NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Np, i'll see what I can do:pc1:
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Got a couple.



    Sonic Adventure DX - Dreamcast Collection version
    ______________________________________________________

    General Information:

    This game is locked internally to 640x480, at any resolution you display it at.
    If you display at 1024x768, it is still 640x480 upscaled. In 720p it is centered in the middle of the screen.


    The Caveat with this however is... AA can ONLY be forced if you have the game set to display at 640x480. None of the bits within the driver allow forcing AA on any primary texture smaller than the primary flip chain (Display resolution).


    So if you can deal with the upscaling from 480p, you CAN force various kinds of AA that look decent. (Also depending on whether you have 480p scaled by your GPU or your TV/Monitor or some other kind of scaler. So if you had an XRBG3 or XRGB Framemeister or other kind of scaler, you could feed that unit the 480p feed from your PC to it to upscale (which is much much higher quality scaling than most TV or software scaling)

    _______________________________________________________________

    The Bits:
    0x000000C1 - MSAA,SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA Hybrid

    This flag is REQUIRED for AA to work. The default 0x00000000 does not work.

    ________________________________________________________________

    Pictures:


    No AA: http://i.minus.com/iwdbb5BqlJ6i4.png http://i.minus.com/ifisB9ieXQKpV.png

    16xS+4xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/ibbEaA2MJMFKFb.png http://i.minus.com/iof2iJr2iU3yY.png



    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||


    Patritian IV
    ______________________

    General Information:

    This game was an interesting one to play with and figure out since the demo was in German.

    There are some outlines around the screen even without forcing AA, so using SweetFX's border shader may come in handy for some!

    with the default behavior of 0x00000000 you COULD force SGSSAA, but the quality isn't perfect and you get the feeling that it is just simply blurring the screen as there is some obvious aliasing that just gets ignored.

    There is even no quality difference between 4 and 8x SGSSAA

    After testing tons of different flag combinations, I came to the conclusion that all these flags produced simply the same results.

    Until I ended up with the flag 0x08421243, with this basically the whole scene was getting processed the way it was supposed to. And there WAS a difference from 4x to 8x SGSSAA, performance wise AND quality wise. (Like it is supposed to be 8x was very demanding) However as you can see, that is a LOT of bits.

    So I began the arduous task of removing and finding the exact bits and bit combinations necessary for it to work correctly.

    That second digit 8 you may think doesn't belong there (Is bit for allowing AA on textures greater than or equal to primary flip. Typically is needed for 16:10 resolutions.), but I found that after removing that bit and testing again that the AA was back to the behavior of 0x00000000.


    Many removals and testing later I discovered the set of bits that is absolutely necessary for AA to work correctly.
    ________________________________________

    The Bit: 0x08400044 -MSAA,SGSSAA

    *CAVEAT*, unfortunately forcing AA of any kind causes the map in the upper right to cut off half way down when viewing the current region. If you go back to the larger view map, it works fine. I don't know what causes this. But it seems like a minor issue, however I don't know much about the game so forewarning!
    Edit-!!! I did find that the bit for disabling AA on the primary flip chain fixes the map issue, and negates some blur/UI Blur with SGSSAA

    _____________________________


    Pictures:

    No AA: http://i.minus.com/ivOzYpY1hmIQY.png

    0x08400040 8xSGSSAA -1.5 LOD: http://i.minus.com/igF8ufoVjXyDw.PNG
    0x08400040 8xQ MSAA: http://i.minus.com/ilri8gOYROkQs.png
    0x08400044 8xSGSSAA no Negative LOD http://i.minus.com/iEzVHo4z8MuPi.png
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2013
  4. jujuom26

    jujuom26 Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI GTX 670 GIGABYTE O/C
    Hey everyone
    Perhaps it's too early but if somenone would have a way to enable sgssaa with Splinter Cell : Blacklist that's gonna be awesome.
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Games' out right?

    There's no demo so I can't test for you.

    Try 0x004012C1 for SGSSAA
     
  6. jujuom26

    jujuom26 Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI GTX 670 GIGABYTE O/C
    I live in France and the Game is available on Uplay since 30 minutes.
    In conviction I forced SGSSAAx4 from Nvidia Inspector without flag because it used directx11. You think that's gonna be the same for Blacklist ?
    As soon as the download is done I gonna test with your flag but I not sure it will work because of dx11
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Just tested these for confirmation and so you guys could know some more info about each and what AA modes are forceable
    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||



    Sonic The Hedgehog 4 EP I

    ______________________________

    General Information:

    This game is another interesting one like Sonic Adventure DX DC.Ver.
    The game renders internally at 1280x720 no matter what display resolution you are using and is thus upscaled.

    This is a frustrating thing for people with high resolution monitors.

