NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    yep dsrtool doesn't worked because windows10 october update i believe and the registry moved to [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\nvlddmkm\state\DisplayDatabase then manualy enable custom DSR with this tutorial
    How to: Custom Aspect Ratios and Resolutions via DSR (Nvidia only)
     
  2. ScoobidiBeepBaBaDaBaBo

    ScoobidiBeepBaBaDaBaBo New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 XC
    Does anyone know what AA bits work for killer7?
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Pretty sure it's dx11 only. So nothing will work.
     
  4. ThEcLiT

    ThEcLiT Master Guru

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 460 1gb OC
    Any working AA flags for My Time At Portia please? It is Unity Engine and i found at google that it is 0x004000C1 for unity engine, but it is not working for this game. Thanks.

    Edit: i just learned it needs to be DX9 to work :( so game is DX11. Sorry
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah if it's the same engine running OGL as Raiden IV you are SOL.
     
  6. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Hi there, first time poster, and I wanted to start by thanking MrBonk for his post on getting NVidia inspector settings to work on Ninja Blade, made the game much nicer to look at :)

    Secondly, I wanted to ask regarding Onimusha HD, are there and compatibility bits that I need so that NVidia Inspector will recognize the game and apply SSGSS Anti Aliasing to it?
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    That depends on whether it uses DX9 like REmake HD or not.
    Otherwise no. (Even though by all means it's a damn PS2 game with no fancy deferred lighting it should support MSAA like early MT framework games.)
     
    KainXVIII and Tizoc789 like this.
  8. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Then I can try forcing DX9 via Steam Launch settings and trying it out.
    Alt. I can try using Resident Evil HD's AA compatibility bits, so I'll test and see what I get.

    If it's not too much to ask: I've tried getting SSGSS to work on Sherlock Holmes Crime and Punishment but to no avail. While Nvidia Inspector does have the game listed, I still notice aliasing in some sections (early in the game, the drapes or curtains in the room are clear indicators of this). I can set and force the game to run on dx9 but I'm curious if there are any lines I need to edit as well.
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Have any screenshots?
     
  10. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Perhaps SLI is interfering . Obviously AA isn't working in those shots, it looks like FXAA is being used. (Does the game have that option?) can you confirm it is DX9?
    If it is, try using the flag 0x004010C1 in the AA flag field.

    According to https://pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/Sherlock_Holmes:_Crimes_&_Punishments the game uses DX11 so your only option is to downsample if there is a way to get the game running at high resolutions.
     
  12. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    OK I'll try that. The ingame options don't mention FXAA, just an option to increase or decrease anti aliasing (Low to High).

    One of the developers posted on the game's forum that the game can be forced to dx9, and this post mentions that the game can be set to use DX9
    https://steamcommunity.com/app/241260/discussions/0/613937942910496613/

    EDIT: OK so I tried those AA flags but I'm still seeing the aliasing like in the screenshots :p This got me to wondering if I could instead try to Enhance instead of Override.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
  13. Guzz

    Guzz Member Guru

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    0x080010C1

    To disable in-game postAA:
    FF D0 3B C7 7C 03 >>> FF D0 31 C0 7C 03

    NoAA:
    [​IMG]

    in-game postAA:
    [​IMG]

    SGSSAA:
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Tizoc789

    Tizoc789 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 970M
    Gonna get a hex editor and test it out thanks mate. *saves instructions for sake of future generations who wish to experience HD Creepy Watson*
     
  15. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,910
    Likes Received:
    152
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 Ti GX Trio
    @Guzz I can hardly believe all of that effort must be made just to get proper AA, but the difference it makes is astounding! The curtains go from the original looking discombobulated fuzz, to a beautiful looking window decoration. The rest of the scene greatly benefits as well. Thank you for your time and effort. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2019

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Revisited BeetlePSXHW Anti Aliasing in Retroarch on a whim today while playing a game.
    Even using RA's FXAA shader makes a big difference
    https://diff.pics/75LwMn5n3Cs3/1
     
  17. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Never mind.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2019
  18. Horrux

    Horrux New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970 x 2
    Did someone ever figure out if Kenshi (Ogre3D engine) can use something better than FXAA?
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,271
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Does it run on DX9???
     
  20. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,410
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    Anyone know a working flag for Borderlands 2?

    The one in the list no longer works.

    Well it works... but i get red cel-shading.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2019

Share This Page