NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I would NOT recommend C5 for Enslaved. (It disables AA on the primary Flip chain which more often than not ends up being much poorer quality and with some UE3 games the C5 enables some sort of dynamic AA frame cap, where if your framerate drops below refresh it disables AA. Even if only down 1FPS to 59 for example.)

    Use
    0x080000C1 instead of the UT3 Flag

    and Batman, downsample with the MSAA+driver forced FXAA.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2013
  2. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    bump its running on criwares engine..downsampling seems to hawe not so much effect
     
  3. cemnahit

    cemnahit Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX TITAN BLACK
    0x004412C1 works good for sgsaa. "But you have to force FXAA" Other wise the quality is not so good. (I tried with 4xMSAA + 4xSGSSAA) a little bit blurry though.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2013
  4. Sergio

    Sergio Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Asus 760 DirectCU II OC
    Hi guys. Anyone knows AA flag for Kerbal Space Program pls? I think its using Unity engine. Thanks. edit: Also AO flag if possible? i tried some but not working it seems.
     

  5. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    try 0x004000c1 for SGSSAA
     
  6. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    balthier is right, "0x004000c1" works for SGSSAA in Kerbal Space program. It works with all the Unity Engine games I have tested.

    Make sure you check this thread as well as Guru3D, it sometimes has flags that haven't been added to the Guru3D's list yet.
     
  7. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Everything fine on Kepler here...im sure if AA would be disabled when my frames dropping I would notice that ;) ...Same on with 0x080000C1. But I'm not into the game far enough...maybe later something would goin wrong...tho I think C1 slightly blurred than C5 and this is the only difference (it even blurs MSI Afterburner OSD)...but again, I'm not into the game far enough...

    Enslaved AA Off/ Negative Lod -2.00
    Enslaved x4 msaa + x4 sgssaa with flag 0x080100C5/ Negative Lod -2.00
    Enslaved x4 msaa + x4 sgssaa with flag 0x080000C1/ Negative Lod -2.00
    Where exac? Can u post some pics?..
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2013
  8. Sergio

    Sergio Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Asus 760 DirectCU II OC
    Thanks you so much @balthier , @Bradders684
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Oh well, the 5 disables AA on the primary flip chain within the driver, I can't really post my source since it may get us in trouble. (But then again, it's been disabled in 327.23 too, so I dont' know if newer drivers will have been too)


    But generally 5 on the end results in worse AA quality (Poorer AA, more shimmering issues) and many objects all together not being AA'd at all.

    But sometimes in some games not using the 5 will cause minor SS glitches like in Final Fantasy XIV 2.0.


    Here's a comparison
    4xSGSSAA

    A1 http://i5.minus.com/im6ulkRn4NvvT.png
    C5 http://i7.minus.com/ibkLDA9fvhG3tQ.png

    But at 8xSGSSAA the 5 causes AA quality to be very poor

    8xSGSSAA
    C5 http://i2.minus.com/iGO6eWnljH7ib.png
    C1 http://i4.minus.com/iIlKRHT5zTkz9.png


    Enslaved may be one of those games that doesn't suffer from using "5".

    With that said,

    0x000002C5 may be more preferrable
     
  10. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Tnx, will try 0x000002C5 later on. But again, in Enslaved 0x080000C1 not doin good job cause it's just add more blur compared to 0x080100C5...imo

    EDIT:
    0x000002C5 works great...without odd blur compared to 0x080000C1.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2013

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Good to know!.
     
  12. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    Demonicon?
     
  13. jujuom26

    jujuom26 Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI GTX 670 GIGABYTE O/C
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You might need to enable the TF2 AA fix.

    In newer drivers in inspector it's simply called "Anti Aliasing Fix"

    And it is below "anti aliasing compatibility"

    Nights into Dreams

    __________________________________________________

    General Information:
    You need to make a driver profile and add "nights.exe" to it first.
    Forcing AA with no bits just results in a black screen. And the Saturn mode has to be set to "Full Screen" instead of "Wallpaper" in order for AA to work (Probably again because of the driver being unable to AA textures smaller than the primary flip chain) other wise the game doesn't render characters/polygons
    ____________________________________________________

    0x000002C1 - SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA Hybrid(+-SGSSAA)

    _________________________________________

    Pictures:

