1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    In older Unity engine games you will need to use the "-force-d3d9" launch option to force DX9 mode (without quotes).
    No idea about this particular title though.
     
  2. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,798
    Likes Received:
    109
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    Isn't there some kind of blurry AA fix? In NVPI I think. Have you tried that?

    I'm not an expert here at all, I just remember MrBonk recommending it a while back.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    2xSGSSAA is always going to look pretty bad in modern titles. You also shouldn't mismatch samples unless you absolutely have to.

    Try 0x00000041 for just MSAA by itself.

    Also: the force d3d9 command line argument did not work in that Unity game. I tried. It runs on Dx11. So it doesn't work. Game doesn't seem to have any built in AA either. So you are out of luck.



    Resident Evil 2 is a perfect example of high frequency overload. It's just that bad, or they also have an extreme sharpening filter turned on, but only when TAA isn't used. Very strange.
    Turn off Lens Distortion as that makes it the image a bit more soft.
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127626
    There's also a truck load of dithering everywhere. Making TAA +downsampling pretty much mandatory.


    Screen Space Reflections are just as terrible as in RE7. They work great on puddles of water (despite ugly filtering and break up) but everywhere else is a broken, smudgy and blobby mess.
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127625
    Notice the specular highlight on the stone wall to the right. When SSR is on it turns into a smeared blob.

    Simple LumaSharp can bring back a bit of surface detail. Though don't go overboard.
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127627
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
  4. Martigen

    Martigen Master Guru

    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti SLI
    I actually have the game (but not played it yet) and loaded it up. HQ4X wouldn't be good for this. I couldn't help creating a quick Reshade profile however:

    http://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/10071/

    Go there and use the settings with the latest Reshade from http://reshade.me.

    The profile above uses high-quality FXAA to remove jaggies and adds a selection of other shaders, including adding AO to the game which really gives the play area depth :) Also added some DOF for the same.

    Check the link above, and click on the screenshot comparison twice (to get full screen) and slide the mouse to see the differences.

    EDIT: Don't forget you can press Alt-F2 to bring up Reshade and add/edit to the shaders.
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Resident Evil 2

    Image quality comparison.

    Turns out the game does indeed use sharpening at all times.

    I would recommend using a light sharpening pass on top of the in game sharpening with TAA+FXAA with Reshade for the least performance heavy option to improve IQ to bring high frequency levels similar to without AA (And sharpening disabled) without going overboard.


    If you have the option and extra headroom I would also recommend you also use downsampling on top. DSR/VSR have a much better resolve filter than the in game resolution scaling (probably a basic linear resolve). But the in game resolution scale is a lot sharper than DSR by default. And with sharpening on top it will look just that much sharper.

    I can't stress enough how much downsampling on top makes a difference in this engine with the TAA, much like RE7. If your GPU can handle it 150% resolution scale in game or 2.25x DSR (Which is equivalent to 150% in game as 2.25x is 1.5 of each axis. Resulting in an actual 225% difference in resolution) is a good middle ground for performance and image quality (whether you want 60FPS or only have a card capable of a stable 30 at this resolution)

    (In some examples below I use Reshade FXAA with tuned settings over the TAA+FXAA option in game as that FXAA doesn't do as good of a job cleaning up the edge quality for what the TAA misses. I would only use this if you are downsampling using DSR or VSR and not the in game resolution scale.
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127961)

    We want the No AA image without the built in sharpening as our baseline of how the game should look. (As it should be disabled without TAA enabled. But it isn't)

    No AA (No sharpening in game) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/NoAASharpeningdisabl.jpg
    No AA (Sharpening enabled) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/NoAAwithsharpening.png
    TAA without sharpening in game http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/TAAwithoutsharpening.jpg
    TAA with sharpening in game http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/TAAwithsharpeninging.jpg
    TAA with sharpening in game + lumasharp http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/ccbTAAwithsharpeninging.jpg
    150% res scale + in game sharpening +TAA-FXAA (No external sharp) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/678150resscaleingamesha.jpg
    150% res scale + in game sharpening +TAA-FXAA +Lumasharp at 1080p output http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/150resscaleingamesha.jpg
    2.25x DSR TAA sharpen in game + Reshade FXAA +Luma Sharpen at 1620p http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/225xDSRTAAsharpening.jpg
    2.25x DSR TAA sharpen in game + Reshade FXAA+High Pass sharp at 1620p http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/d69225xDSRTAAsharpening.jpg


    And a couple interactive comparisons
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127959
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127960
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127956
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127957
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127958

    As you can see, the in game sharpening is highly aggressive in order to compensate for the equally aggressive TAA. But when it's still enabled without AA enabled, it causes a false impression that the final TAA option in the game is much blurrier than it is actually intended to be .
    As the sharpening+No AA causes a hugely disproportionate impression of how the game actually looks without AA.
    ______________________________________
    In regards to interlacing


    I've tried the interlaced rendering mode all the way up to about 2376p and honestly it just doesn't look that good. The TAA can't really effectively cleanup what looks to be maybe half vertical resolution or something there abouts (it's not real field rendering). This leads to increased moire and specular and vertical shimmering. 2.25xSSAA+TAA/FXAA/Sharpening looks better in motion than 4.84xSSAA+TAA/FXAA+Interlaced rendering while taking up similar levels of GPU power on a 2080.

    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/128057 (225% Normal vs 494% Interlaced)
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/128056 (Native comparison TAA normal vs interlaced)
    Interlaced with horizontal movement (notice looks overall ok but vertical edges are twice as big. https://abload.de/img/2376pinterlacedhorizozejkr.jpg https://abload.de/img/2376pinterlacedvertic5nkc4.jpg
    Interlaced with vertical movement (notice the majority of the edges are doubled)
    Without AA enabled and downsampling it looks almost as bad as no AA.

