NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,235
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You can force SGSSAA without problems

    Comparison from old screenshots I took 6 years ago
    https://imgsli.com/MTEyMDA
    Not the best scene to show the largest differences. But it suffices.

    I also found out today you can force SGSSAA in PPSSPP in OpenGL mode as long as you use Unbuffered rendering.
    Which is great since you can also force proper Vsync in OGL mode. The only problem being that some games have problems or missing effects in unbuffered mode.
    There is no way to force it in Buffered mode. Even if your rendering and display resolution match. I tried a custom 1920x1088 resolution and matching render resolution but it didn't matter.
    (While you can force SGSSAA in DX9 in buffered mode)
    ALso, using Ultra Low Latency mode also helped with the input lag this emulator has a little bit.
    https://imgsli.com/MTEyMDI
    https://imgsli.com/MTEyMDc/3/4
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2020
    KainXVIII, Tizoc and didamangi like this.
  2. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    1,348
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    Any working flags for Lionhead's Black & White 2?
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,235
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    DX8 or DX9?
    If it's DX8 it should work without any flags. (Resolution and aspect ratio may affect this).
    If DX9 try 0x000000C1 or 0x00000041
     
    KainXVIII and TheDeeGee like this.
  4. Tizoc

    Tizoc Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX970M
    So for Venetica; how do I go about disabling post process effects?
     

  5. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,541
    Likes Received:
    3,840
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Black and white 2 uses Super sampling natively.
     
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,235
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It's probably the "Fullscreen effects" option the menus.
     
  7. Tizoc

    Tizoc Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX970M
    Gracias, that thing seems to apply an odd glow or bloom, so with it off the models look nice.
    Esp. by FORCING SSGSS. Models look much nicer.
     
  8. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    Holy frack, even RTX 2070 SUPER can't sustain stable 60 FPS with SGSSAA 4x in A Hat in Time. Do I need a nuclear plant for that or what?!
     
  9. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Its just unoptimized game (i can't maintain 1080p/60fps all the time even with FXAA).
     
  10. Tizoc

    Tizoc Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX970M
    Isn't A hat in time a Unity game?

    What AA bits would you recommend for Telltale's earlier games, namely Sam & Max and games around and prior to that series?
    Looking at the sheet in the first page, Back to the Future has
    MSAA: 0x00000041
    SSGSS: 0x000000C1

    I am gonna test the 2nd one and see what results I get.

    edit: here are screenshots from the first Bone game using the SSGSS bits I mentioned
    [​IMG]
    ^No SSGSS implemented

    SSGSS implemented (I always notice leaves from trees in games look so nice with SSGSS implemented)-
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020

  11. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    UE3.
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,235
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Game is horribly optimized. Even just running at a high resolution without AA the performance can be pretty awful.
    Not to mention there are some other visual quirks that come with UE3 that drag the performance way down when using SGSSAA.(Blur when bringing up the wheel/menu thing). I asked for a way to disable that when it was first released but nothing.


    Added thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  13. Tizoc

    Tizoc Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX970M
    I will try it with my Sam & Max games too, hopefully I can see some improvement in visual clarity at least.

    EDIT: Oh, Remember me is an EU3 game? Will be fun to fiddle with some of its settings while inject SSGSS AA XP
    I disabled bloom when I played Enslaved, so I will see how the game looks with and without it.
    Bloom generally seems to invoke 'colourful light beam' on everything with these kinda games :v
     
  14. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    Why they didn't use UE4 to begin with is beyond me.
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,235
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Be careful with UE3 games and post processing. A lot of later engine versions completely tie up all post processing so you can either have all post processing on (including FXAA/MLAA). Or none of it at all.
    You often have to find one specific setting in the ini to disable stuff as often menu toggles won't actually work. (It depends on the game).
    It can make UE3 games irritating to work with.
     
    Tizoc likes this.

  16. Tizoc

    Tizoc Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX970M
    Does Half Life 1 Source need any specific bits, or can I just use the pre-set one in Inspector? Furthermore should I enhance or override?
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,235
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Half Life 1 has been updated to use OpenGL so forcing actually doesn't work but by default it has 4xMSAA. You can set Inspector to "Enhance Application Setting" and override it with 8xMSAA if you want. If you want to use SGSSAA just remember to set Transparency Supersampling (Which is SGSSAA in OGL)
     
    Tizoc likes this.
  18. NeoChaos

    NeoChaos Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070 8 GB
    Doesn't OpenGL SGSSAA still have the blurry textures bug, though? Also, he's asking about HL1 Source, not vanilla HL1.
     
  19. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    1,348
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    Why play HL1 Source to begin with?

    It's such a messy port.
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,235
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It manifests in different ways depending on the game.
    Some games it may not even be noticeable.
    In Vanilla Doom 3 for example, it shows up only on alpha test textures like grates
    I didn't even notice this really until later. It changes depending on the angle. (Worse at oblique angles. But that doesn't happen often with the problem surfaces)
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/shot00085.jpg

    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/shot00133.jpg
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/shot00134.jpg
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/shot00316.jpg
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/shot00317.jpg
    And then on certain displays with projected textures it can cause an issue but only depending on what angle you look at it at. Something that only happens on a small number of objects overall and it doesn't stand out as obviously wrong until you look deeper. It was a non issue for me when I played last year.

    Also: I forgot HL:source is different than vanilla sorry. I'd have to assume that if it runs on DX9 like Hl2 the same flag I mentioned last page or so would work fine.
     

Share This Page