    And to add to the problem, once more since the driver can't force AA on textures lower than the primary flip chain you can only force AA at 1280x720 as your display resolution.

    Luckily, 4x4 OGSSAA makes the image pretty clear and doesn't take much performance and is much sharper IQ than without 4x4. (Of course this was just upscaling from 720p to 1600x900 on my monitor, so on larger monitors it still may not look exceptional)
    ____________________________

    The Bit: - 0x000012C1 - works for MSAA,SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA-Hybrid(+-SGSSAA) - just as in the OP
    _______________________________________

    Pictures
    No AA: http://i.minus.com/imW5HPbTuQL4J.png
    4xMSAA: http://i.minus.com/ibjLGLFLEEX0vH.png
    4xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/ijTRftRBXe9sh.png
    4x4 OGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/ibuC4yFcdxo5L5.png
    C1 32xS+8xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/ilG05nhHbqnNu.png



    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||


    Sonic The Hedgehog 4 EP II

    ______________________________

    General Information:
    This game luckily renders at whatever display resolution you set. So no problems with forcing AA at any resolution
    ____________________________________________________________

    The Bit: 0x000012C1 - works for SGSSAA,OGSSAA,OGSSAA-Hybrid(+-SGSSAA)
    ___________________

    Pictures:

    NoAA: http://i.minus.com/i9k2WU3sF8N4l.png
    8xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/i6HTOz4VZX20e.png
    4x4OGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/ibgeO8fDVrDa98.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/i0Ci8tcvC8F0a.png
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Few things: Is it a DX9 game? Is there a demo?

    If both of these are true, then I CAN test for you! ;3
    [​IMG]


    Edit:

    OH, I see it's a F2P game on steam.


    In that case, i'll download and test within the next day or so.
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I seem to be having an issue starting the game. It just locks up as soon as it starts and doesn't load at all. I have to CtrlAltDel and start task manager to kill the .exe


    Hm.


    Disabling steam community in game seems to have done the trick
     

  11. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,008
    Likes Received:
    526
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    @ MrBonk - Many, many thanks for taking the time to find an AA flag for Patrician IV. Much appreciated. The 0x08400040 flag works great with 4xMSAA/4xSGSSAA on v1.3 of the game. To be honest, the game wasn't that noticeably aliased except when you zoomed in and saw the ships. The game now looks that much better. Thanks again. :D
     
  12. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Mr Bonk is a great asset with regards to AA flags, he is the MAN!:)
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Thanks guys.


    Anywho, I will have PinballFX2 all tested and whatnot hopefully before noon (Pacific Time)


    Will update this post when I am done!:)
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Pinball FX2
    ____________________
    General Information:
    Finding a working bit for this game was relatively simple. Though with a few caveats.

    1. The reflections options looks nice but, it's super low resolution. My guess is 1/4th or some form of 1/Nth resolution. I tried to find a way that would force some kind of Super Sampling on the reflection effect but to no avail.

    So my recommendation is just to turn that off. I surprisingly REALLY enjoyed this game (A LOT). So I posted on the steam forum for the game asking the developers if they could add a way to change that effect and make it full resolution as an option in the game and that "Standard" setting for reflections could be the way it is now.

    2. Most AA options I discovered pretty much got EVERYTHING. Except a few parts here an there, most noticeably there are some lighting effects that I am guessing are also lower resolution like the reflections. Which can cause some minor aliasing here and there, mostly when the lighting angle is changing on say the Red guide metal rods on the board in Sorcerer's Lair.

    But even then, it's really subtle and a HUGE improvement over just MSAA that the game offers by itself.

    3. You CAN enhance the in-game MSAA with SGSSAA. But the quality isn't terribly good (As per curiously usual. It'd be nice if Enhancing provided ideal results)
    _________________________________

    The Bit: 0x000020C1 - works for MSAA,SGSSAA,OGSSAA and OGSSAA-Hybrid(+-SGSSAA)

    _______________________

    The Pictures:

    No AA: http://i.minus.com/icaeIDOajF3tN.png
    In game 4xMSAA: http://i.minus.com/i7SPmNliqRwY0.png
    20C1 forced 8xMSAA: http://i.minus.com/ihNolPqeFJULM.png (In game MSAA seems to behave slightly different and somewhat better in some spots by comparison perhaps?)
    8xSGSSAA with Reflections: http://i.minus.com/ib1oB4lcTBduRA.png
    8xSGSSAA without Reflections: http://i.minus.com/ibrsWaPVqnDUwD.png
    4x4 OGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/imfhWZtFV9HDb.png
    32xS+8xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/ihH9Qv9KrWopm.png
    3200x1800 + 8xSGSSAA: http://i.minus.com/ibLewT0yMhvkI.png
    3200x1800 + 8xSGSSAA downsampled to 1600x900 (Basically the equivalent of 32xS+8xSGSSAA. Has worse performance than that and IQ is basically the same with no difference in reduction of aliasing): http://i.minus.com/ibz6JB7KuAHXXs.png


