NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,109
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Enhancing is always different than Forcing. Pretty much any game DX10+ that has MSAA in game can be enhanced (Though often to mixed results that require additional downsampling)
    In Vulkan the calls in the driver to enhance probably don't exist because half the point of Vulkan is to give the application lower level control right?
    I haven't seen any examples of a program with a Vulkan backend that also offers MSAA support to attempt to enhance it to SGSSAA. Though I don't think it would work anyway.
    That would make sense that it can't interfere.


    Wrapping DX9 would of course change things. Because the driver is being fed whatever other API instead by the wrapper. It's intermediating between the two.
    I played a few hours of Killing Floor with forced SGSSAA and sharpening and after some time after boot up I never noticed the screen shaking again. (I still ended up going back as I was used to how the game looked anyway. If you want less blurry SGSSAA in KF you just have to disable Bloom)
    I haven't tried other games though.
     
  2. dezo

    dezo Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    RTX 2080s
    Sorry for offtopic here, but in case anyone should have the same problem with Crysis 3 (or Crysis 2 in DX11) - framerate capped to 30-62.5 FPS on high refresh rate monitor with any in-game settings, any resolution and regardless of VSYNC state. It is a problem with low system timer resolution which can be easily solved by setting it manually to about 1ms before starting the game. You can use the TimerTool utility for that. Default value of this timer is set to about 15.6 ms and this caused the problem.

    BTW timer resolution should be set as a request be each game according to its needs. At least every other engine does that. I can't believe Crytek would be so incompetent and skip this so I presume it is some kind of bug in their initialization functions and/or Windows DX libraries, because all i takes is just one API function call.
     
    didamangi likes this.
  3. AATT

    AATT Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    GTX1080
    playing days of war only lately (day of defeat tribute), it is pretty well optimized and runs on UE4, it has temporal aa in two quality levels which works nice but blurs too much, enabling reshade's lumasharpen and leave it at default does a good job
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,109
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Mupen64Plus Standalone

    I figured out that you can enhance the MSAA in the latest Standalone builds (OGL HLE renderer) of this emulator at ANY resolution.
    Meaning you could even play at 1x Res (240p) with real AA. It's pretty interesting to see how good it looks.

    Also: If you still run Windows 7 without Aero. You need to force Vsync via the drivers for FSE. Or use RTSS

    Some Screenshots
    1xRes No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/1xresnoAA.png
    8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/1xRes8xMSAA.png
    8xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/1xRes8xSG.png
    https://imgsli.com/MTIzNjk/0/1

    High res No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/HighResNoAA.png
    8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/Highres8xMSAA.png
    8xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/Highres8xSG.png
    https://imgsli.com/MTIzNzA/0/1

    https://imgsli.com/MTIzNzI
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2020
    didamangi and Cave Waverider like this.

  5. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,584
    Likes Received:
    2,049
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    you should use aero at all times.
     
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,109
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Aero is nothing but problems in W7. (I've never had a good experience with an emulator that doesn't have FSE.)
    Anything that is borderless only Scanline Sync works well enough for. I'll use Aero only as a last resort.

    Plus for whatever reason in the latest Nvidia drivers unless I disable the "Nvidia Display Container" service (Which disables NVCP) Aero doesn't even work. It forces Windows into basic mode.
     
  7. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Seems like Prototype 2 SGSSAA bit does not work anymore..
     
  8. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    I guess the Black Mesa v1.0 Beta didn't change things on AA front?
     
  9. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    This is unbelievable... I wanted to use ReShade to remove some of the blur cause by SGSSAA, but imagine my surprise learning that doing so breaks the enforced AA. What the actual fu-
     
  10. Tizoc

    Tizoc Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX970M
    For Jack Keane 1
    0x00000044

    This bit doesn't seem to work when using Override, as I still see jaggies :X

    EDIT: but this bit works!
    0x084012C1

    At the least it smooths stuff out and applies a nice AA solution to it. IMGUR link I know but I did a quick screenshot to show it from the early game.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2020
    KainXVIII likes this.

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,109
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Add the depth bit. 0x00400000
    This will allow forced AA to work with Reshade. Also you will have to use higher than normal sharpening values as SGSSAA will affect the ReShade shaders as well. But you can attain great results with tweaking.

    But to be clear are you trying to use AA with the old Black mesa or the new updated build that pushes Xen to main branch?




    Thanks i'll add that .
     
    Tizoc likes this.
  12. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    Xen was pushed to main branch long ago. The game is currently in version 1.0 beta, with final 1.0 being scheduled for 5th of March release.
     
  13. Tizoc

    Tizoc Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX970M
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,109
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    When I tested using the Xen update. SGSSAA wasn't really all that usable. Especially on the Xen maps where there were severe visual glitches. So I don't think that has changed.
    Unless you can roll back to the original Pre-Xen engine forcing AA is pretty much useless it seemed to me.
     
  15. vmanuelgm

    vmanuelgm Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Hi guys.

    Any advices to apply a good antialiasing in The Witcher 3???
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,109
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Downsampling + in game TAA is your only choice sadly.
     
  17. Tizoc

    Tizoc Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX970M
    Can't seem to find any compatible AA bits for Karateka 2012 game. I tried Enslaved's, which works with Rise of Argonauts but no dice.
    There is some aliasing on some stuff in the game even though I fiddled a bit with the game's config files to try and smooth it out.
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,109
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Karateka is pretty simple. Standard UE3 bits work fine for MSAA,OGSAA,SGSSAA.
    I like how this game looks. Simple UE3 before they started screwing up all the post processing junk and locking you into FXAA and stuff like that.

    0x080000C1 - SGSSAA,OGSSAA - AA fix needed to fix white outline on models
    0x08000041 - MSAA (Can't fix white outline on character models in certain areas. Performance hit is very high. Might as well just use one of the other methods)

    No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/379NoAA.png
    8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/b658xMSAA2.png http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/2678xMSAA1.png
    8xSGSSAA without AA fix http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xSG.png
    8xSGSSAA with fix http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/17aC18xSGAAfix.png
    4x4 OGSSAA (Not worth the performance hit. Keep in mind these are with a 2080 lol) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/e0d4x4.png

    Game was cheap enough to buy just to check for you.
     
    Tizoc likes this.
  19. Tizoc

    Tizoc Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX970M
    Dang thanks dude! I will try it out soon :3
     
  20. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    SGSSAA works, except for the dynamic lighting. Thew bigger problem is that it blurs a lot. Not extremely, but lot. And negative LOD doesn't work at all.
     

Share This Page