1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  2. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Anything for Pathologic Classic HD (dx9)? Since game does not support 4k DSR and only have FXAA..
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah sure.
    0x00400043
    MSAA,TrSSAA

    0x004000C5
    SGSSAA
    Conflicts with Post Processing cause blurring. Bloom and DoF but mostly bloom. Disabling both brings back a ton of performance overhead and removes all blurring issues.
    C5 skips processing hud. Doesn't affect blurring.

    0x004000C1
    OGSSAA
    No blurring issues due to PP here. PP however does cause large performance issues with super high values. (4x4 at 1080p for me with all PP enabled minuse FXAA, was about 30FPS ish range. Turning everything off brought it up to 100-120FPS. Enabling FXAA for shits and giggles caused a 20-30FPS Drop just by itself.)
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
    KainXVIII likes this.
  4. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,699
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX 2060 S
    SWTOR bits don't work anymore, it totally messes with the meshes and textures of the game.
    I had missing floors and textures saying something with MISSING in huge letters.

    Also a weird colored fat line around the edges of the screen.

    Bit disappointed, i don't like using DSR with these games as it blurs the hotbars even when you scale them bigger.
     

  5. GuyFawkesGaming

    GuyFawkesGaming Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 4GB
    Sorry for taking so long to reply. Basically GeDoSaTo is the only tool I've ever been able to successfully use on UE3 games (RO2 included) to force a borderless window. Kind of given up at this point.
    I do have good news though; I was looking for a aa bit for Fallout NV and found 0x0000F0C1 in this guide. Some of the values overlap the ones in your list but others, like Half Life 2 and Homefront, have completely different values. Can only vouch for the Fallout NV one as working as it's the only on I've tested.
     
  6. cryohellinc

    cryohellinc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    1,714
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT/GTX 1060
    Slightly off-topic question, however, I have one game app which just refuses to remove my mouse when it's in fullscreen mode off the screen. Is there any flag responsible for this? Or perhaps some tool which can toggle mouse visibility on/off with a hotkey?
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    That thread is outdated. The F isn't really necessary.
    https://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=10157672&postcount=5669 Is the most recent reference I would use.
    https://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=10157672&postcount=5669
    I've used this in the past without issues.
    It's possible a game update broke it. I have no way of testing this unfortunately.
    If the game still supports MSAA you can enhance it instead. May not look as good as forcing but better than nothing. (Use a little negative LOD bias or sharpen the game on top)
     
  8. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2018
  9. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti
    In Dragon Age 2 (DX9), forcing AA causes parts of the options menu to become invisible with no bits, 0x084012C1, and C5. Is there specific bits I could use to mitigate this?
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    An update to this. I wonder if it might be OS specific. I updated my drivers and nothing seemed amiss on my 980.
    Using an RTX 2080 produces the same results on W7
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127158
    Compared to MSAA
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/127159
     

  11. ancalimon

    ancalimon New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX1070
    Does anyone know the sgssaa flag for Stories Untold? The game was made with Unity engine but 0x004000C1 does not work here.
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    If it's not DX9 it won't work.
     
  13. ancalimon

    ancalimon New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX1070
    I know. It is dx9.
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    The game isn't DX9 though it runs in DX11. I just purchased and verified myself.
     
  15. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    Request : Catherine Classic
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Try 0x000000C1
     
    Susahamat likes this.
  18. Martigen

    Martigen Master Guru

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    84
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti SLI
    What engine is it made with? Might be able to force DX9 through a launch flag. It's definitely doesn't need DX11 :)

    Apart from that Ancalimon, have you tried using Reshade with its AA methods and/or combining with shaders like HQ4X (which are designed to smooth pixel games)?
     
  19. ancalimon

    ancalimon New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX1070
    The game uses Unity.

    I havent tried anything else.
     
  20. S3r1ous

    S3r1ous Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Palit 1070Ti JS
    this worked for me but anti aliasing was way too blurry for Catherine
    forcing 8xQ Multisampling, 2x Sparse Grid was acceptable at 1920x1200 (around 1080p) resolution
    very resource intensive but noticeable, ReShade is either is too subtle/isnt working/etc for me
    but i got it still running for other effects
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019

Share This Page