    Miscellaneous 8xSGSSAA shots (A few of them showing some spots in time where the camera was moving where some things aren't completely AA'd but don't really shimmer or anything like. It looks FABULOUS for the most part in motion. 99%!)

    http://i.minus.com/ib2jIa7F4g2NGq.png
    http://i.minus.com/iwHjhRoIciG1A.png
    http://i.minus.com/iJFW4zlTtgi35.png


    Note I didn't have any Negative lod or auto lod enabled. So the slight slight blur with SGSSAA will probably be less if you use either of those!
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
  15. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Looking for a Carrier Command Gaea Mission AA flag please?
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080


    Yeah I dont' know if OP has added it to main document yet, but here's the deal with FFXIV ARR


    If you have MASSIVE GPU power, 0x004012A1 is ideal for 8xSGSSAA (+some minor sweetFX sharpening to counteract some UI blur).

    If you have a lot of GPU power, 0x004012C5 is ideal for 4xSGSSAA (only). It doesn't have the UI blur of A1, but 8xSGSSAA totally fails with this flag for whatever reason.


    See these posts here:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4634778&postcount=1209
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4634821&postcount=1211
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4634968&postcount=1213
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4635248&postcount=1215


    I can't recall Nvidia's naming scheme, (These YxS modes do have Auto LOD though) but I believe it has something to do with maybe that 2x2+4xMSAA is near quality equivalent of using 16x SSAA (4x4 OGSSAA. 4x4 = 16. 4x4 = 4 times each Hor/Width of the resolution you are using which = 16 times as much resolution. 2x2 of 1280x720 for example is 2560x1440=4 times as much resolution) Hence 16xS = 2x2 OGSSAA+4xMSAA. So it renders the game at 4x resolution and then also applies 4xmsaa at that resolution before downsampling to display resolution.

    The effect and it's effectiveness really varies by game though.



    1x2 for example = 1280x720 X 1x2 = 1280x1440
    2x1 for example = 1280x720 X 2x1 = 2560x720

    If I remember correctly, the theory here is that having more resolution in one axis over the other provides better results for different things.

    I think SLI Knight or aufkrawall may remember the right thing in that regard. My memory is light on that specific subject
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
  17. wasteomind

    wasteomind Master Guru

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3
    As Bonk said above there are two options. MSAA is pretty much useless in this game. The performance drop isn't worth the lack of quality it brings. Too much shader and texture noise. SGSSAA or post processing/downsampling are the only good options.

    For SGSSAA the first option 0x004012C5 works best at 4x SGSSAA and does not blur the ui. It does take a fair bit of gpu power to maintain decent frame rates though.

    Most of my original posts on this topic were lost back in June in the forum roll back. However my first post is still there when I posted those bits:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4618689&postcount=1098

    0x004012C5 doesn't seem to scale as well at 8x SGSSAA. Unfortunately the only option for 8x seems to be 0x004012A1. I wouldn't call it ideal as Bonk has because there are some compromises. It is the only flag that seems to work though. It definitely requires a sharpening shader from SweetFX or the like if you can't stand UI bluring in Text heavy games.

    Also I'm not sure how many people would actually use this much AA as FFXIV uses a deferred rendering engine, and the performance toll from using this much AA is massive. Another small issue is that it can lead to geometric flickering issues. There is a youtube video in the link to my post on it below.

    If you don't mind blur the the A1 flag will get you more AA at both settings. Its pretty much preference I guess.

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4634929&postcount=1212
     
  18. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,008
    Likes Received:
    526
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Does anyone has an AA flag for Might & Magic X: Legacy please? It's an Early Access game that appears to use DX9 but I've no idea which engine it is running on. Ta!

    *EDIT*
    0x00401045 definitely works with 4xMSAA + 4xSGSSAA but the performance hit is huge with the game running at 35 fps instead of 60 fps.

    0x004012C5 works too but with the same performance hit.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2013
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,209
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah that geometry flickering for you is unfortunate. I'm not sure what caused that issue for you because it didn't happen for me :(

    Maybe because of the different GPU architecture. I'm on Fermi, and you've got two 680's right? Which is kepler.
     
  20. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    Does anyone know of a way to force better anti-aliasing in The Bureau: Xcom Declassified? The in-game option for AA is lacking even on the highest setting.

    It seems to ignore the settings in my control panel, and I haven't been able to get SweetFX or Nvidia Inspector to work with it yet.

    Windows 7 64bit - Geforce GTX 770
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2013

Share This Page