NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. nomec

    nomec Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does that override the AA they are using in game when enabling post-processing? I am guessing it's FXAA.

    Maybe can you post your inspector settings?
     
  2. wasteomind

    wasteomind Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3
    It seems to work. but it causes a massive performance penalty and a 1-2 pixel wide border along the top and left edges of the screen. Looks like it is offsetting a layer of post processing or something. Not an idea solution. Any alternatives? I got SMAA and FXAA working, but they don't appear to do much if anything.
     
  3. gbooster

    gbooster Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    zotac 1080gtx
    First thing I did was disable the incredibly awful post processing. Trust me it looks MUCH better with it off.

    I'll take a SS of the settings when I get home.

    From memory though, it's override. The stalker profile, and then for transparency I just used the multisample one and not the supersample.
     
  4. nomec

    nomec Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think post-processing fits the environment better. It's a bit crazy with the bloom but it looks good.

    Is there a way to get better AA with post processing turned on?
     

  5. wasteomind

    wasteomind Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3
    Ok I'm doing more testing to try to figure this out for Amalur. I've disabled post processing and am basically going through the existing compatibility bits listed in nvinspector 1 by 1 looking for patterns that might lead to a solution since I have no idea how the bits actually work.

    edit: erased my findings, borders persisted with more testing.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2012
  6. wasteomind

    wasteomind Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3
    Did some more testing on Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. Came up with 0x200032C1 which applies AA and seems to eliminate the borders on the sides of the screen. Can anyone else confirm it works with no ill effects?

    Edit ok weird situation here. The above bits provides no borders using 4x MSAA. Drop down to 2x MSAA and the top border reappears. Interesting. Back to testing I guess.

    0x000012C1 OGSS (2x2 Supersampling) seems to work with slightly better performance then MSAA flag and 4xMSAA above. Again can anyone confirm?

    EDIT 2:

    Been playing with 0x000012C1 and using 1x2 SSAA with post processing enabled in game. Looks pretty clean, if not a bit blurred bur I seem to be able to pull 60fps solid @ 1920x1080. Don't quite have the performance to go 2x2 SSAA or 4xMSAA. These flags work, but suck performance wise.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2012
  7. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,584
    Likes Received:
    299
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    So what you are saying is 0x200032C1 is for 4xMSAA, 0x000012C1 is for OGSS and SSAA?
     
  8. nomec

    nomec Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    To get it working w/ post processing turned on are you setting AA to Override or Enhance? Or nothing?
     
  9. wasteomind

    wasteomind Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3
    Yes those are my findings thus far. I don't have a decent working solution for 2x MSAA nor have I found any better performing flags.

    Override
     
  10. nomec

    nomec Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, there is too much of a performance hit. 4xMSAA brings me to 50 fps on dual GTX 580's. Supersampling 2x1 is tolerable but it isn't a solid 60 fps all the time.

    Hopefully someone will find something better.
     

  11. wasteomind

    wasteomind Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3
    I agree, performance wise these flags are not ideal. I doubt Nvidia will introduce anything since the game has in-game AA through post processing. So that leaves anyone who is better than me (which is probably anyone) to find a better solution. I'm firing these off blindly without any real understanding of what flag bits control what. There is no documentation I could find on these values.
     
  12. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,009
    Likes Received:
    527
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Where's Guzz when you need him?
     
  13. Ditrih

    Ditrih New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 460
    Railworks 3: Train Simulator 2012 AA flag?
     
  14. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,987
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    ME1/ME2 bit seems to work fine with ME3 demo.
     
  15. MfA

    MfA Master Guru

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1060 6GB
    I Use C1 for ME3, tried also 10C1 but former is better.. both is blur free(SGSSAA)..

    Mass Effect AO flags works too..
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012

  16. bloodindark

    bloodindark Member Guru

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080 TI
    deep black AA - 0x004000C1 (sgssaa)
     
  17. MfA

    MfA Master Guru

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1060 6GB
    Darknes II AA Flag

    dont use default AA flag(0x00401205), it creates white artifact around ''Striker'' Rifle and breakes shadows/AO for ''UMP'' submachine gun..

    0x004000C1 flag eliminates all these problems but it costs more..

    default AA flag
    0x004000C1(MSAA, SGSSAA, OGSSAA)
    0x004000C1 8xSGSSAA UMP - 0x004000C1 8xSGSSAA Striker
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Thanks to Blaire :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012
  18. bloodindark

    bloodindark Member Guru

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080 TI
    7554 aa flag?please?
     
  19. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
  20. The Sleeper

    The Sleeper Master Guru

    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 TI FE
    Never mind ...
     

Share This Page