1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Sorry yeah I want to enable SSGSS. So following your post I can set it to sgss aa and then, ingame set aa to x4 and enhance. Seems straight forward enough, thanks.
     
  2. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    539
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    Tried SMAA Injector, but that crashes the game.

    [​IMG]

    DSR doesn't seem to make it any better and cuts the FPS down to the 40s.

    Oh well, can't expect much from a 4 dollar game ^^
     
  3. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    651
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    use sweetfx or reshade smaa, smaa injector is dead and not compatible with 8 or 10.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Depending on the kind of aliasing problems a game has DSR(Or any kind of OGSSAA) won't do much to solve it unfortunately.

    But yeah use newer SweetFX or Reshade versions to inject SMAA if you want. That will at least get decent edge quality for geometry.
     

  5. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    539
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    I settled with SMAA and FXAA for Max Damage, not even DSR could fix the jaggies.

    It's a poorly coded game engine.

    Things like this just refuse to disappear:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Thanks mate. 8x causes FPS dips, but 4x works fine and the game looks cleaner and smoother now.
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah stuff like that really can't be fixed without something like MSAA or god forbid TAA bare minimum. If you were able to downsample from 16x your display resolution it still may not fix it completely.

    Earth Defense Force 4 (And probably now 5) suffer from similar issues. What sucks with EDF4 is that it seemed like the game supported MSAA, but it was broken and only worked in the main menu. Which could have allowed for enhancing SGSSAA.

    Testing EDF5 now it seems like it also uses MSAA in the menu , and it enhances with SGSSAA perfectly. But in game it's different. It almost seems more like FXAA, but it will still enhance with SGSSAA. Instead of being better quality though it will just get blurry.
     
  8. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
  9. marcosamerio

    marcosamerio Master Guru

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA NVIDIA 680 GTX
    Hi all, ┬┐someone can help me please with aa in risk of rain 2?, if i use sweetfx to force smaa or fxaa it turns unreadable the text in game. I download nvidiainspector but i cant get to work the aa in the game.

    Bye, Marcos
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Don't think so. Probably DX11 only for both.
     

  11. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Anything for Dungeon Lords: Steam Edition (DX9)?
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Does it already have any MSAA support?

    If not 0x00000041 will probably work with MSAA/trSSAA
    Also 0x000000C1 for SGSSAA to start with.
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  13. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    I don't see any way (maybe there were in the old version), MSAA forcing through nvidia panel does not work either.
    Thanks, i will try these bits.
     
  14. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Alas, not working for me, at least DSR is still there..
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I'll buy it and test it real quick and then refund.
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah so it works fine. You just have to add the executable to a new profile or to the existing Dungeon Lords profile. As it has a different .exe name than the original game.
    Speaking of that, I don't know but this game seems horribly optimized. Bad frame pacing, and huge GPU usage for such an old game on a modern GPU.
    Also, guess they never heard of MipMaps either heh.


    Dungeon Lords: Steam Edition

    0x00000041 - MSAA,TrSSAA
    0x000000C1 - SGSSAA, OGSSAA,HSAA(+- TrSSAA/SGSSAA)

    You may need Reshade or SweetFX for a border shader.


    No AA https://abload.de/img/noaavqjtm.png
    8xMSAA+TrSSAA https://abload.de/img/418xtrssaav9kvt.png
    8xSGSSAA https://abload.de/img/c18xsgrlkiz.png
    16xS+4xTrSSAA https://abload.de/img/16xsg4trf4jgk.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA https://abload.de/img/16xs4sgxrkqy.png
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  17. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Ha-ha, yes, at least near starting bonfire.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2019
  18. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Seems like Reshade disables SGSSAA (but i don't see any borders, so its does not matter that much)
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You need to add the depth bit. 0x004, then reshade should work. You can also try older SweetFX builds too. But if you don't see it that's fine as well.
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  20. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    I've lately been installing whatever game I can use NVidia inspector on and see what I can get.
    Anyone figure any bits for Dungeon Siege 3? I tried enhance but to no avail, so I assume certain comp. bits would help in forcing nvidia inspector stuff.
     

Share This Page