NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    An interesting Comparison for

    Sonic & Sega All Stars Racing

    For anyone that may be interested.

    Using the flag in the OP produces some great and very interesting results.


    (Forcing AA with no flag does not work.)

    (Ignore Framerate. Was manually capped at 30 for most of it.)
    No AA: https://i.minus.com/i1gscwytWwQrA.png
    4xMSAA: https://i.minus.com/iClmMTtyhjqAJ.png
    8xSGSSAA: https://i.minus.com/inx5pYMauwvla.png
    8xS+4xTrSSAA: https://i.minus.com/i0xL5QaVcYoj4.png
    2X2 OGSSAA+4xMSAA+2xTrSSAA: https://i.minus.com/iHwJP7gaDJ7zk.png

    OGSSAA produces an AMAZING result in this game. Destroying Aliasing and being sharper than any of the other modes. (Even sharper than with no AA!)

    (SMAA cannot be injected. ****s up the Color correction or something)

    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

    Sonic & Sega All Stars Racing Transformed

    Nothing quite works perfectly well in this game. (SMAA cannot be injected either like the previous)

    I tried the flag posted on 3D Center. Left me very unsatisfied. So I gave up at first.

    Then I tried a bunch of other flags could not get any to really work well at all.

    In the end I tried with no flag(Default 0x00000000) and it worked just as well as the flag posted on 3D Center. That is to say, it worked. But not very well.

    (LARGE Pictures 1440p)

    No AA: https://i.minus.com/ibeGnPcjJME4YH.png
    In-Game AA: https://i.minus.com/iOpHW0xJPEP9V.png
    Driver FXAA: https://i.minus.com/ivWmEilqSNttf.png
    4xMSAA + In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/ivevX6qFur4kn.png
    2x2 SSAA+ In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/i9D6dbP9npLpu.png
    16xS + In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/ibjSYFdjvSMcH4.png
    8xSGSSAA + In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/iblEUivJs4CK1W.png
    Driver FXAA+In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/ibgoq5h7r6lToR.png
    0x004010C1 2x2 + In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/iPVAJAJNs0TGw.png


    While it looks ok in a Still picture. Nothing ever quite deals with the shimmering/pixel crawl. (But 0x004010C1 still does a decent/good job)

    2x2 OGSSAA from 3200x1800 with in-Game AA to 1600x900 (my monitor's native resolution) even doesn't get rid of the shimmering/pixel crawl


    Some more interesting results:

    Launch command "-ForwardRender" Produces this result.
    (W/In Game AA) https://i.minus.com/iL3ginBeELqRN.png

    Finally found a more temporally stable flag!

    0x004812C5

    4xSGSSAA (By itself) https://i.minus.com/iHJIAUd44P3Zm.png
    8xSGSSAA (By itself) https://i.minus.com/iePRo3U8r41ZH.png

    Also works with xXx SSAA modes. (Though doesn't AA well)
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2013
  2. DaTraS

    DaTraS New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 285
    SimCity (2013) AA-Bit anyone?
     
  3. pettor

    pettor New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 680gtx
    Yes, I would be very grateful if someone could find any trick to get AA working on Sim City. FXAA is just not good enough.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    A.) Try OGSSAA(Downsampling) in combination with FXAA. (Since there is no hardware AA. Performance hit shouldn't be that big. So you can probably get at least 3k+ Resolution
    B.) Inject SMAA 1x (Not much better. Sometimes worse but..)
    C.) Try OGSSAA+SMAA1x
    D.) Spend hours testing every single flag in the drivers and then custom flags from here and 3DCenter

    I'd test but i'm not buying into EA's bull****. And i'm not a fan of the game. So can't help
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2013

  5. pettor

    pettor New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 680gtx
    Thank you for the reply. Downscaling works but the GUI is very small.

    Regarding the AA flag, is there anyway to find out what it could be? The total number of combinations is way to big.
     
  6. DaTraS

    DaTraS New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 285
    Try 0x004412C1 and turn off the ingame antialiasing.
    Also tilt-shift should be turned off (lower setting, perhaps).

    Works great for me.
    I'm just a little bit disappointed as there seems to be no SLi support for that game.
     
  7. pettor

    pettor New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 680gtx
    Thank you so much! SGSSAA works using the above flag! Big improvement for me :)
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ah. So it's one of those types of games? well that sucks.

