NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. arcturian

    arcturian New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16
  2. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Because its now on Unity and DX11, so no luck.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Is anyone willing to test trying to modify the registry to change the DSR resolutions for me to see if it still works in latest drivers?

    I am unable to get this to work in 388.59. It seems recently a different registry entry was added called "SmoothScalingMultiplierData". which is where the multiples are stored now. After I tried editing them and resetting the driver, it automatically disables DSR now and/or reverts the changes.

    If you are unfamiliar with the process see this post
    https://forums.geforce.com/default/...768-monitor-on-windows-/post/4899134/#4899134

    Basically converting the multiple to hex and byte swapping it to get the desired value. (IE: 1.2x resolution becomes 12000, then 2E E0 in hex, then byte swapped E0 2E)
     
  4. Guzz

    Guzz Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    You still can use "SmoothScalingData" in old format - https://forums.geforce.com/default/...nvidia-dsr-more-then-4x/post/5241430/#5241430
    "SmoothScalingMultiplierData" has a third value and if it is not correct, then DSR resolution will not work.
    The problem is that it's unclear how to calculate this value.
     
    Susahamat likes this.

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ok, I will give that a shot tonight a bit later and see what happens. I wonder if that third value is the filter width?(smoothness) Wonder what else it could be
     
  6. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    Cheers, the DSR tool works for me now.
    Smooth Scaling (25%)
    DSR x4 (3840x2160)
    DSR x16 (7680x4320)
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2018
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    DSR tool just gives me an unhandled exception error even when changing the format. But just changing the values above ^^ , importing then restarting the driver seems to work.

    I prefer to edit it manually anyway since DSR Tool doesn't seem to let you enter the value you want manually in increments of 1. (I prefer using flat multiples like 1.2x1.2, 1.6x1.6,etc. As this maintains the exact aspect ratio with no rounding, some games like ones from Capcom do not like non perfect 16:9 resolutions)

    I guess I can use that as a template. It seems after teh first mulitplier that the next one starts 3 bytes later?

    I dunno, I tried adding a 3rd multiplier 3 bytes after the 2nd and it didn't seem to work.

    My monitor also seems to generate a 2nd registry entry as well (for audio?) I wonder if that could be causing issues.

    The DB,01 value seems to be present in the key "Scaling config" as well.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
  8. Guzz

    Guzz Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    DSR tool may doesn't work if you have inactive entries, remove all entries from HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\nvlddmkm\DisplayDatabase, then reboot and try to run DSR tool again after changing "SmoothScalingData" to old format.

    I don't know what is this value, but I found how to calculate it.
    This value calculated from first two values. F4 is a constant for third value and you should add calculated value to it.

    Example for 4.00x DSR:
    4E20 AND F0F0F0F0 = 40 20
    40
    + 20 = 60

    4E20
    AND F0F0F0F0 = 40 20
    40
    + 20 = 60

    _____________
    60 + 60 = C0
    ______________

    4E20
    AND 0F0F0F0F = 0E 00
    0E
    + 00 = 0E

    4E20 AND 0F0F0F0F = 0E 00
    0E
    + 00 = 0E

    ______________
    0E
    + 0E = 1C
    ______________

    F4
    + C0 + 1C = 01 D0

    Example for 9.00x DSR:

    7530
    AND F0F0F0F0 = 70 30
    70
    + 30 = A0

    7530 AND F0F0F0F0 = 70 30
    70
    + 30 = A0
    _______________
    A0 + A0 = 140
    _______________

    7530 AND 0F0F0F0F = 05 00
    05
    + 00 = 05

    7530 AND 0F0F0F0F = 05 00
    05
    + 00 = 05
    _______________
    05
    + 05 = 0A
    _______________

    F4
    + 140 + 0A = 02 3E
     
    Susahamat likes this.
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ah deleting some entries ddid the trick. But i'm curious how did you figure that formula out there? And where is F0F0F0F0 coming from?
     
  10. Exaercase

    Exaercase New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GT 740 - 2048
    Hello,

    An entry to put in HBAO+ & AA Excel File :

    Test and Work

    Blood Bowl 1 (Chaos Edition) :

    • Ambient Occlusion compatibility - 0x00000032 (FIFA 14)
    • Antialiasing compatibility - 0x000002C1
    • Antialiasing - Behavior Flags - None
    • Antialiasing - Mode - Override any application setting
    • Antialiasing - Setting - Any pure MSAA (2x to 8x) mode (depeding on your GPU power)
    • Antialiasing - Transparency Multisampling - Eneable
    • Antialiasing - Transparency Supersampling - 4x Sparse Grid Supersampling
    • Anisotropic filtering mode - User-defined / Off
    • Anisotropic filtering setting - 16x
    • Texture filtering - LOD Bias (DX) - -2.00
    • Ambient Occlusion setting - High quality
    • Ambient Occlusion usage - Enabled
    Best regard
    ExA

    Source : Steam : SkacikPL (https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=962268084)
     

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Jesus -2 lod. That's unnecessary for 4xSGSSAA. I'll add the entry, but the settings are wrong
     
  12. BlackScout

    BlackScout Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    GTX 1050 Ti 4GB
    I found out that the flag for RE4HD is gone (0x000000C0). Should I just type it in manually in NVInspector?
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Gone from your inspector profile or gone from the list or driver??

    Typing it in will work just fine. Just remember it's 10 characters including "0x". Or you can just copy past it in.
     
    BlackScout likes this.
  14. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Gladiator: Sword of Vengeance (steam version, dx9) - any tips on forcing AA? 4k downsampling results in image doubling =(

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Guzz

    Guzz Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    0x000000C1
    [​IMG]
     
    KainXVIII likes this.

  16. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Hmm, don't work for me :eek:
    [​IMG]
     
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You are making a new profile and adding the right exe right? Pic of Inspector settings?
     
  18. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Yes, as always.
    [​IMG]
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Hm. Try adding the application exe through absolute application path too maybe.

    When you exit inspector and come back to the profile do the settings still exist?
    This is an odd one too,but maybe try restarting the driver after applying settings? (Using CRU's reset executables)
     
    KainXVIII likes this.
  20. Guzz

    Guzz Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Something is wrong on your side, for me 0x000000C1 work without issues.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    KainXVIII likes this.

Share This Page