duty you took that screen shot.
    I assume it's the first CoD, not the expansion ?

    I am running a 7950GX2 with 169.04 and am having no issues like yourself.
    Mind you, in MOHAA I get black and white zebra strips on certain surfaces.
    Most other OpenGL games are fine for me.

    I would like to get to the same spot as you in CoD and see if I have the same issues.

    cheers
     
  13. UnclePappi

    UnclePappi Banned

    Messages:
    5,086
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Asus 680 2gb 1250mhz
    The 9800 is supposedly almost 3 times faster than the 8800gtx. According to what nvidia said like 6 months ago. If true Crysis is gonna get owned. What the hell would be in that thing? 256 sp's running at 2.5ghz? 48 rops? 96 texture units? Anybody heard anything about it?
     
  14. D4rKy21

    D4rKy21 Banned

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 980 G1 SLI
    i am gonne buy a second ultra, in 2008 lol, i get with crysis on x64 a fps of 15-25 between and how odd it is it runs very well, only sometimes choppy with allot of shooting ore helicopters lol.

    i have nuthing tweaked, in crysis config, it gets facked up by many people crashes to desktop freezing.

    i play the game on very high, al the settings 1280x1024 AA off, with 169.09.

    Crysis just a heavy game lol.


    Gears of Wars, runs like a childplay, like ut3 and bioshock.

    Crysis @ dx10 on vista is made for SLI.

    Some of you guys overclock CPU,s no wonder you get BSODS:p

    Here i made some DX10 shots from my game, watch and enjoy.


    http://aycu26.webshots.com/image/34385/2002742032238004775_rs.jpg

    http://aycu10.webshots.com/image/34729/2000106181376136151_rs.jpg

    http://aycu35.webshots.com/image/34354/2003330732611611499_rs.jpg


    Fps is random in crysis but mostly of the time above 17 fps is playable in this game, it sounds maybe weird but it is lol :approval:
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2007
  15. Mott

    Mott Master Guru

    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080 GXT
    Wow dude. Spot on! I have my memory running @ 945 (1890) and I can run Crysis in DX10 with everything fully loaded just fine. I played for a hour or two just now!

    THANKS!

    Its crazy because all my other games run just fine with the mem set to 999 (1998).

    Where did you pick this little tidbit of information up at?

    On another note:

    I am running the 169.09 drivers and I was getting pauses in my games with 163.75 as well. I have noticed the games that pause are Gears of war, Supreme Commander Forged Alliance, World in Conflict and Crysis (all go about 30 mins in between pauses so it doesn't ruin my gaming experience. Games such as The witcher, half life 2 ep2, team fortress 2 and Enemy Territory Quake wars do not pause at all.

    I find it strange that all but one of my frequent pausing games are DX10 while all my games that do not pause at all run in DX9.

    Any light to shed on this guys?

    BTW I am on Vista x64. I came over from XP SP2 (163.76) not too long ago and I never experienced any pausing what so ever on XP SP2 (go figure).
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2007

  16. Warboy

    Warboy Master Guru

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 2080 Ti
    I keep getting BSOD in Crysis and GoW with these driver, prostreet runs great.

    So mainly i'm getting BSOD with DX10 Games.
     
  17. RanCor TDO

    RanCor TDO Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit 1080 GameRock

    the graphics in ut3 are nothing compared to crysis, it's normal that it requires alot more power imo
     
  18. Sneakers

    Sneakers Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti Windforce
    This diver is meant to be working with the demo aswell right? Just curious since that with 163.75 it was basically unplayable, looking at the screen was as looking through a bottle, all was blurred and sluggish, and like <7 fps :eek:..


    /edit

    Tried it again now with the 169.09 drivers and it stills gives maximum 7 fps in the demo, wich is unplayable. I mean is it meant to be like this Oo?

    I been trying it on highest settings 16xQ aa @ 1680x1050 resulotions on widescreen tft and its not working at all. So I put it down to medium settings @ 1024 resul, here I get 60ish fps and 102 when looking up in the sky.

    Its not that pritty at these settings and with the comp spec I run at you should think you would be able to run it at higher settings. Is this due to the demo beeing kinda badly made or is the full game like this aswell? Noway I'll buy a game that doesn't run in singleplayer on high settings ><
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2007
  19. Year

    Year Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,594
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    go back to XP SP2 m8 :D and play games the way they're meant to be played.
     
  20. CapBadge

    CapBadge New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x HD4970X2 quadcrossfire
    PC crashes now with these drivers.

    Blue screen of death on a number of games now with this driver.
    Lower benchmark score with 3Dmark '06 as well, down to 14438 marks.
    Have gone back to 169.04.
    Now back up to 14684.
     

Share This Page