NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah I did test quite a few flags for the game. The problem is , you end up with blur or it doesn't AA everything very well as you'd like. (Mostly just some pixel crawl/shimmering issue. Which isn't the flag's fault. It's the game. On demo-lake, just look at the rope barrier in the water for example)


    0x000012D9

    Should do it.


    Here's a screen with 12D9 from when I tested it

    http://i7.minus.com/ibi50scAWiN6GP.png

    8xS+4xSGSSAA
     
  2. NotAgOat

    NotAgOat New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 690 4gb
    Thanks for the reply, I'll give it a shot.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I'm having some issues with Dungeon Siege III.

    The game has MSAA, but it doesn't actually seem to do anything...


    No AA
    in game 8xMSAA
    (you can see that the VRAM usage increases but that's it)


    Forcing any kind of AA seems to result in one form or another of a glitched screen


    Usually when forcing AA doesn't work or has issues in a game they set the compatibility to treat override as application controlled.



    Does anyone else have this game and can test whether the in game MSAA works for them??
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2015
  4. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,031
    Likes Received:
    553
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    @ MrBonk - I have the game and I've just checked my screenshots against yours and they appear the same (I'm using maxed out 1920x1200 settings with 8xMSAA). The use of AA appears to be selective - I can see it being used in the dialogue screens - but the actual game appears to have jaggies that you wouldn't expect to see with 8xMSAA. The odd thing is that I never really noticed it while I was playing but, yes, it doesn't look as if it is being properly applied.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2013

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ugh darn. Guess I was right about borked implementation or a bug that was just never fixed.

    Forcing AA isn't really an option it seems (Though I haven't tested all the flags in the driver. Usually custom flags are enough)

    Maybe I ought to just test every flag in the driver to see if one works with MSAA or SGSSAA
     
  6. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    any good flag for War Thunder? Built-in AA kinda strange looking :3eyes:

    EDIT:
    ok...found something - it's a Dagor Engine (IL-2 series; Apache: Air Assault; Blades of Time, etc.)...I will look into it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2013
  7. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,354
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    hmm. i dont know if there are bits, but did u try setting 8x msaa via config.blk?

    maxaa:i=8 (or try different ones. 8 did work)
    There also a lot of other settings in there u can play around with.

    it uses the same engine (maybe modified) as IL-2 Sturmovik and Birds of Steel and a bunch more.. so, maybe the il2 bits work..
    hope that helps...
     
  8. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    tnx, Beta. It's working...but not too much of the improvements compared to ssaa. 0x004012C5 flag from Blades of Time (same engine) working too...but same as 0x00400001. Not to mention that sgssaa kinda looks wierd on some surfaces edges...
    Nah. I think I'll stop right here...this game looks great even without sgssaa - 1080p + ingame fxaa with x6 msaa + transparency supersampling in Inspector + luma sharpenig = looks great. And this is an open beta game...where is much room for improvements and bug fixes...
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2013
  9. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,031
    Likes Received:
    553
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Has anyone with the surprisingly entertaining Gas Guzzlers Extreme found a working AA flag for it yet? The game, unfortunately, only supports FXAA and while it's adequate, the car models and distant objects suffer from obvious aliasing and shimmering. The graphics are pretty good so it would be nice to force a little SGSSAA-loving on them! :)
     
  10. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB

  11. slimsymeat

    slimsymeat Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Super Jetsream GTX 1080
    Any flags for Pro Evolution Soccer 2014.
    Thanks
     
  12. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,354
    Likes Received:
    300
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz

    The Wolf among us has teh same engine then The walking dead, so i guess these will do...i testing them right now, BUT it aint working, dunno why, it works perfect with the walking dead..
    could it be that sgssaa is broken with the 331.xx drivers??????


    the Flag by teh way, is: 0x200002C1

    edit. tested T walking d again..SGSSAA works there without any probs..

    So i have no clue, maybe the engine is a bit different and we need new bits for it :(

    well, at least SweetFX 1.5.1 works fine....

    EDIT!!!!!!!!!

    Its UnrealEngine, haha..
    These Bits here Work, But behold, VRAM Usage will be high, hehe...

    Now it looks even Betta...

    comparsion Screens: --->
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2013
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    F.E.A.R 3


    General Information:
    Inspector Profile should look like this http://i.minus.com/iif6Qe1es6Vsq.png

    The game by Default is DX11, you need to run it in DX9 by adding "-d3d9" to the launch parameters of the game, there doesn't seem to be any difference visually other than the AA options (Only MSAA,FXAA).

    The game has issues with GTX 570's for some reasons, so I had to run it at stock clocks, and in DX9 GPU usage was not very great compared to DX11 (which ran 99% all the time) Even with forced AA (Unless I was using obscene things like 4x4 with poor framerates).

