1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. GuyFawkesGaming

    GuyFawkesGaming Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB
    You're right you can enhance, can't tell if I set sgssaa up correctly as I don't usually use enhance.
    Sorry pal, no MS or SSAA in DX11 game. I have read you can hack it into the game by adjusting MaxMultisamples= in the engine.ini file but also read they broke it in a later patch. Don't own Vietnam so don't really know.
     
  2. PoeticSanity

    PoeticSanity Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIAGTX 1080 8 GB
    Yeah, I did try that actually. The game shows a popup saying 'MSAA is not supported' then the game closes itself on launch until I change it back.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    66
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You just set it up as if you were forcing but instead of setting "override application setting" change it to "enhance application setting" and enable 4xMSAA in game.
     
  4. PoeticSanity

    PoeticSanity Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIAGTX 1080 8 GB
    Just tried it, still nothing. Do I need to add DX11 compatibility bits? I honestly don't know of any that might work.
     

  5. Anontsuki

    Anontsuki New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 MSI Gaming
    Hey, MrBonk, just made an account to reply to this. I see a lot of people always saying use 0% smoothing for the sharpest output, and honestly, after playing a bit of Dark Soul II Scholar of the First Sin, with 0% smoothing, it's just so sharp. Sure, geometry doesn't have much aliasing, but everything else still had shimmer and really ugly things, especially the tall grasses.

    Do you have a general recommendation for the smoothness level, specifically for 4x DSR 4k to 1080? (I also use ReShade for some things, but figure using the smoothing from DSR would probably be better than FXAA and I can't get SMAA depth to work =(.
     
  6. PoeticSanity

    PoeticSanity Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIAGTX 1080 8 GB
    I'm not Bonk, but I'd suggest around 10-20% smoothness. Less than 20 is probably more ideal with the higher resolutions, after some personal tweaking with it.
     
  7. Anontsuki

    Anontsuki New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 MSI Gaming

    Thanks, PoeticSanity. (Cool name)
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    66
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No in this case you would not. I haven't played H2Vista in years though. So my memory may be wrong.
    Are you trying to just use Transparency Supersampling or the SGSSAA option? Try with both.


    Less than 20% smoothness is when the filter starts to break but not super noticeably (especially with higher ratios. If you use greater than a 4x ratio then higher values are necessary).

    0% breaks the filter function.But they allow you to use it that way if you want.
    I would still use FXAA if you are downsampling beyond 2x as there an almost invisible hit to image sharpness once resolve occurs. And if FXAA is really aggressive in a specific game you can easily recover most of that through sharpening.

    ReShade offers a ton of different ways to sharpen the image. If that's important to you but don't want to use 0% smoothness. Use between 10-20% (Ideally closer to 20) but then use ReShade to add sharpening to the image. (Which will benefit from the downsampling and limit adding artifacts back into the image)



    Smoothness value isn't actually actually doing AA specifically. It just adjusts the Gassuian function used for the resolve filter when downsampling occurs. Compared to the fixed box or linear function that was used previously before DSR with custom resolutions. Which was poor quality and added aliasing into the image.
    I'll make a comparison in a bit.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2019
  9. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Hi there, just checking but for Mirror's Edge, the AA bits are
    0x000100C5

    Should I make sure the ingame AA option is at 4 if I am setting it to SSGSS x4 in Inspector too?
    If so should I enhance or override? I am playing the GOG version and I notice a little Aliasing in some parts.
     
  10. Martigen

    Martigen Master Guru

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    82
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti SLI
    I've always used 0% for exactly 4x DSR. Anything less, and the filter has a purpose in smoothing out the less-than-ideal approximation that occurs when trying to downsample to an image size that isn't easily divisible. But if you can do 4x, I don't know why you'd ever set Smoothness above 0%.

    However, I've not done (or seen) an image comparison (of say 0% vs 20%) so happy to be convinced otherwise.
     

  11. PoeticSanity

    PoeticSanity Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIAGTX 1080 8 GB
    Not sure what H2Vista is, but I've tried both settings in the game, from x2 to x8 and still no change at all.
     
  12. Anontsuki

    Anontsuki New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 MSI Gaming
    This will probably require some work, so I appreciate you doing this.

    I like to use Lumasharpen customized to be really faint so it appears natural, is that an okay sharpener to use?
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    66
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Halo 2? It was a port that required vista so I have always called it H2Vista. And NOW I realize I was replying to the guy talking about AA for Halo 2 and not you. Sorry!

    For your example since it is DX11, you can't force AA. So you are left with very few options. Post Process AA like FXAA/SMAA or that+Downsampling. But as you said downsampling is too taxing for your scenario. So you don't have really any options sorry. I don't know what ratio you have tried but if you tried 4x and it's too draining on performance. Try 2x/2.25x.


