NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Postal-Dude

    Postal-Dude New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 1070 Ti
    Hm. I don't seem to be able to activate SGSSAA in Chronicles Of Riddick - Assault On Dark Athena. I followed the instructions to the letter. I also disabled the prevent anti aliasing flag / 0x20992431, as it was called once. I also tried to activate SGSSAA alongside ingame MSAA. But absolutely nothing has an effect. I dont even get normal Multisampling to work.

    Can anyone confirm this with latest Nvidia driver? I am not sure if the problem is on my end or if it is just not working for anyone anymore. Possible fix? Compatibility bits?
     
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    i'll have to download it and give it a shot when I have time this week maybe.
     
    Postal-Dude likes this.
  3. stillmehungry

    stillmehungry New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 lightning
    Anyone know of any fix for AA In Dayz Standalone. The edges of fences and rooftops are awful for me. I've played around with profile inspector but can't seem to find something that works. Appreciate any help I can get
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Pretty sure it's Dx11. So no.
     

  5. gaintbeam

    gaintbeam Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try TrSSAA? There’s another thread that gives such instructions. Problem is once you get supersampling going you can’t enable SSAO it seems. But with ENB and Reshade it might work.
     
  6. GuyFawkesGaming

    GuyFawkesGaming Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB
    I'm gonna do an update to my tests on Halo 2. Using any form of Override has no effect on the game (probably due to no bits), Enhance + TrSSAA give best results, Enhance + SGSSAA technically works but corrupts some textures making them really blurry and looking like you're driving by them really fast. The texture corruption can best be seen on the map blood gulch where the grass is just completely smeared. Not sure if this is useful for your master list but wanted to bring closure to my question.
     
  7. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,640
    Likes Received:
    975
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    halo 2 uses a form of rendering that cannot have any AA no matter what you try to do.
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It does have native AA built into it though. And as noted you can enhance it with TrSSAA. Which helps with all the trees and foliage in the game.


    Also: I just tried RTX Quake 2 and it's about as poor IQ wise as I expected. The Temporal de-noiser+TAA is super blurry and has lots of side effects. Imagine standard TAA problems and add a bunch more problems on top. All the while eating of 20+% of the GPU !
    Using 150% resolution scale improves it slightly better but the denoising can't keep up.(Especially under water) And at this point with medium GI an RTX 2080 is only running at 30FPS (1080p base. Assuming correct scale. This means 1620p rendering).If the denoiser is off, then with 150% resolution it can hit in the neighborhood of 50+FPS.

    The lighting is nice and all but good lord is it not worth the performance. And the image quality is very low as a result. I feel like with current rasterization techniques they can get something that approximately looks almost as good but with way better image quality and performance. I feel like using ray tracing would be better used to come up with some better way to feed into TAA to improve the quality to fix occlusion artifacts and ghosting. Like casting rays to see where what pixel is behind what object.

    I will say the ray traced water looks way better than any screen space reflection shader i've seen but it still comes with artifacts from the TAA/T-Denoising.

    If it ran better, then it would look a lot better. At 4k it runs at about 20-25FPS. But a lot of the artifacts from the denoising and TAA become a lot less visible at 1080p.

    So if we had the power to run this at 4x+ of your native resolution at 60FPS I'd say that would be perfect. But that's only for a game as simplistic as this. For modern games it will never happen. At factors over 4x from native the difference between the reference render and real time becomes less apparent.

    Examples:
    Fine 1 frame under water. http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/q2rtx201906061825495.jpg
    De-noiser is confused next frame (this pops up several times a second) This is running at 150% resolution too http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/q2rtx201906061825505.jpg

    100% resolution http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/100percent.jpg
    150% resolution http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/150percent.jpg
    100% resolution reference render (hit pause break) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/100percentreference.jpg
    Exaggerated sharpening of motion http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/exaggeratedsharpen10.jpg notice the low frequency areas, inconsistency in the ground texturing. There is 1 area where the texturing looks as it should (to the left slightly) , the denoising is failing on the periphery of the image (incomplete resolve) and then typical TAA smudging around the pistol and ground texture around it and then the slightly more complete resolve on the lower right hand side http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/exaggeratedsharpen10.jpg

     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
  9. GuyFawkesGaming

    GuyFawkesGaming Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB
    Since I'm new to the enhance method and use to the override, I hope you don't mind me asking 2 questions about it. Does it still need a depth bit for reshade or are compatibility bits completely out of the question? And can you enhance a app's builtin low/limited MSAA setting to a high one (Halo 2 uses 4x max built in, can I enhance to 8x)?
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I actually haven't tried with Reshade and Enhancing so you'll have to find out. And that depends on whether a specific game's SSAA/MSAA breaks depth detection or not depending on the version of Reshade you use.

