NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    I run all my games at 1920x1200

    I also suspected that it could be a CPU bottleneck issue, but Unreal 3 engine games are typically very GPU dependant, and I'm not having performance issues with any other games.

    After browsing some other forums, it seems that I'm not the only one having problems with The Bureau. I'm starting to think that it's just a poorly optimized title.


    *Edit* - Yep, it's definitely a poorly optimized game. Many people with faster systems than mine are struggling to get decent framerates.

    Luckily, it turns out that one option in particular, "Screen Space Reflection", is responsible for really killing the fps. After disabling that, I'm able to apply 4x SGSSAA without a problem. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2013
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Sorry I can't test Trials, I don't own the game. Is there a demo?






    Bionic Commando Rearmed
    ____________________________________
    -0x000012C1 - SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA-Hybrid(+-SGSSAA)
    ________________________________________________________________
    Pictures and general info:

    There are a LOT of pictures. I tried every viable method of AA I could think of (Aside from SoftTH). I wanted this to be comprehensive so people could see and then decide on their own what they think is the best choice for their needs.

    It's hard to really tell temporally what is the best aside from the controller options screen. Which has a really really low quality model that displays probably the most Temporal Aliasing I see in the entire game (Aside from the tutorial level with the blue outlined character). So I use that mainly as the judge for best temporal stability.

    The most temporally stable method that I found was 16xS+4xSGSSAA. 2x2 Driver Downsampling+4xSGSSAA is not quite as temporally stable on that test.(Surprising) But it has superior IQ in other areas.

    2x2 Downsampling+FXAA or SMAA(With custom settings) yield EXCELLENT results for the performance cost in this game. What you end up using is dependent on you and your preferences. I've included screenshots of 3200x1800 with both FXAA and SMAA and both downsampled from that resolution to 1600x900
    SMAA Custom settings

    ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

    Screenshot #1 - The Controller -

    NoAA http://i.minus.com/iCyI1rCIG7ySN.png
    8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/iboGrmB0Q16XsG.png
    4x4 OGSSAA(Ignore the framerates on these 4x4 ones. I had Vsync forced on) http://i.minus.com/ibldy27sjILOLW.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/i8II6oS2y4Vv7.png
    3200x1800+4xSGSSAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/ibzJ1vm1NKNT6j.png
    3200x1800+FXAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/iPB5r8IAIAc9i.png
    3200x1800+SMAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/iba7NDIkgMigSe.png
    3200x1800 No AA http://i.minus.com/ibp6z3U35we8wI.png
    3200x1800 FXAA http://i2.minus.com/igNj4HlybJepo.png
    3200x1800 SMAAhttp://i.minus.com/i4dFFH984dkUj.png


    Screenshot #2 - Tutorial -

    NoAA http://i.minus.com/iq1o5wZ6RzCKh.png
    8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibwNj0C6SI4zOC.png
    4x4 OGSSAA http://i.minus.com/idJ8S0N5wYUR6.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibo77gKMZ1dz84.png
    3200x1800+4xSGSSAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/iUNSAtVLyiI5O.png
    3200x1800+FXAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/isDkzGQgs576t.png
    3200x1800+SMAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/i2pFoeriRaqIW.png
    3200x1800 No AA http://i.minus.com/ibruud7wAyCzwL.png
    3200x1800 FXAA http://i.minus.com/ibUiltxTcSgtn.png
    3200x1800 SMAA http://i.minus.com/iLxwNxyXiTtHw.png


    Screenshot #3 - Map Screen -

    NoAA http://i.minus.com/ibwARu5Jz9Ya5M.png
    8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/i6HFUbpSIZcCj.png
    4x4 OGSSAA http://i.minus.com/iY4OHnZry7ivO.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibkr7Wscvu0ulX.png
    3200x1800+4xSGSSAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/iV7wzHtFepS1.png
    3200x1800+FXAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/ibvsBUhtWY38Kz.png
    3200x1800+SMAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/iLeJWptIaqP0V.png
    3200x1800 No AA http://i.minus.com/ib2Asz9ZUoa9KS.png
    3200x1800 FXAA http://i.minus.com/ibnWdMaDAaKclu.png
    3200x1800 SMAA http://i.minus.com/ibb1CnfmBQrkpD.png


