1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Canzah

    Canzah Banned

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti GHz
    In movement the framerate literally drops in half randomly. Especially jarring when jumping.
     
  2. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Yeah, well, 4x is too much for 780. I would need two of 'em for that.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Depends on the game. Unless you need 60FPS in every game.

    /shrug
     
  4. darkninjavn

    darkninjavn New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia gtx660
    for me, 2x1 SSAA + SGSSAA 2x + FXAA better than MSAA 4x.
     

  5. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    I do. I'm sensitive to framedrops. I can't stand even 50 FPS. SGSSAA 4x is causing even bigger framedrops, down to 30 or less FPS.
     
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Well then SLI is your only hope if you need 60FPS.

    30FPS is more than enough for many games for me.
     
  7. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    Batman Arkham Origins Blackgate:

    0x004012C5 works with SGSSAA but it has a few problems.

    1) The AA fix needs to be applied or you get blur.
    2) The lower the quality of SGSSAA you use the more burier it is (I tried using a negative LOD), it's a mess with 2x SGSSAA.
    3) It only works with 16:9 resolutions (I tried 0x084012C5 but it didn't work).

    No AA

    In game AA

    2x SGSSAA :eek:

    4x SGSSAA

    8x SGSSAA

    8x SGSSAA (AA fix off)

    I will see if I can find a better flag but it will have to do for now.

    P.S.

    The game is locked a 60fps and if you unlock it by disabling v-sync in the NV control panel the game will speed up like NFS Rivals.

    Update:

    After trying 128 flags I couldn't find one didn't have increased blur the lower the SGSSAA quality you used.

    I found that the 0x00411245 flag works great with MSAA though.

    2x MSAA

    4x MSAA

    8x MSAA
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2014
  8. SomeoneSimple

    SomeoneSimple New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia TNT2
    Took me a while of brute-forcing, but: Age of Wonders III

    0x084012C1 or 0x080012C0 (doesn't seem to be a difference)

    Disable ingame SSAO! It will cut your FPS down to one quarter.
    A working HBAO+ flag is probably better performing than ingame's SSAO.

    Screenshots:

    2x2 OGSSAA: i.minus.com/ibl18MTIinGexn.png

    4x SGSSAA: i.minus.com/inJLeVmIVfNcu.png

    ~60FPS on the world map with GTX670, ~45FPS on battlefields.

    I can't link URL's yet, so gotta C/P them. As my first contribution, I'd also like to thank everyone here for their posting AA-bits for various games ! :banana:
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2014
  9. calderes

    calderes Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX680 2Gb +170/+500
    Age of Wonders III sgssaa (sparse grid) compatibility bit.

    0x084112C5

    tested and approved. (I tried 14 before I got one to work =) stupid proprietary engine from triumph studios.)

    compare 1st with 4th and 2nd with 3rd

    w/8xMSAA + 8xSGSSAA (LOD -1.75) max settings minus in-game AA @1080
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    w/out - max settings minus in-game AA @1080
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2014
  10. calderes

    calderes Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX680 2Gb +170/+500

    That's so funny that we would both post this **** in the same day but with different bits! Cool that you found a different sparse grid bit. I only tested mine w/in the opening menus. Good Work!
     

  11. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Then probably 0x080012C0 would be the best one? I think the rule of thumb is the less bits you have on the better.
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Thanks for the posts guys. Batman isn't the first case of strange issues with a game. SGSSAA is really kind of a "hack" anyway. So there are bound to be issues from time to time.

    Age of wonders, would you mind taking comparison screenshots of both flags listed.

    Need to determine which is better. And need to determine level of UI blur and AA quality of each with the same scene.
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Not necessarily.

    Some games need each and every bit to function correctly.

    Narrowing it down to the basic functions needed is the important factor.

    It's just a matter of trial and error.
     
  14. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Lol ok. I was simply working off the fact that they have three flags all of which work. Unless that is not the case for that flag, wouldn't what you just said make that flag the best of the three?
     
  15. Cure_We_us

    Cure_We_us Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16GB

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I can definitely see the difference but it doesn't seem to be working on everything (Also would be more beneficial to use less compressed JPGs my friend). However, instead of F0C1, have you tried 20C1,10C1 or just 00C1??:)
     
  17. Cure_We_us

    Cure_We_us Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16GB
    Cry of Fear

    No AA
    https://i.minus.com/ikhQV2zy2UJx1.png

    0x0000F0C1 @ 8x SGSSAA
    https://i.minus.com/ib1gQZRa0hjnJf.png

    0x000000C1 @ 8x SGSSAA
    https://i.minus.com/iblO2SOgigyJRp.png

    0x000010C1 @ 8x SGSSAA (On this picture I unloaded my whole magazine on a zombie because it surprised me)
    https://i.minus.com/ibfswKKxbtjPGA.png

    0x000020C1 @ 8x SGSSAA
    https://i.minus.com/ibhCODzYoJoPgS.png

    Downsampling 3200 x 1800 down to 1920 x 1080
    https://i.minus.com/iblaaXhrhh3crl.png

    I also tried playing with the bit value editor with the compatibility bit 0x0000F0C1 but I can't seem to make the metals by the lightbulb line up. Downsampling on the other hand lines up the metallic pieces a bit but the jaggies are still present.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2014
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Try Downsampling+ FXAA or SMAA>


    Also maybe try forcing SGSSAA with 0x0842025B
     
  19. Cure_We_us

    Cure_We_us Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16GB
  20. vernacular

    vernacular New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX780 Ti SC ACX
    Is there any means of forcing anti-alias in Cloudbuilt? I'm trying to use 4x SGSSAA. It has no in-game AA setting and it's using OpenGL so I tried the AA compatibility flag "0x0000F0C1" as suggested, but there's still no effect with enhanced or override settings.
     

Share This Page