NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. jim2point0

    jim2point0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2080TI
    Downsampling :p

    DS1:
    [​IMG]

    DS2:
    [​IMG]

    Those games use almost no resources at all so you can crank up the resolution pretty far.
     
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It works well in screenshots, but when downsampling from 2x2 my resolution with FXAA/SMAA DS1 still had some minor nasty stuff in motion.

    /shrug it's better than nothing though.

    Sniper Ghost Warrior

    General Information

    ______________________________

    It feels like I was testing this game forever. It runs on Chrome engine 4 by Techland. And as such has some of the same issues as other CE games.

    The Bloom/DoF/SSAO are very low resolution and generally ugly (Mostly the bloom/AO) and there is a ton of LOD and draw distance pop-in.

    Most of these Post Processing effects run fractional to the rendering resolution. So the higher resolution you play the game at. The better these effects look once downsampled.

    But in particular, the AO is very very ugly and causes a lot of issues on foliage.

    So I set out to disable it and force HBAO+ instead.

    AO on *Default* http://i.minus.com/iTvuUnrWikoHO.png
    AO Off http://i.minus.com/iZeobdnCJ1fQk.png

    You can download this here and extract it to "mydocuments/Sniper Ghost Warrior" to disable the AO

    https://www.mediafire.com/?k65k4b49wkgot57

    You can force HBAO+ with the flag 0x00000004

    No AO http://i.minus.com/iZeobdnCJ1fQk.png
    HBAO+ Quality http://i.minus.com/ib1aD8kYVjymgV.png


    Another issue is that this game with SGSSAA suffers the same issue as Dead Island. The dreaded White lines in shadows


    The AA fix does fix this. But it breaks AA with 0x000012C5
    12C5 no AA Fix http://i.minus.com/iWcWBC41SJNEm.png
    12C5 AA Fix http://i.minus.com/ib1woB2H2J67u3.png
    12C3 AA Fix http://i3.minus.com/ibybiCLqEx7BaS.png (This one has Post Processing on Normal, where as the other two have it on simple. Sorry)
    _______________________________________________________________

    AA Bit
    - 0x000012C3 - SGSSAA

    ________________________________

    Pictures
    No AA Post Processing Simple http://i.minus.com/iticUjN5SRk2m.png
    No AA Post Processing Normal http://i.minus.com/io2u6nMTZOZA2.png
    No AA PP-S 1800p http://i.minus.com/iN4mZBE6w3wKI.png
    No AA PP-S 1800p Downsampled 900p http://i.minus.com/i4Pkb9Zbs7cEN.png
    No AA PP-N 1800p http://i.minus.com/iDsssPESiMGSS.png
    No AA PP-N 1800p Downsampled 900p http://i.minus.com/ip26ttNpcNUSK.png
    12C5 8xSGSSAA PP-N http://i.minus.com/iWT0rCUSWq5YN.png
    12C5 8xSGSSAA PP-S http://i.minus.com/iskoWP0ZxhFG5.png
    12C3 8xSGSSAA PP-N http://i.minus.com/i6Qp3hAULxtYd.png
    12C3 8xSGSSAA PP-S http://i.minus.com/iNtdyDzmxDoA3.png
    12C3 8xSGSSAA PP-N 1800p http://i.minus.com/idUo6PPndn51s.png
    12C3 8xSGSSAA PP-N 1800p downsampled 900p http://i.minus.com/ibkTlDZp38puqu.png
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Surgeon Simulator 2013

    General Information:
    Game runs on Unity, Disable "Post-FX" in the advanced settings. It disables the low resolution DoF and SSAO.

    Force HBAO+ (Which is more subtle) instead with 0x00000017
    HBAO+ http://i.minus.com/ibg1ZkPOumJFz8.png
    In game SSAO (Ignore performance, was trying to force 8xSGSSAA with no flag) http://i.minus.com/ibmHBegHHU5VEG.png
    No AO http://i3.minus.com/iAxWlcoaHhoTO.png

    _______________________________________________

    AA Bit

    - 0x004000C1 - SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA-Hybrid(+-SGSSAA)