    Definitely. I prefer to use LumaSharpen most often myself and I use it often.
    Especially with a lot of modern games that use extremely aggressive TAA. As even with downsampling it can still be too aggressive. (In some examples like in certain UE4 builds the TAA goes from being sharp when there is little to no movement but as soon as movement does occur. It turns into smudge city. Leading to this weird constant shift from blurry to sharp. Another example of this is the TAA in Hitman 2)

    (Even with in game sharpening. Like with Resident Evil 2 Remake. Their built in sharpening barely brings the image back to passable looking. And without it it's a smudgy mess. But it recovers enough detail that you shouldn't disable it if you want to sharpen the image manually. I experimented with sharpening RE2 with the built in one disabled and the results were never adequate enough. Especially with adaptive sharpen. As it still was a smudgy mess afterwards. So you essentially have 2 pass sharpening in this case. But with moderation you will never know the difference otherwise.)

    You are wasting your performance if you use 0% in my opinion. It just leads to adding aliasing back into the image. Which somewhat defeats the point of AA in the first place.
    Nvidia just gives you the ability to tweak the resolve function width to your taste. 0% reintroduces aliasing into the image because the filter isn't wide enough to properly resolve the information. Which is great if you are going for pixel art upscaling/downscaling. But not Anti Aliasing.

    In order to get the output from the input, the resolve filter has to determine how much to average between samples. If it's too wide, then too much information can be lost and the output is softer. (http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/140) If it's too narrow then it can't get enough information to filter between points. Resulting in aliasing. http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/141 And the filter function you use for this can greatly impact the output.

    Here's an example of what happens (In an extreme example) when the function isn't sufficiently sampling enough around points to properly resolve the image. The lower it is the more aliasing is introduced into the image. (In this example, the function starts to break below 30%)
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/138
    Another example of what 0% will do with an easy to see comparison using text. With 4 samples per pixel the text should be completely smooth. 0% cannot resolve this properly http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/139
    Here's a 3D example that should be aliasing free. 4xDSR (4xSSAA) + 8xMSAA with a Gaussian resolve + Temporal AA with 0% DSR vs 25% DSR http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/142 0% cannot resolve edges of these polygons correctly. Here's the source image https://abload.de/img/msaafilter_2019_05_16gbkyo.png and as you can see that when viewed 1:1 it is essentially aliasing free along the same area.
    There's a reason why the default value of 33% was chosen. This is the value that gets the closest middle ground of properly resolving these high contrast edges vs image sharpness. I prefer 25% and even 25% still leaves visible stepping compared to 33%

    You can use 0% if you want because it doesn't look totally awful. (It still looks better than no AA but you are spending all that performance to take 4 steps forward and 2 steps back)
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2019
    Anontsuki likes this.
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    66
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    4xSGSSAA will get a lot of the aliasing in ME. But it won't get all of it, so you will still see some. (You can also change that last 5 to a 1 and see if that makes some of the aliasing better. Sometimes this 5 results in a sharper image, but with more aliasing left unresolved)
    You shouldn't set in the in game MSAA if you are forcing it.
    Set it to Override and then 4xM/4xSG.
    You can Enhance it if you want but the results will tend to vary significantly from forcing it. Often worse.
     
    Tizoc789 likes this.
  15. Anontsuki

    Anontsuki New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 MSI Gaming
    Thanks for the writeup, MrBonk! =)
     

  16. GuyFawkesGaming

    GuyFawkesGaming Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB
    For Halo2Vista I can confirm an improvement to enhanced SGSSAA (enhance + 4x MSAA + 4x SGSSAA) over builtin AA, though I haven't tested it compared to plain forced 8x MSAA.
    @PoeticSanity you are in luck as Rising Storm 2 was on sale so I bought it. DSR does in fact improve aliasing, though only in fullscreen mode, not boarderless. I have a similar issue with BioShock Remastered when I tried to force boarderless plus the issue I requested help with a while back with Red Orchestra 2 and Chivalry: Medieval Warfare when using SGSSAA and boarderless. I'm just gonna say it's safe to assume Unreal Engine doesn't like AA + boarderless.
    Also I bought the original Red Orchestra: Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45. Killing Floor 1's 0x000000C1 flag works well on it. didn't test out all the rendering modes but considering that it was made by the same devs as Killing Floor, it likely uses the same version/build of the Unreal Engine.
     
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    66
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    That sounds about right.
     
  18. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Alright thanks, I'll test that out now.

    EDIT: OK I seem to have gotten it resolved.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2019
  19. ahmlet

    ahmlet Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 ti g1gaming
    How to add AA to Doom 3? totally forgot the settings and cant find them
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    66
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    If using the original Doom 3. You don't need any flags or anything. Just set to Override and set MSAA and "Transparency Super Sampling" for SGSSAA.
    Do note though that there is a bug with the drivers introduced a while back that causes some visual glitches with textures in OGL games and SGSSAA.
    However in Doom 3 they only manifest on certain specific surfaces with alpha tested textures or visual displays at very specific viewing angles.
    I had to look for it purposefully to notice something not looking right when I played Doom 3 a few months ago. It's not very noticeable.

    Also: If you plan on using mods, be very careful about what post processing effects you use as it will be affected by forcing SGSSAA and can lead to a very blurry image if you aren't careful.
    If you use a mod that has Sikkpin's DoF shader, 8xSGSSAA breaks the DoF and causes aliasing as well. 4x is unaffected and the image is stable.
    Downsampling can help a lot too.
     

Share This Page