    Screenshot #4 - Level 1 -

    NoAA http://i.minus.com/ipLIzdalnYWAb.png
    8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibtNNr8HzZxION.png
    4x4 OGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibvwnEJEDg01RU.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibu2DUawnz2aFd.png
    3200x1800+4xSGSSAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/if5PhTlrbhZ9L.png
    3200x1800+FXAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/ibzOAp2kJ7wKIk.png
    3200x1800+SMAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/iby4hAFkXFPJKq.png
    3200x1800 No AA http://i.minus.com/ibqaXJdKaFal2e.png
    3200x1800 FXAA http://i.minus.com/iuZzH57L8RQH5.png
    3200x1800 SMAA http://i.minus.com/icakthP4idQRw.png


    Screenshot #5 - Level 1 Challenge Room -

    NoAA http://i.minus.com/iblh1xhxl21rXS.png
    8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/i0fqnDhelpOAr.png
    4x4 OGSSAA http://i.minus.com/i1KfvOYtHA23t.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/iWc7HF9xgw0mG.png
    3200x1800+4xSGSSAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/ibhc5VOUcikHu2.png
    3200x1800+FXAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/iyGOWlpi49RHZ.png
    3200x1800+SMAA down to 1600x900 http://i.minus.com/ibmUY25jr0Y55J.png
    3200x1800 No AA http://i.minus.com/ikj8gLz2avj27.png
    3200x1800 FXAA http://i.minus.com/idyWFhbN3TfV6.png
    3200x1800 SMAA http://i.minus.com/iPWqmTTndYVhr.png



    Sorry for the OBSCENE amount of stuff in this post! ;(
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2013
  3. pjokerxp

    pjokerxp Banned

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit GeForce GTX 680 2GB
    hi ppl gurus,
    I play The Showdown Effect but the FXAA in-game is bad, what is the setting value for AA in nvidia inspector?

    Thank you
     
  4. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    Trials Evolution is a DX11 game so you wont be able to force AA.
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    if it's DX11, then downsampling(ogssaa) + FXAA or SMAA (or both) is your only option.
     
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Crazy Taxi (Steam Ver)


    General Info:
    You need to create a custom driver profile for the game. That looks like this
    http://i.minus.com/ibcM8WPjUWu3rL.png


    This port unlike Sonic DX can render natively at 1280x720 (There is a fix/hack you can use for higher resolutions! See http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4662395&postcount=1431 :( ), allowing you be able to force AA. But only with...
    __________________________

    0x000000C1 - MSAA,SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA-Hybrid(+-SGSSAA) -

    I couldn't get AA to force with no bits
    ___________________________________________________________________

    Pictures:

    NoAA http://i.minus.com/ibcYLeUnQHmB6R.png
    8xQ http://i.minus.com/ibpebTxatglRQ2.png
    8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibuQCs0jvuqfOs.png
    4x4 OGSSAA http://i.minus.com/iL6xWZXO4eBrG.png
    32xS+8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ip9TaAVLDGuAh.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2013
  7. didamangi

    didamangi Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Colorful RTX 3080
    You can force custom resolution using Racer_S's universalreschanger2. This works for Space Channel 5 Part 2 as well. Drop the files in the exe folder and edit resolution.ini to change your resolution. Works fine on 1080p for me :)

    Any chance of finding the AA flag for Space Channel 5: Part 2? I tried using this flag and it doesn't work.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2013
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Oh there's a resolution changer?

    Radical.

    I will definitely try that out and I will also test SC5PT2 and see what I can find!

    I'll also test Sega Bass Fishing and the original Crazy Taxi PC version too while i'm at it.


    I wonder if this Universal Resolution Changer will work for Sonic DX DC collection version too?
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2013
  9. didamangi

    didamangi Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Colorful RTX 3080
    There's a patch that converts Sonic DX DC collection to the original Sonic DX PC version which is arguably the better PC version. See here.