    However, if you have a lower end GPU using downsampling as high as possible plus TAA+Interlaced will produce a better looking image that is much sharper than native res+TAA still.
    ___________________________________________
    Use this as a springboard for your own ideas.

    Don't bother trying to force AA from your GPU control panel, as with Nvidia GPUs this is impossible under DX11. Anything you see is a placebo. The functionality doesn't exist. MSAA will not work, MFAA will not work (requires MSAA in game). FXAA will, but that's redundant.

    If you hate the TAA that much and want to use just SMAA or FXAA. Disable the in game sharpening first via this from the WSGF http://www.wsgf.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=174169#p174169 It will look much nicer. Though be wary that this game has an insane amount of aliasing from every possible source in the engine and basic Post Process Edge AA will not do much in motion. Even with downsampling on top , significant temporal aliasing issues persist greatly.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
    fragba1t and Susahamat like this.
  6. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    [​IMG]

    any recommended reshade fxaa value for RE2 ? @mr.bonk
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Close to defaults actually.

    Subpix=0.500000
    EdgeThreshold=0.120000
    EdgeThresholdMin=0.030000

    I don't know if it's the sharpening used in game or what. But the in game FXAA over the TAA actually causes a similar effect to when developers started using MSAA+FXAA in some engines where it would cause a sort of "reverse AA" and break edge gradients depending on the surface. (Very visible in the above comparison on the surface of the statue). Applying it manually using Reshade instead produces a smoother result. It does take a little bit more performance though it should be negligible in most cases.
     
    Susahamat likes this.
  8. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti
    Have you played with the interlaced rendering mode in Resident Evil 2?
     
  9. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti
    Does the custom dsr tool not work anymore? It never opens when I initialize it.
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I've tried the interlaced rendering mode all the way up to about 2376p and honestly it just doesn't look that good. The TAA can't really effectively cleanup what looks to be maybe half vertical resolution or something there abouts (it's not real field rendering). This leads to increased moire and specular and vertical shimmering. 2.25xSSAA+TAA/FXAA/Sharpening looks better in motion than 4.84xSSAA+TAA/FXAA+Interlaced rendering while taking up similar levels of GPU power on a 2080.

    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/128057 (225% Normal vs 494% Interlaced)
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/128056 (Native comparison TAA normal vs interlaced)
    Interlaced with horizontal movement (notice looks overall ok but vertical edges are twice as big.
    Interlaced with vertical movement (notice the majority of the edges are doubled)
    Without AA enabled and downsampling it looks almost as bad as no AA.

    However, if you have a lower end GPU using downsampling as high as possible plus TAA+Interlaced will produce a better looking image that is much sharper than native res+TAA still.


    DSR Tool doesn't work anymore. You have to manual edit the registry for custom DSR. The easiest way I can tell you is enable however many slots in NVCP for as many DSR resolutions you want. Enable DSR, open the registry to
    I don't know if this location is different in W10. And then edit the values for each you want to change in the smooth scaling section from lowest ratio to highest ratio in the existing populated slots.
     

  11. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    yep dsrtool doesn't worked because windows10 october update i believe and the registry moved to [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\nvlddmkm\state\DisplayDatabase then manualy enable custom DSR with this tutorial
    How to: Custom Aspect Ratios and Resolutions via DSR (Nvidia only)
     
  12. ScoobidiBeepBaBaDaBaBo

    ScoobidiBeepBaBaDaBaBo New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 XC
    Does anyone know what AA bits work for killer7?
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Pretty sure it's dx11 only. So nothing will work.
     
  14. Khronikos

    Khronikos Master Guru

    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    EVGA SC2 1080ti
    Yo if anybody gets any time Raiden V looks like absolutely dog crap, and even the old AA codes for III don't work. IV had its own AA, but it would be awesome if somebody could find an AA code for V that works. Not even SMAA or FXAA works on the game sadly. It's a low budget mess.
     
  15. ThEcLiT

    ThEcLiT Master Guru

    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 460 1gb OC
    Any working AA flags for My Time At Portia please? It is Unity Engine and i found at google that it is 0x004000C1 for unity engine, but it is not working for this game. Thanks.

    Edit: i just learned it needs to be DX9 to work :( so game is DX11. Sorry
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah if it's the same engine running OGL as Raiden IV you are SOL.
     
  17. Khronikos

    Khronikos Master Guru

    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    EVGA SC2 1080ti
    Yeah, well that just sucks. R4 actually has built in aliasing it seems as the look is cleaner. R5 is a disaster for image quality.
     
  18. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Hi there, first time poster, and I wanted to start by thanking MrBonk for his post on getting NVidia inspector settings to work on Ninja Blade, made the game much nicer to look at :)

    Secondly, I wanted to ask regarding Onimusha HD, are there and compatibility bits that I need so that NVidia Inspector will recognize the game and apply SSGSS Anti Aliasing to it?
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    That depends on whether it uses DX9 like REmake HD or not.
    Otherwise no. (Even though by all means it's a damn PS2 game with no fancy deferred lighting it should support MSAA like early MT framework games.)
     
    KainXVIII and Tizoc789 like this.
  20. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Then I can try forcing DX9 via Steam Launch settings and trying it out.
    Alt. I can try using Resident Evil HD's AA compatibility bits, so I'll test and see what I get.

    If it's not too much to ask: I've tried getting SSGSS to work on Sherlock Holmes Crime and Punishment but to no avail. While Nvidia Inspector does have the game listed, I still notice aliasing in some sections (early in the game, the drapes or curtains in the room are clear indicators of this). I can set and force the game to run on dx9 but I'm curious if there are any lines I need to edit as well.
     

Share This Page