NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Ok thanks for checking.:)
    Ive sent Ceejay a PM.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2013
  2. Mesocyclone

    Mesocyclone Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Titan SLI
    Flags for COD Black Ops don't work here anymore, it's blurred again fw 314.09. I'll try to look for something to solve it.

    Edit, I came to the conclussion only 12xs works, 12xS [Combined: 2x2 SS + 4x OGMS (D3D only)] and with ingame aa disabled.

    Somebody knows how to set sgssaa in Alan wake? I still haven't found something usefull. Ordened grid or plain SSAA modes give artefacts and sgssaa (enhanced) does a bad job, anti aliasing the specular, but don't touches the alpha textures. 4x4 anti aliased the best, but it's nit usefull as it messed up with lighting and shadows.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,192
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You will have to try Downsampling trick.

    There is no other way AFIK. The game is designed to mostly just work with MSAA at all times AFIK.


    Also: Originally BO2 didn't need any flags. It just had a bug where using Ambient occlusion caused it to be blurrier than intended or something. Also try manually adjusting the LOD bias by turning "Driver controlled LOD Bias" to "OFF" if you already have it off. Turn it to on. That may be what is causing the issue in the first place if the AO bug isn't there any more
     
  4. Mesocyclone

    Mesocyclone Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Titan SLI
    Yeah downsampling is the only thing left which can give nice results.

    Thanx for the tip for BO2, disabling AO clears up the vasaline when enhancing to sgssaa :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2013

  5. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    Tomb raider SGSSAA?
     
  6. Canzah

    Canzah Banned

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti GHz
    Try the Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light flag, same engine.
     
  7. crescent327

    crescent327 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 560 ti 1GB
    Someone has to find an AA bit for Trials HD Gold Edition. Not that it would help with the low resolution shadows and awful textures of course. The only in-game option is FXAA.

    Don't get me wrong, it's a fun game. I just wish more effort had been put into this "Gold" version.
     
  8. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    And whats the Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light flag?Dont see it in this tread ewen google doest show any info :bonk:
    Deus ex HR and TR underworld flags not working :3eyes:
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013
  9. Canzah

    Canzah Banned

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti GHz
    Weird that nobody posted them here, got them from a german forum.

    0x004100C0
    0x004030C0
    0x004000C0

    Supposedly all of them work for Lara Croft and Guardian of Light, but remember they would only work in DX9.
     
  10. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    None of them working maybe because its running dx11.Is there a way a config file to turn dx11 to dx9?

    edit:// turned on dx9 with registry tweak
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Crystal Dynamics\Tomb Raider\Graphics
    Modify RenderAPI value to 9
    Note: Revert to 0 for DX11, anything else will result in DX11 renderer with some DX11 features disabled.
    Now just need to find the raight flag for sgssaa.DeusEx HR flag loooks way to funny.It has missing objects like fire and looks realy weird :D

    edit2://sgssaa runs great without flag the performance is better like expected but its ugly on dx9 -too manny effect disabled -.-
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013

  11. Canzah

    Canzah Banned

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti GHz
    You could try very well known DX10/DX11 AA trick.
    Namely instead of choosing "Override application setting", choose "Enhance application setting".
    Set regular AA to application controlled.
    And transparency to SGSSAA.
    Try and see if it works.
     
  12. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    No of those flags work :(

    0x004100C0 No AA is applied and you get weird rendering problems.
    0x004030C0 AA is applied but you get weird rendering problems.
    0x004000C0 No AA is applied and you get weird rendering problems.

    [​IMG]

    I tried enhanced and forced 4x SGGAA without a flag but it doesn't work either.

    Can you post you NVIDIA Inspector setting please? It doesn't seem to work. for me.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,192
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Those bugs remind me a lot of the bugs I ran into trying to force AA in RE6. This may be unforceable
     
  14. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    Just do the registry tweak to switch from DX11 to DX9 i posted earlier.[​IMG]
     
  15. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    [​IMG]

    I did the registry tweak for my previous post, it is definitely not working for me. :cry:

    I will just have to stick with 2xSSAA.
     

  16. Quest

    Quest Member Guru

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI GTX 770 JETSTREAM 4GB
    so no normal flag for TR?
     
  17. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    I dont know why its not working for you i deffinitely get a huge performance hit when its enabled.Thats why i try it with 8xSGSSAA first.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,192
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    An interesting Comparison for

    Sonic & Sega All Stars Racing

    For anyone that may be interested.

    Using the flag in the OP produces some great and very interesting results.


    (Forcing AA with no flag does not work.)

    (Ignore Framerate. Was manually capped at 30 for most of it.)
    No AA: https://i.minus.com/i1gscwytWwQrA.png
    4xMSAA: https://i.minus.com/iClmMTtyhjqAJ.png
    8xSGSSAA: https://i.minus.com/inx5pYMauwvla.png
    8xS+4xTrSSAA: https://i.minus.com/i0xL5QaVcYoj4.png
    2X2 OGSSAA+4xMSAA+2xTrSSAA: https://i.minus.com/iHwJP7gaDJ7zk.png

    OGSSAA produces an AMAZING result in this game. Destroying Aliasing and being sharper than any of the other modes. (Even sharper than with no AA!)

    (SMAA cannot be injected. ****s up the Color correction or something)

    |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

    Sonic & Sega All Stars Racing Transformed

    Nothing quite works perfectly well in this game. (SMAA cannot be injected either like the previous)

    I tried the flag posted on 3D Center. Left me very unsatisfied. So I gave up at first.

    Then I tried a bunch of other flags could not get any to really work well at all.

    In the end I tried with no flag(Default 0x00000000) and it worked just as well as the flag posted on 3D Center. That is to say, it worked. But not very well.

    (LARGE Pictures 1440p)

    No AA: https://i.minus.com/ibeGnPcjJME4YH.png
    In-Game AA: https://i.minus.com/iOpHW0xJPEP9V.png
    Driver FXAA: https://i.minus.com/ivWmEilqSNttf.png
    4xMSAA + In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/ivevX6qFur4kn.png
    2x2 SSAA+ In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/i9D6dbP9npLpu.png
    16xS + In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/ibjSYFdjvSMcH4.png
    8xSGSSAA + In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/iblEUivJs4CK1W.png
    Driver FXAA+In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/ibgoq5h7r6lToR.png
    0x004010C1 2x2 + In Game AA: https://i.minus.com/iPVAJAJNs0TGw.png


    While it looks ok in a Still picture. Nothing ever quite deals with the shimmering/pixel crawl. (But 0x004010C1 still does a decent/good job)

    2x2 OGSSAA from 3200x1800 with in-Game AA to 1600x900 (my monitor's native resolution) even doesn't get rid of the shimmering/pixel crawl


    Some more interesting results:

    Launch command "-ForwardRender" Produces this result.
    (W/In Game AA) https://i.minus.com/iL3ginBeELqRN.png

    Finally found a more temporally stable flag!

    0x004812C5

    4xSGSSAA (By itself) https://i.minus.com/iHJIAUd44P3Zm.png
    8xSGSSAA (By itself) https://i.minus.com/iePRo3U8r41ZH.png

    Also works with xXx SSAA modes. (Though doesn't AA well)
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2013
  19. DaTraS

    DaTraS New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 285
    SimCity (2013) AA-Bit anyone?
     
  20. pettor

    pettor New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 680gtx
    Yes, I would be very grateful if someone could find any trick to get AA working on Sim City. FXAA is just not good enough.
     

Share This Page