Nvidia Forceware 162.18's officially Released XP/2000

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Rich_Guy, Jul 26, 2007.

  1. cool1

    cool1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 260 216CORE OC ED
    getting BSOD in GRAW2
     
  2. zoo

    zoo Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 280 GTX 1024mb
    No problems here. Can see CP again. All my games ran pretty well :)
     
  3. dsdsdk

    dsdsdk Master Guru

    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX280
    Works great for 8800GTX and World in conflict and GRAW2.
    No crash after ~4 hours of each game.

    Performance is fine. IQ is the same as it has always been with 8800-series..
     
  4. Eliminator

    Eliminator Member Guru

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX280/Dell 2405FPW
    use the 93.81 drivers for the 7950GX2.... read my guide here on how to import new SLI profiles and overclock
    http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=94905

    but no shadows in GRAW2 right?
     

  5. mafia_boy

    mafia_boy Member Guru

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GeForce GTX 970 4gig
    Just tried to play GRAW2 on the 162.18 official and it crashed big time! couldnt even start a mission, the best driver ive used up till now is still the 93.71. GRrrr now i have to uninstall, clean and reinstall again for the 100th time!
    Never mind, may go for a modded driver this time! any prefences guys for my 7900gs??
     
  6. rogga

    rogga New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    cp and coolbits

    since im playing older games like starcraft i need to manually override refreshrates. just updated from 94.24 to these and installed coolbits but i cant see any tab in the new CP to overide refresh rates, i also dont see any working tabs for overclocking.
    is it not possible anymore to get the old CP to work with these drivers ?
    been searching threads here for over an hour now and cant find anything.
    you all using ntune now ? i dont want another resident to hog my memory :(
     
  7. avedis

    avedis New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    driver number

    i am using 94,24 forceware driver,i see the latest realease is 162.18 could someone explain please how these numbers work,ie its been 9x,xx untill this release are the 162.18 to replace 94.24? .

    my card is a 7950gx2.

    thanks avedis
     
  8. Vector

    Vector Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 770 FTW 4gb w/bkplate
    I used the beta verson and it was lousy!

    Hopefully nVidia fixed the 162.18 official release.
     
  9. vinteg

    vinteg Master Guru

    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GTS 640
    wel, it sucks for me. so far, since i have installed 2 games: fear and COD2 on a fresh windows. fear crashes and COD2 doesnt give ingame image (only the compas and grenade HUDS are visible)
     
  10. provoko

    provoko Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5770
    Yea, scaling is screwed up for me too. I had to set my display as an HDTV and make a custom resolutions which is buggy in it's self, but it's working now.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2007

  11. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,787
    Likes Received:
    758
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Welcome to Guru :)

    You can get the old CP back by doing a registry hack, just search for this key, and change the Value to what you want :-

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIACorporation\Glob al\NvCplApi\Policies and edit the ContextUIPolicy DWORD value.

    The values are :-

    1 for the old Control Panel
    2 for the new Control Panel
    3 to use both Control Panels
     
  12. Grendel_66

    Grendel_66 Master Guru

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Use RivaTuner.
     
  13. provoko

    provoko Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5770
    162.18 is bad for fear? I didn't see anything wrong, maybe I missed it.
     
  14. Wester547

    Wester547 Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForceGT330M/512MB
    I can't shuffle my way out of F.E.A.R. due to quite rudimentarily, a problem with the drivers that nVidia have acknowledged (that affects other games, too, but not as badly) - a texture device memory evict issue than draws far too much out of the VRAM than it should, due to a driver flub, for the GeForce 8xxx series in particular, that nVidia are working on a fix on. Hence the slowdowns in F.E.A.R., and how ALT+TABBING it flushes the VRAM and all is well. In my experience, this has also resulted in rendering artifacts, 1FPS average-vibe getting performance, and cold lock-ups when trying to quit. I'm hoping nVidia releases a hotfix for this very soon (also hence why Jedi Academy slows to a crawl with dynamic glow enabled... hence the disturbed reaction of loss of available device memory).

    It's quite the dejecting bug, and something I was hoping nVidia would have fixed long ago for GeForce 8 series graphics cards. Again, though, it's been acknowledged (though, on a side note, I believe this issue affects both XP and Vista users, to be fastidious):

    http://www.beyond3d.com/content/news/349
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2007
  15. 3D_Guardian

    3D_Guardian Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    e-GeForce 7600GS AGP 8x
    I'm also have problem using 162.18 beta & WHQL Driver. My monitor is Samsung SyncMaster 940BW 19" WideScreen(16:10) and resolution is 1440x900, graphics card is 7600GS AGP8x.

    The Screen is wide over my monitor just using 1440x900 on Windows, and control panel cannot run.

    Now I'm use back 94.24 and no problem...
     

  16. shadow70

    shadow70 Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX470
    It is a driver problem l had the same problem getting the 1680*1050 on my 22" with the beta drivers.
     
  17. hUntErWR

    hUntErWR Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX260
    With these driver I have better score then with beta and no problems in games.
     
  18. rogga

    rogga New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    wonderful, thank you !
     
  19. bballfreak6

    bballfreak6 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070S OC
    bought my gigabyte 8800gts 640mb today, this is the first and only driver set i've tried so far, absolutely no problem with games tried so far, tdu, fear, cod2, gta san andreas, nfsmw, was really impressed to be able to run fear@1680*1050 with everything maxed 4aa 16af (soft shadow dont seem to be working tho maybe its because aa was enabled) and silky smooth gameplay
     
  20. stansdds

    stansdds Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 7950GT 512 MB
    The numbering system is quite confusing, possibly due to the fact that most of these drivers are beta's. If the beta's were kept in the developer's house and released only when finished and released only through Nvidia, then we might see a logical sequence of numbers.

    The 94.24 is actually an old driver that was recently released. Why do I say this? I base this opinion on Nvidia driver performance in the combat flights sim "IL2". Beginning with drivers in the 85 series and continuing until 96.89, in IL2 with the water set for the highest graphics there would be a black circle displayed on the surface of the water beneath a low flying aircraft. 96.89 and all drivers higher in number fixed this issue. 94.24 still has the black circle bug, so it seems to me that it is actually older than 96.89 even though it's release date is about one year later than 96.89.

    Perhaps this numbering nightmare is intentional; done just to keep Nvidia owners confused.
     

Share This Page