NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,033
    Likes Received:
    555
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Any AA flags for Outlast and Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse please? Outlast actually has both a 32-bit and 64-bit executable which is unusual for an Unreal Engine 3 game.
     
  2. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    0x080000C1 for Outlast, but perfomance hit for me is huge, 60 fps on very high without SGSSAA and 20-30 fps with 4x SGSSAA, so i'm sticking with nvidia fxaa.
     
  3. Tony_Cliffton

    Tony_Cliffton New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX670 2GB
    I am using that for AA compatibility. I am only using 4x MSAA and runs smooth for me at Very High settings. I tried using the SMAA injector, but that didn't work. I am not a fan of FXAA's blur, so I only use that when other AA methods fail.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2013
  4. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    I wish every game have a 64-bit CPU's support and full utilization of those. For instance, the RAGE x64 is so much faster and lag free...
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No need for hostility man. Different folks different strokes.

    Whatever works for you. Works.

    That's all that matters.

    Personally a locked drop free 30FPS is more than playable, it was in 1.0 and it is in 2.0.


    Even if they add DX11 it's most likely not going to magically make the game run better. Especially when they will be upgrading the textures with that update (because they claim it's "Only possible with DX11") and other stuff.

    Which will also not allow you to use SGSSAA unless Nvidia adds DX11 AA bits for it.

    Clearly Yoshi and his team don't give a crap about AA (hence the throwaway FXAA implementation in the game) so I am not hopeful things will magically change with the DX11 update.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2013
  6. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Khronikos, obviously you two have very different GPU's. It's not that hard to imagine that with some time you can find settings of your own that would allow you to use 4xSGSSAA if you wanted- at different settings Bonk has to use for 4xSGSSAA.
    I felt like that was obvious, but there it is.
     
  7. UNREAL_2004

    UNREAL_2004 Master Guru

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 & G12+H55
    Outlast (ALL MAX + forced AFx16 + high quality + autolod)

    2500K @ 5Ghz
    GTX670 @ 1300/7200


    1920x1080

    without MSAA - 211fps

    [​IMG]

    MSAAx4 (0x080000C1) - 148fps

    [​IMG]

    MSAAx2 + SGSSAAx2 (0x080000C1) - 138fps

    [​IMG]

    MSAAx4 + SGSSAAx4 (0x080000C1) - 78fps

    [​IMG]

    MSAAx8 + SGSSAAx8 (0x080000C1) - 36fps

    [​IMG]



    2560x1440

    without MSAA - 145fps

    [​IMG]

    MSAAx4 (0x080000C1) - 92fps

    [​IMG]

    MSAAx2 + SGSSAAx2 (0x080000C1) - 85fps

    [​IMG]

    MSAAx4 + SGSSAAx4 (0x080000C1) - 45fps

    [​IMG]

    MSAAx8 + SGSSAAx8 (0x080000C1) - 25fps

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2013
  8. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    @UNREAL_2004,
    good job...tnx.
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Thanks for the comparison! It is appreciated. BTW, 5Ghz on that 2500k?

    That's Crazy! Is that on water? :D Custom cooler or AIO?
     
  10. UNREAL_2004

    UNREAL_2004 Master Guru

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 & G12+H55

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Crazy stuff!
     
  12. roxahris

    roxahris Guest

    Perhaps you should learn to be less abrasive and more contemplative

    If you had read my post you would know that neither HDR nor transparent light have an effect on the game's graphics proportionate to their performance impact. I have SSAO on. Analysis of various screenshots in Photoshop tell me that there is literally no difference between HDR and no HDR except for banding on some metallic objects. Unlike you, I actually test things and don't go off on vague generalities. And the performance impact of shadows in ARR is negligible compared to other settings.
    And if you're seriously turning culling off because you somehow think it makes the game look worse you lose all rights to call others uneducated about computer graphics.

    Why would I want to play at 30FPS when my game averages 60
    Even the 20FPS I get in areas where there are twenty people spamming Blizzard 2 on top of each other is perfectly playable thanks to the MMO gameplay

    If you are using 2x SGSSAA in A Realm Reborn your game already looks like ass

    I can run the game using the very highest settings at 60FPS with 4xSGSSAA if I lower the game to my native resolution. It will still look better than your blurry mess

    Are you seriously bragging about being able to run a kart racer with antialiasing
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 6, 2013
  13. scitek

    scitek Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Use the Mirror's Edge AO flag if you want to force it through Inspector. Set it to Quality.
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Alrighty.
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Afterfall Insanity:
    _____________________________
    General Information:

    0x080000C1 vs 0x080100C5

    C1 results in some minor blur to UI elements and some text glitches
    But it AA's stuff like the title screen which has some pretty bad aliasing.

    100C5 in my last test had some strange graphical glitches but when I screenshotted it, they weren't in the shot. It doesn't have UI blur or text glitches, but it doesn't AA things like the title screen

    These are all shown in the pictures if you compare them! (except the last one)
    ____________________________________
    My recommended bits
    0x080000C1 -SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA-Hybrid(+-SGSSAA) (8 is needed for AA to work at all in conjunction with C1)

    ________________________

    Pictures

    No AA: http://i.minus.com/ioTYwabqXDmAo.png http://i.minus.com/iB2nCC8rZFrLf.png

    100C5 8xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/ibfJs6llHySTFr.png http://i.minus.com/ibfw6bjccfW6mu.png http://i.minus.com/iVscMhCU5xtSa.png

    C1 8xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/ibwSbxyW1Ltrqj.png http://i.minus.com/ipe7I33pTFk03.png http://i.minus.com/itxO7ERcgUhRc.png

    4x4 OGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/itS2WVFIVi0Ef.png http://i.minus.com/irKFY5zz6mMpc.png

    16xS+4xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/isrv4o3avwssr.png http://i.minus.com/iQQWqSEwKqMjz.png

    3200x1800 +4xSGSSAA (Equivalent of 16xS+4): http://i.minus.com/ih0remBLQQzGf.png http://i.minus.com/iEohbvl7hqsnw.png
     

  16. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    MrBonk can u pls post screens of how to set OGSSAA in ni?i know only how to set SGSSAA but hawe no idea how to combine the two aaaaand other AA.:confused:
     
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Oh, yeah ok. By default the devs lock resolution to a max of 1900x1200 or something for some reason.


    Open up the game directory, go in /RascalGame/Config/DefaultGame.ini

    and change these lines to match this and replace 1600x900 with whatever you want

     
  18. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770

    I've got a question though - Shouldn't the Antiailiasing Mode be set to "Override any application setting" rather than "Application-controlled"?
     
  19. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Thoes instrutions are in the OP, like I said follow the instructions like normal.
     
  20. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,033
    Likes Received:
    555
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    AA flag for Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs please?
     

Share This Page