    So i'm not sure what exactly is going on whether i'm CPU bound or what in DX9 (i7 950 4Ghz). CPU usage isn't high either (Shown in screens)


    The Ambient occlusion in this game too isn't very good. It isn't temporally stable and flickers and other junk like crazy. Some parts are very good and stable and others are just ugly and create or are very aliased.
    Which is a shame because it does add some nice depth to the scene. But I personally turned off AO in the game. I tested a few driver flags but not many to see if could find an alternative.


    SGSSAA works very well in this game, FXAA+Downsampling is also a very excellent alternative as well!

    With OGSSAA driver forced, really it's only when you get to about 3x3-4x4 does it really work extremely well. But high performance cost.

    4x4 with my 570 at stock clocks at 1600x900 brings my framerate from about 100FPS down to 13 FPS
    _________________________________________
    Flag: - 0x084012C3 - SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA Hybrid(+-SGSSAA) -

    notes- with SGSSAA you should use some negative LOD or Auto LOD. It's just a tad blurry without it.(There is some inherent blur in the game to begin with too)
    _________________________________________________________________
    Pictures:

    NoAA DX11- http://i.minus.com/iKVMsTEQ4ExgW.png
    NoAA DX9- http://i.minus.com/ibtLO8fuhKG0Ba.png
    DX11 FXAA- http://i.minus.com/ioQrCfnrUzVP3.png
    DX9 Driver FXAA- http://i.minus.com/iRtHnckwW8AMF.png
    DX11 4xMSAA- http://i.minus.com/ibtyEwQTdWGqDI.png
    DX11 Enhance 4xSGSSAA- http://i.minus.com/iLwP6sn0j7FPS.png
    DX9 C3 4xSGSSAA (No LOD adjustments)- http://i.minus.com/iEb0FJ7Xi1GhS.png
    DX9 C3 2x2 OGSSAA- http://i.minus.com/in4AkVC5WERfq.png
    DX9 C3 4x4 OGSSAA- http://i.minus.com/iKSYF20Oenwjk.png (Another 4x4 shot http://i.minus.com/ibdl1fwY5ytKVI.png)
    DX9 C3 16xS+4xSGSSAA- http://i.minus.com/ibeyZH6DRQlsXr.png
    DX9 3200x1800 +4xSGSSAA downsampled to 1600x900 (Equivalent of the above)- http://i.minus.com/ibqNBLm1CvFGRK.png
    DX9 1800p+Driver FXAA downsampled to 900p AO Off- http://i.minus.com/iqCH1bdakKkBd.png
     
  14. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    Anyone know how to get AA in Depth Hunter?
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I've found a better flag for

    Earth Defense Force Insect Armageddon
    There is some performance hit,but worth it. And it still isn't perfect but an improvement.

    You should use SweetFX's border shader when using the new flag.

    Also when downsampling+SGSSAA make sure to use some positive LOD.(Like Bioshock but much worse) Because otherwise it creates quite a bit of moire/shimmering.


    Old flag 0x00001045 vs new flag 0x084012C3

    Old 8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibxBkRa25xpsFY.png http://i.minus.com/ihlgsgGzfTo4n.png
    New 8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibwDn3hisLxiay.png http://i.minus.com/iG7bdNDeK0aMA.png
     

  16. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,031
    Likes Received:
    553
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Is there an AA flag for The Wolf Among Us that works in 1920x1200 16:10 aspect ratio because the 0x204002C1 flag only works with 1920x1080 (16:9 aspect ratios)?
     
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Try making it 0x284002C1
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Iron Brigade:

    General Info: Turn off the SSAO in this game when forcing AA. It causes Aliasing issues.
    _________________________________________
    Minimum bit needed for -MSAA,SGSSAA- 0x004012C1
    _______________________________________________

    Pictures:
    No AA http://i.minus.com/iNtkivRvXhKG2.png
    8xMSAA http://i.minus.com/ixNXVs7vhXEQU.png
    8xMSAA+in game FXAA http://i.minus.com/iAzGacHDCcor1.png
    8xSGSSAA(Auto LOD) http://i.minus.com/iBSC93Mc5kr0u.png
    3200x1800 4xMSAA+in game FXAA downsampled 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/ibowNPvc2FjVlT.png http://i.minus.com/iCfxT5OXIjsO7.png
     
  19. MarcinPL

    MarcinPL Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 970 4 GB
    looking for some aa flags for Euro Truck Simulator 2, because flags 0x000010C5 do not working anymore.
     
  20. didamangi

    didamangi Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Colorful RTX 3080
    Any comparison with the in game SSAA? (Launch the game with the command line options -ssaa2x or -ssaa4x)
     

Share This Page