    Also the universalreschanger2 can be applied to Space Channel 5 Part 2 as well, so at least I can use driver trick downsampling + fxaa on that one if you can't find the aa flag :)
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Oh well yeah, the the problem with the original PC version is that it's a complete pain to setup widescreen resolutions and it only runs at 50Hz with the cracked .exe

    If I could get SADX DCC version to at least render at something like 1440x1080, or 1600x1200 that'd be enough of an improvement for me. Currently can only force AA at 480p. Which is stinky


    Resolution changer works wonderfully in Crazy Taxi as long as I disable "Stealth mode" In Afterburner. It doesn't display the OSD. But I can use FRAPs instead to see the framerate too if I need to. It looks great.


    /Working on other games now. Will update within 24 hours hopefully
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2013

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Space Channel 5 Part 2 (Steam Ver)


    General Info:
    You need to create a custom driver profile for the game. That looks like this
    http://i.minus.com/imI8cAU51BfZp.png


    This port unlike Sonic DX can render natively at 1280x720 (There is a fix/hack you can use for higher resolutions! See http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4662395&postcount=1431 :D ), allowing you be able to force AA. With
    __________________________

    0x084032C3 - MSAA,SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA-Hybrid(+-SGSSAA) -

    I apologize for the size of the bit. With being unable to use the specific program with the latest drivers ATM to create bits I have to do things by memory and I just thought it'd be better to be safe than sorry with this specific game
    ___________________________________________________________________

    Pictures:

    NoAA http://i.minus.com/it0z7mIxtWMWY.png
    8xQ http://i.minus.com/ibvYj5RZkCKNbQ.png
    8xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/iBsRfFUXEAndL.png
    4x4 OGSSAA http://i.minus.com/ibvayDyTkJSmZA.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA http://i.minus.com/iDJyvbi6IDrXx.png
    1080p 16xS+4xSG http://i.minus.com/ibsrSxuNkaARAC.png
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Widescreen changer works on Sonic DX Dreamcast Collection version. But all it does is scale 640x480 to whatever resolution you choose. Damn
    http://i2.minus.com/i6LKTXqZrHGT2.png

    And With sonic 4 trying to get it beyond 1280x720 gives me this error "The Procedure entry point Direct3DCreate9Ex could not be located in the dynamic link library d3d9.dll"

    Too bad it works wonderfully with Crazy Taxi and Space Channel 5



    Also you can force MSAA,SGSSAA,OGSSAA+hybrid in Sega Bass Fishing without bits. Resolution changer works after setting forceviewport=1. But framerate is suuupper slow for some reason.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2013
  13. Vegtro

    Vegtro Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1
    Is there a AA bit for Final Fantasy 7?
     
  14. didamangi

    didamangi Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Colorful RTX 3080
    Cheers :)

    Try this fix for Sonic 4 Ep 1. (Backup your sonic_vis.exe first though)
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2013
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Thanks a lot man, i'll give that a try!


    As for Final Fantasy VII, only really the battle scenes are in full 3D, the rest is polygons over 2D bitmaps.

    But theoretically if it uses DX9 then you probably could force AA.

    I dont' have the new re-release version of it so I can't really test myself.
     

  16. MarcinPL

    MarcinPL Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 970 4 GB
    Still searching AA flags for Full Spetrum Warrior and FSW Ten Hammers...
     
  17. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,033
    Likes Received:
    555
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Has anyone found a working AA flag for Shadow Warriors (Remake) and Alien Rage yet please? The latter uses Unreal Engine 3 and the former uses the same engine as Hard Reset. Both are DX9 so AA flags should work with them.
     
  18. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    Alien Rage is 0x080000C1 for SGSSAA.
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Well, unfortunately there isn't a single working bit for Hard Reset's engine.

    So it's likely we'll be stuck with the same FSAA,FXAA setup.


    However, 4xFSAA+DriverFXAA on top does a pretty good job in HR. I'm sure it will in SW too



    Also: That fix for Sonic 4 works great! Thanks! You can force AA at 1080p and everything with 0x000012C1 that I posted before!

    http://i.minus.com/iba8Ea3OIYjNVf.png
    http://i.minus.com/i8XrGVnYlSf0o.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2013
  20. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Is there an option to turn msaa in SW?..i mean, what do you mean by "4xFSAA"

    ...I'm kinda still don't have it...wonder, if I should buy it...it cost's like 16 bucks in Russia =) ...i mean, is this game any good? Force says that it is good...but i'm still wondering =)
     

Share This Page