NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    I don't see any way (maybe there were in the old version), MSAA forcing through nvidia panel does not work either.
    Thanks, i will try these bits.
     
  2. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Alas, not working for me, at least DSR is still there..
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I'll buy it and test it real quick and then refund.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah so it works fine. You just have to add the executable to a new profile or to the existing Dungeon Lords profile. As it has a different .exe name than the original game.
    Speaking of that, I don't know but this game seems horribly optimized. Bad frame pacing, and huge GPU usage for such an old game on a modern GPU.
    Also, guess they never heard of MipMaps either heh.


    Dungeon Lords: Steam Edition

    0x00000041 - MSAA,TrSSAA
    0x000000C1 - SGSSAA, OGSSAA,HSAA(+- TrSSAA/SGSSAA)

    You may need Reshade or SweetFX for a border shader.


    No AA https://abload.de/img/noaavqjtm.png
    8xMSAA+TrSSAA https://abload.de/img/418xtrssaav9kvt.png
    8xSGSSAA https://abload.de/img/c18xsgrlkiz.png
    16xS+4xTrSSAA https://abload.de/img/16xsg4trf4jgk.png
    16xS+4xSGSSAA https://abload.de/img/16xs4sgxrkqy.png
     
    KainXVIII likes this.

  5. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Ha-ha, yes, at least near starting bonfire.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2019
  6. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Seems like Reshade disables SGSSAA (but i don't see any borders, so its does not matter that much)
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You need to add the depth bit. 0x004, then reshade should work. You can also try older SweetFX builds too. But if you don't see it that's fine as well.
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  8. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    I've lately been installing whatever game I can use NVidia inspector on and see what I can get.
    Anyone figure any bits for Dungeon Siege 3? I tried enhance but to no avail, so I assume certain comp. bits would help in forcing nvidia inspector stuff.
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Dungeon Siege 3 doesn't work. The in game AA doesn't even function at all IIRC.

    You have to downsample+FXAA or SMAA. Either use GeDoSaTo to get easy high ratios. Or use DSR tool to create a custom DSR resolution greater than 2x2
    This game looks really good though when you do that.
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  10. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Thanks for the info, I'll keep that in mind once I can get DSR ;3
     
    KainXVIII likes this.

  11. sergcrack

    sergcrack New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Hello, anyone know a sgssaa bits for Renegade Ops
     
  12. Dreadmoth

    Dreadmoth Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 1070Ti Titanium
    Renegade Ops is DirectX 10, not sure if bits would do anything.

    TrSSAA and SGSSAA seem to work anyway:

    4x MSAA (in-game setting)
    4x MSAA + 4x TrSSAA
    4x SGSSAA

    I couldn't see any improvement trying to enhance or override to 8x.

    (unskippable logo videos and "do not turn off your PC" screens... annoying)
     
  13. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    The AA bits mentioned for Trine 1
    0x000010C1

    I tried applying them but the game still has some aliasing going on. I disabled bloom and fxaa (post processing AA in options file), but overriding nor enhancing Trine 1 seems to do the trick. Is there an alt. AA bit to test out with if anyone knows?
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Checking myself. It wouldn't have been known at the time. But enabling the AA fix improves quality and fixes some black line artifacts. But also I think the Enchanted edition wasn't out yet either. Which had problems with it's bloom from what I can tell from my pictures. The EE looks a ton better and doesn't seem to have issues with the bloom.

    AA is still pretty costly though.

    4xSGSSAA cost is roughly on par with the in game 4xSSAA option in cost. (Same as 2x2 DSR).
    In game SSAA doesn't scale bloom resolution. DSR does. In game SSAA also seems to have a negative lod bias effect or something similar. Sharper but more aliasing.

    8xSGSSAA @ 1080p can easily hit 50-60% GPU.
    https://abload.de/img/trine1_32bit_2019_08_ftjtj.png
    https://abload.de/img/trine1_32bit_2019_08_ipjz7.png
    Looks gorgeous though.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2019
    KainXVIII likes this.
  15. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Ah thanks, I'll try it with AA fix and see if it'll improve.
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Post some screens if you need to. You may need to take a hybrid approach.
    I can only access the first area of the game. So there may be things I don't see.
     
  17. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
  18. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Heh I was concerned that the NVidia Inspector settings I made weren't working for Dishonored, but it seems that the main menu is a video file playback. In game the textures are affected as expected, I also applied AF x16 via editting a .ini file
    Here are some screens I took
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Also for anyone planning a replay, keep in mind that the game despawns bodies be they unconcious or otherwise. This can be annoying if you are going for a no kill run as despawned bodies count as kills. Someone provided this simple guide to resolve this issue
    https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=174895104
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Might need to see your inspector settings.

    This is what 4xSGSSAA looks like for me.
    https://abload.de/img/trine1_32bit_2019_08_ulk9w.png

    There is still some minor issues on a few elements. But nothing super egregious. Sometimes SGSSAA doesn't get absolutely everything.
    It could be since you have bloom disabled that the quality of the final output changes. It's sharper, but more aliasing remains. Shaders like Bloom often interact with SGSSAA and improve Image Quality as the expense of ermagerd sharpness.

    Those Dishonored screens look nice, definitely one of the more visually unique UE3 games. And yeah the videos, games running on UE3 were by far the worst last gen when it came to stuff that should've been real-time done as shitty videos.
     
  20. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Here're the NVidia Inspector settings that I have applied
    [​IMG]

    Should I be changing anything in the Compatibility section?

    Also I tried out OG Deus Ex Human Revolution but I still get aliasing :X I disabled DX11 ingame, and these are the settings I applied. Should I change anything else on here?

    [​IMG]

    I'll be using Reshade to get rid of the yellow filter in the original game btw.
     

Share This Page