    No AA http://i.minus.com/iB9hrJOvOJPI1.png http://i.minus.com/iumGfiU31XdT4.png
    8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibp2mA4IOgoZ7w.png http://i.minus.com/ijmRPv1QlMo85.png http://i.minus.com/iQI4biw4VxIPo.png
    4x4 OGSSAA http://i.minus.com/inhRyqUY5anew.png http://i.minus.com/ibqjcuLt5WPPp.png
    32xS+8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibvObAQS9uMSR3.png http://i.minus.com/ibj7botmQkdSW5.png
    3200x1800+4xSGSSAA downsampled 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/izsVfGe3VFQrt.png http://i.minus.com/idPIADo8IR7Tq.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2013
  15. MasterVampire

    MasterVampire Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX TITAN !
    Anyone know the AA flag for Lego Marvel Superheroes?
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Pac-Man and The Ghostly Adventures

    General Information:
    _____________________________

    You need to create a driver profile and add "PACMAN.EXE" to it for this to work.

    This game runs on the Vicious Engine 2, the same engine that powered Earth Defense Force Insect Armageddon. And this also means it suffers some of the same issues as that game.

    Built in 30FPS cap.
    Scant video options.
    Low res, ugly flickering SSAO.
    Low res, ugly flickering shadow maps.
    All cfg files are encrypted.(Making fixing these issues impossible)


    And it gets better-
    Game will not run at anything higher than 2560x1440. If you change it to a higher resolution than that in game, then it crashes. And it will crash on startup every time after that. The only way to fix it is to edit registry files to change the resolution back to one that works.

    The key is located at "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Monkey Bar Games\PacMan\Settings"
    And it looks like this http://i.minus.com/izc9WQGqBjFwK.png

    The game also suffers from 1px width outlines around the screen when forcing AA. SweetFX border shader is needed to fix.
    http://i.minus.com/ibdnyaEjv9TYPP.png
    http://i.minus.com/ikCzgdFkGios3.png


    Any kind of OSD or framerate display tool doesn't work at all beyond the first few seconds of the game booting up. It will display for about 3 or 4 seconds and then disappear. This happened both with FRAPS and Afterburner for me.

    The SSAO is of subpar quality and causes many of the same issues it did in Insect Armageddon. Aliasing,crawling,haloing,flickering even what seems to be some banding on some surfaces
    http://i.minus.com/iqMCBOvUhObT3.png

    The LoD is very aggressive, obviously due to console limitation. Luckily it's not terribly noticable.

    Not even 8xSGSSAA can get all aliasing unfortunately. The stuff that remains can only be conquered largely by using the shader supersampling bit. However that causes a catastrophic framerate drop into the teens (10-20 or less range).

    Downsampling at 1440p with 4xSGSSAA+FXAA leads to very good results too though with nary the framerate issue. It doesn't get 100% of everything(Mostly some minor specular stuff here and there) but it looks great.
    _______________________________________________________________

    0x000012C1 (32C1 if you have crazy GPU) - SGSSAA
    ______________________________________________________

    Pictures:

    NoAA http://i.minus.com/irf6HRVcytnZH.png http://i.minus.com/ib0YrMxZmird0D.png http://i.minus.com/iW3Wuof1jv7Pf.png
    12C1 8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/icVaf7t16dS3d.png http://i.minus.com/iQtLhs2nursj8.png http://i.minus.com/ib0TGIfvQHMaiI.png
    32C1 8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibhyhWqWjeECxG.png http://i.minus.com/ibfVs1WFUYAuP2.png http://i.minus.com/ibkgi5PSGhrDjB.png
    2560x1440 12C1 4xSGSSAA +FXAA downsampled to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/ijFOUof76H8sn.png http://i.minus.com/ijxP7jxEgBcRJ.png http://i.minus.com/i7IDbOIOnsh1j.png
    ___________
     
  18. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,033
    Likes Received:
    555
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I picked up The Typing of the Dead: Overkill and it is ludicrously entertaining with a humorous cheesy plot and dialogue. Get value for £7.50 IMO especially as you can play it with the mouse (this is one game that I wouldn't want to play using a controller!) or, better still, by typing! Awesome! :D

    Anyway, the graphics are pretty mediocre but still full of personality as you'd expect from SEGA but the anit-aliasing is rather poor. Does anyone know of a working flag for it as the game only has an AA on/off option (presumably it's FXAA or some other edge-detection type post-process AA)? Thanks.
     
  19. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    1080p in this game is upscale from 720p, so even antialiasing can't do much good. Strange but when you view 3d models in menu it's clearly 1080p, not upscale.
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Are you sure it's upscaled?

    Try using Universalreschanger maybe to fix it.


    If not, run the game at 720p native and force 32xS+8xSGSSAA with a flag like 0x084012C1
     

Share This Page