    Sometimes enhancing to a higher level works but I don't remember specific examples. More often than not you can enhance the TrSSAA/SGSSAA to a higher level of MSAA than supported by the game. With TrSSAA this works just fine. With SGSSAA results may not be satisfactory.

    I updated the spreadsheet to show that enhancing trssaa works with H2V
     

  11. GuyFawkesGaming

    GuyFawkesGaming Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB
    I did more testing, this time with TrSSAA off. The depth bit and AAfix some games need has no effect on H2V. Also It's 4x MSAA is indeed enhanceable to 8x, best seen on first person weapon models. I also did try enhancing the builtin 4x AA with 4x from the inspector (assuming Nvidia's would be more "optimized") and saw no visible difference. Lastly, I got HBAO sort of working using the flag from Halo CE on your other guide, I'll save the details for that thread though.

    EDIT: just tested a bit more just now, MSAA also enhances up to settings like 4x4, 8xSQ and 32xS (I think they're called "OGSSAA" but not sure because I never used them before) both with and without TrSSAA.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2019
  12. Exaercase

    Exaercase New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GT 740 - 2048
    Hello,

    I'm sorry if entry exist but i don't find any info on AA Flags for Assassin Creed Rogue.

    Someone Could Help me
    Thx in advance
    Best Regard, ExA
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I think it runs on DX11. So you are SOL.
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Small updates for F.E.A.R Trilogy. All have depth flag for ReShade compat.

    F.E.A.R 1 - 0x004010C1
    Flag works just fine with SGSSAA honestly.
    It just needs some minor sharpening when using Reshade and it will match the same level of sharpness as without AA almost, if you use a negative LOD bias some minor shimmering will be added but textures will use higher MIP levels than without AA.
    Added the depth flag here so it would work with ReShade. Which works with depth detection and everything and forcing AA. (At least with the older Reshade version I was using.)
    Performance Wise, it's just fine until you add ReShade. With an RTX 2080 at 1080p, forcing 4xSGSSAA and using Reshade for Gaussian Bloom,Ambient LIght, LumaSharpening and MartinFilmGrain increased usage in the range of 30-60%. On average it stayed in the 30-40% range.
    Same applies to the Expansions.

    Getting AO to work perfectly is too much of a hassle I didn't want to mess with more than I did. (Several hours of trial and error)

    Screenshots.
    No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEAR2018102516531110.png
    4xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEAR2018102516512338.png
    4xSGSSAA+Reshade http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEAR2018102516495683.png
    These are from when I did my initial testing using my 980

    Other screenshots from Extraction Point.
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEARXP20190607203657.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEARXP20190607211941.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEARXP20190609184340.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEARXP20190609202453.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEARXP20190609204104.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEARXP20190609205752.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEARXP20190609210449.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEARXP20190609210150.png
    This game (and the first expansion) hold up really well visually today. Character models aside.


    ______________________________
    F.E.A.R 2 Project Origin - 0x004010C1
    Years ago, there was confusion as to what would force what AA and how the game behaved if you enhanced the in-game FSAA. (Which i'm certain now is just MSAA as comparing it to forcing MSAA is identical) What is certain is that if you set SGSSAA in NPI, even if it's not set to Enhance or Override, if you use in game FSAA. It will enhance it to whatever is set.


    This flag will let you force SGSSAA without massive blur (Minor sharpening is still helpful) and the game performs so well (best of the 3 actually) when forcing AA that you can downsample on top quite high. Aside from curious issues later in the game with water and pools of water causing performance dips. A 2080 could easily hit 4xSGSSAA @60FPS at near 4k. Enhancing SGSSAA is even more performant and technically AA's things just as well. But it is very blurry. So you'd need a lot of sharpening/downsampling to recover that.