    Good you guys found a SGSSAA flag that works. Unfortunately, usually all I have to go on is the Engine, and the rendering type for clues.
     
  9. Iruwen

    Iruwen Master Guru

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    None of the Guild Wars 2 flags seems to work with a recent version of GW2, at least I see absolutely no difference in image quality or FPS - I also don't see any white outlines on characters though. Can somebody try and confirm this?
    Try 0x00401240 or 0x084012C0 from the op or 0×00401044 from here:
    http://ipkonfig.com/guild-wars-2-bringing-antialiasing-to-the-game/2
    /e: nevermind, I forgot to set behaviour to none :bang:
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
  10. mine100_

    mine100_ New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX680 SLI
    Godfather2 0x004412C1 SGSSAA
    You Should Enable AA ingame
     

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Earth Defense Force Insect Armageddon:

    This game is a bitch to AA. Even with SGSSAA. (And SSAA causes problems. In game AA doesn't work beyond 1080p for some reason. And anything over 2560x1440 seems to cause rendering errors.)


    The game has only built in FXAA. Which doesn't to a terribly lot.

    But I did find an interesting solution with the flag: "0x00001045"

    First: No AA https://i.minus.com/inqDuic7htS56.png

    4xSGSSAA https://i.minus.com/iDqIAe0Kthj1D.png

    4xSGSSAA +In-Game FXAA+ Sweet Fx (With a little Luma Sharpen to counteract the blur of FXAA from this game's implementation of it)
    https://i.minus.com/ib2JNIKMmskTXr.png

    4xMSAA+2xSGSSAA @1440p OGSSAA to 1080p + Driver FXAA +Sweet FX (w/Sharpen)
    https://i.minus.com/iw8P7ZrdHorxz.png
    (if you also notice. The game seems to strangely disable Ambient Occlusion beyond 2k resolution. 2048x1152)


    I'm still working to see if I can come up with a better solution. As this still doesn't handle all temporal/shader/specular aliasing(Which the game doesn't help out with. The game's Shadow/Ambient Occlusion LOD has a lot of flickering). But it still looks a HELL of a lot better than with just FXAA or no AA.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  12. Vynxe Vainglory

    Vynxe Vainglory New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Nvidia GTX 560 Ti 2GB
    Scarlet Blade

    For the new Aeria game: Scarlet Blade (also known as Queen's Blade), the AA bit 0x200012C1 is working, and is a bit more efficient than the ingame AA. Forced 8x MSAA + SGSSAA (with -1.5 LOD bias ofc) with better framerate than using the in-game 8x MSAA, and it actually looks less blurry as well. Didn't notice any shimmering that was out of hand yet. The SGSSAA removes almost every last ounce of possible shimmering, however, some areas do not receive AA, like anything that's rendered on top of the menus. A post injector might be required to get rid of those on top of everything else. The in-game lighting effects leave me desiring sharpening anyway, so post will indeed be used at least by me.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Queen's Blade MMO?!

    Whoah why didn't I know about this hahahaha
     
  14. BababooeyHTJ

    BababooeyHTJ Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 crossfire
    I've been using this flag with Sacred 2 for SGSSAA. 0x000012C1

    Its been working well so far.
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Pic comparison would be nice!:)
     

  16. djcasey

    djcasey Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 460 1gb SLI
    any AA flag for SimCity
     
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  18. ggp759

    ggp759 Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 680
    Is there a problem with nvidia inspector and windows 8? I have the latest release(1.9.6.9) and am trying to apply AA to DmC. I use the correct flags form this thread but i still see jaggies on Dantes coat,sword etc. I have applied 4xMSAA 8xMSAA. evga precision suggests that the GPU usage is up, mem usage is up framerates are down but still jaggies. Tried with 4xMSAA and 2 supersampling but with no effect.
     
  19. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    U will see jaggies with supersampling.Just try 4xsgssaa it will remove them and run verry nice on your 680GTX :)
     
  20. ggp759

    ggp759 Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 680
    Thanks where is that option though in inspector? Sorry am relatively new to this. Also in the Antialiasing Behavior flags what should i choose? is set to none currently.
    Edit: Found it. Something is still not working though.have not noticed any difference. And the mem usage is even lower than before as is gpu usage. Maybe it has to do with the behavior flag? thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013

Share This Page