NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    75
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080 Suprim
    Found a SGSSAA AA flag for Borderlands 2! :D
    0x200012C1 - Borderlands 2 (SGSSAA & SSAA)

    [edit]

    Looks like SSAA also works with this flag, it's a HUGE framerate hit though. I could do 2X SSAA and keep around 60fps, but 4X dropped me to about 25-30fps.

    (click for full-sized)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  2. Iruwen

    Iruwen Master Guru

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Also not really, SGSSAA is way more efficient than OGSSAA/DS most of the time.
     
  3. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    It used to be easy to force MSAA and now I can never make it work... I want MSAA in borderlands 2 geez
     
  4. Dcrawler

    Dcrawler Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 680sli Hydro(s)
    Would you mind putting up a shot of your inspector settings? I can't get this profile to work but its probably because I'm missing one of the support settings inside inspector. Thank you.
     

  5. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    360
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    one sec..gonna put up screens of nvinspector and an help for wanny in a second..game is allmost installed..lol..

    be back

    ok, heres teh NVInspector settings..

    [​IMG]

    AO, im still testing though, so u might wanna disable that for you..

    @ Wanny...what probs do u have? what do u mean by its so hard to configure it?
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  6. Dcrawler

    Dcrawler Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 680sli Hydro(s)
    Thanks mate, I appreciate the help. Not sure what I was doing wrong, but it works now. Looks much better than in-game fxaa.
     
  7. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,481
    Likes Received:
    2,285
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    You forgot the AO flag :) is there one btw ?
     
  8. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    360
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    no, the game has AO onboard allready, so i guess its senseless to enable it via NV..

    aldo, i just tested SGSSAA 4x4 with these bits, and they are not working for me..dunno whats wrong..lol..
    also i have set all to ultra and high, also physx..still i have over 80fps..

    so i guess sgssaa aint working, but still 80 fps is good with all stuff highest i guess.

    need to test more..gonna try supersample aa now..and see if that grips..

    edit: doesnt work ether, lol..

    im starting to wonder if these bits work???
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  9. Dcrawler

    Dcrawler Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 680sli Hydro(s)
    With BetA's settings. The tint is due to f.lux I think?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  10. wasteomind

    wasteomind Master Guru

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3
    Did you remember to change the behavior flag to "none"?
     

  11. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    360
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    jup, i did..

    maybe its that resolution thing, that u can use those bits only at certain resolutions or ratio settings, like 16:9 etc..

    im at 1600x900...so that might be the prob..

    sticking with sweetfx for now, is better then fxaa and doesnt blur..
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,365
    Likes Received:
    260
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3080 Ti
    Yes it is. Performance hit can be either or though.


    Man, the gun skins in BL2 still seem a bit on the low quality side.(Texture/mapping wise) But still nice looking.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  13. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    Tony Hawk Pro Skater HD SGSSAA Flag:
    0x080000C1 or 0x000012C1
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  14. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    360
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    Some different Borderlands 2 FLAGS for SGSSAA that also work for me, lol..

    NO AA:
    [​IMG]

    8xSGSSAA:
    [​IMG]
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,365
    Likes Received:
    260
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3080 Ti
    That looks really fuzzy(the de-aliased edges I mean ) in a lot of spots.
    But still good.
     

  16. SIMJEDI

    SIMJEDI New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX 1080
    Try setting up the GPU to scale the resolution to your monitor. It might be a little blurrier due to not being native but it's not that bad as I use a odd ball rez and it's not even that noticeable.

    In the NVIDIA Control Panel section "Adjust desktop size and position" in the "Scaling" tab, set "Perform scaling on" to be "GPU".

    Create a custom 16:9 rez of "1664x936" in the "WillowEngine.ini" under "SystemSettings" (ResX+ResY) and SGSSAA should work.
     
  17. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    360
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    hmmm...could try that. BUt no, im using the other BIts now and they work fine for me now.. ""0x000000C1" "

    But still, THX for the info :)
     
  18. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    Torchlight 2 AA Flag?
     
  19. Dcrawler

    Dcrawler Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 680sli Hydro(s)
    Was about to post the same question. The game looks nice, but could use some enhanced aa love imo.

    update - On the previous page, the same nvinspector settings for borderlands 2 seems to work for torchlight 2 also.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2012
  20. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    When you open inventory AA disapears.
     

Share This Page