    SGSSAA is still the only way to clean up the specular aliasing issues. Though if you downsample + in game MSAA +SMAA/FXAA on top, the results are still very very good.
    On a 2080 I was able to get playable performance ( I think close to 60FPS a lot of the time) as high as 8k resolution with just FXAA. The game's UI/between level load screens can get kind of broken at resolutions above 4k however.

    This game also has some weird SSAO, but it's actually worth using despite minor issues. It ends up looking more like extra contact shadows than AO.

    No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/NoAAForceAF.png
    4xFSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/Ingame4xFSAA.png
    4xMSAA forced http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/414xMSAA.png
    4xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/10C14xSG.png
    8xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/10C18xSG.png
    8k+FXAA to 4k http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/GeDo8kfxaa.jpg

    ____________________________

    F.3.A.R - 0x084012C1 -Use AA fix for SGSSAA.

    Fear 3 still doesn't perform the best in DX9 mode. So using 8xSGSSAA or 4xSGSSAA at higher resolutions is not ideal. Performance is not stable despite GPU usage not hitting 100%.

    Playing in DX11 and using MSAA +DSR is probably the better choice. It peforms better and looks sharper since the game has this weird sort of blur on horizontal edges.
    Sadly still won't improve story sequences which are still 720p FMVs with some of the worst audio encoding i've heard this decade.

    Using Reshade to add some bloom and sharpening helps a lot though. Since the game doesn't seem really have proper bloom but does have HDR which looks kind of outdated for the time (F2 has proper HDR Bloom)it came out. Adding bloom really helps out the highlights and areas around them.

    No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/df5NoAA.png
    4xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/4xSGnofix.png
    4xSG+AA fix http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/4xSGAAfix.png
    AA fix also fixes some white outline artifacts.

    No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/580NoAA.png
    4xSG + AA fix + Reshade http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/4xSGreshade.png

    A few screens with 4xSG+Reshade (Where you can see, even with some sharpening. Still a very soft/filmic game.) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEAR3201906212345353.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/FEAR3201906212251100.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/21100201906252257311.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/21100201906232343391.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/21100201906242249341.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/21100201906242219481.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/21100201906242227541.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/21100201906242236161.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/21100201906242249331.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/21100201906242254251.png

    A good game, but worst of the 3 and feels like an alternate continuity.
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2019
    KainXVIII likes this.
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You can Enhance the MSAA in Heavy Rain with SGSSAA and it works very well. Cleans up specular aliasing in some areas (Depending on the scene. Some areas seem to render hard specular stuff weird)Performance impact is not that bad honestly considering. No Blurring issues.
    Only downside is it doesn't handle reflections and the way certain lights are rendered is skipped by the MSAA pass. But overall this is extremely surprising.

    Getting A/B screens is very hard given how the game controls and the camera is never still.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2019
    KainXVIII likes this.

  16. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    629
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    Any proper Anti-Aliasing possible in Carmageddon: Max Damage?

    Seems to be using FXAA, and Control Panel settings don't work.
     
  17. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    So I found RE5's entry in the excel sheet and wrote in the compatibility bits but how do I enable MSAA 4x in the .ini?
     
  18. Chavolatra

    Chavolatra New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX 770 2GB
    someone got MSAA in vice city if put d3d8to9 for work enb+reshade ?
     
  19. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    How do I set up SSGSS in Resident Evil 5 Gold edition?
    Going by the list in the first post
    Basically I want to utilize HDR along with MSAA. I found the config.ini and can edit HDR to on in it but I also see an option for MSAA but don't know what to change it to.
    I want to try at 4x MSAA.
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    This is game is DX11 according to PCGW. So you can't do anything other than downsample+ FXAA

    Why do you need this? Just enable 4xMSAA in the game itself. But again if you are using MSAA why are you checking the compatibility sheet when the game supports it, do you mean SGSSAA??
    You must mean "HDR=High" which uses higher precision for the HDR Lighting, not display HDR. DIfferent things.

    All you have to do it set "Enhance Application Setting" , set 4x MSAA and 4xSGSSAA.
    Then set "HDR=High" in the config file located "C:\Users\your user nameDocuments\CAPCOM\RESIDENT EVIL 5"
    Turn on 4xMSAA in game.

    Using MSAA in the Gold Edition causes a thin black outline around character models. And it's a lot less visible with higher resolutions. So the best possible quality is by using downsampling on top of this. But that's up to you and what hardware you have.
     
    Tizoc789 likes this.

Share This Page