    ______________________________________________________________

    Pictures


    No AA http://i.minus.com/itY6HAKVRFlJ0.png
    Post-AA http://i.minus.com/iEjrmJgnopNVD.png http://i.minus.com/ibb0OY7BwN0A23.png
    Post-AA DS from 1800p http://i.minus.com/id5aru5Cmn9ln.png
    8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/iAxWlcoaHhoTO.png http://i.minus.com/imMd3yL2aNgut.png
    4x4 OGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibjxu7yu81989S.png http://i.minus.com/ibqT1uYGUDgUaf.png
    32xS+8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibwYzVT7SSSkVs.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/iAEI403PLZaYr.png http://i.minus.com/ibwuunDPv7ZQyQ.png
    1800p+4xSGSSAA DS 900p http://i.minus.com/i21g9AOZWGdHv.png http://i.minus.com/iZTlZRmUASdsM.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  4. MarcinPL

    MarcinPL Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 970 4 GB

    gonna try
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2013

  5. airshiraz

    airshiraz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    mr bonk do u know the flag for sniper ghost 2 ?
    any flag for sine mora ?
    tanxxxxxx
     
  6. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    Need new flag for Walking Dead Season Two. The old flag from Walking Dead is awfully blurry, and flag from Wolf Among Us is bit blurry too.
     
  7. jwb1

    jwb1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 2080 Ti
    The only way to avoid blurring in AC4 is to use no aa or SMAA. I personally play with SMAA. It doesn't clear up the aliasing as good as the other options, but it does not blur textures.
     
  8. airshiraz

    airshiraz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    tanx for answer but smaa is crap and its only good for consoles
     
  9. jwb1

    jwb1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 2080 Ti
    Then you are stuck with blurring in the game. You could do SMAA+sampling via the control panel.
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Just downsample. The blurring really doesn't bother me.
    Or you can sharpen

    ALSO: Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 runs on Cry-Engine 3. I don't know if it's a DX11 game or what. Next time it goes on sale i'll buy it and try to see what I can figure out.


    ALSO: Nothing works with Sine Mora *At ALL* so what you can do is tell the game to render at twice your display resolution with 4xMSAA with the launch command via steam "/forcewidth:N" (N being the width, so if your display is 1920x1080 set forcewidth:2160) and that's the best you can get. Which works pretty well.

    Anything more than 2x and it doesn't work right.


    Also: for Walking Dead S:2. If 0x084012C5 doesn't produce a well AA'd image without blurring then your only option is to downsample or sharpen on top of the flags you have.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2013

  11. airshiraz

    airshiraz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    tanxx again
    sniper ghost 2 is dx9 title bro
    plz u tell me how can i add 4xmsaa to sine mora without flag ?i dont get what u mean?
    wow so i can set a higher resoluton for the game with a command?i didnt know it ?does it work with other games too?would u explain more about this plzz.tanxxxxxxxx u r the best
    and i dont have blurring problem with assassins blackflag or crysis 3 they have alpha to coverage transparency antialiasing and i cant disable it and simply add a good quality transparency aa from nvidia control panel.do u know what i mean bro?tanxxx again
     
  12. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is DX11 game, but you can choose DX9/DX11 in video settings menu. Btw try 0x000012C1 for SGSSAA.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2013
  13. airshiraz

    airshiraz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    tanx bro worked
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080

    MSAA is enabled by default in Sine Mora AFIK. So once you add those commands you are effectively running 2x2OGSSAA+4xMSAA.

    It looks pretty good.
     
  15. ToyTen

    ToyTen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    Outlast is having a terrible aliasing, no options in game, and i can't find how to set any AA in nvinspector. The 331.93 dirvers have a outlast profile but as my msi afterburner osd doesn't show up i don't know if its a dx11 or 9 game.

    I've tested the methods for both dx above and still that horrible aliasing remains. I also tested the anti-aliasing fix and it doesn't work

    Any tip for this ? as the game isn't listed on page 1 on here, i don't know

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2013

  16. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
  17. ToyTen

    ToyTen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
  18. airshiraz

    airshiraz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    is there any forum like this for ambient occlusion flags?tanxx
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I plan on making one sometime in the near future once i've tested about 80% of my 300 game steam library.

    I've got a list on my hard drive of the games i've currently tested.
     
  20. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,393
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    In the first post, the screenshot says (in step 5) "pick the AA you want" in the "Setting" field. I was under the impression that the "Transparency Supersampling" field must also be set.

    Or not?
     

Share This Page