1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Honestly using MSAA in such an old title makes little sense anyway IMO :)
    SGSSAA should be more than manageable for most current GPU's.

    Just to be clear, something like 0x00000040 also increases GPU usage compared to "20C0"?
     
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It does, just look at the screenshots. It's nearly double in that one scene.

    Different people prefer different things, so just giving out the options.

    This isn't the first time 2000 is required to get MSAA support working or for better effect. Though it is the first time i've seen it lessen GPU usage.
    Maybe it's a DX8 thing.

    SGSSAA also uses a dramatically larger amount of GPu with the Post Processing on. So for lesser GPUs, say someone is using a lower end to mid range card or older one. Then that MSAA could be an alternative for them.

    Again, options.
     
  3. Maarcis12

    Maarcis12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX 950 2 GB
    Well, problem is that it's perfomance heavy on that game.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You are SOL then. Downsampling+In game AA or FXAA/SMAA is the only choice.
     

  5. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    or try lowering ambient occlusion to medium for performance then re-apply SSAA, high AO is huge performance cost
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2017
  6. Maarcis12

    Maarcis12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX 950 2 GB
    Thanks, that helped a bit, tho, even with 4x SSAA there's still some aliasing and i tried inject SMAA and other tools and they didn't worked for me. So probably acquiring a more powerful videocard like GTX 1050 Ti in some time in the future would be my best case scenario, but again thanks for suggestions.
     
  7. INFEs

    INFEs New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 ti 3GB
    Maybe not the best thread to post this, but I found settings here. This is with respect to Xenoverse 1 and forced MSAA through Inspector. Using any amount of MSAA gives problems with text, where the selection cursor just doesn't work right or much of the text is simply missing, the enemy ultimate head things lack outlines, and the KO things almost always lack heads. Also, in the last image, the purple shading on the mountain looks like something out of Quake 3. Or is that called a shadow? Is it supposed to look like that? On a side note, transparency doesn't work at all even when not using Nvidia Inspector, which made trunks invisible in that one scene where he was supposed to be transparent or fading out of existence. Without MSAA, everything looks terrible as if SGSSAA did nothing. I think it does something though, because distant lines from the floor become visible from the spawn-point-of-view.

    Please excuse the wicked, post-count restriction circumvention.

    My settings: imgur dot com/wuRS6QD.png

    In-game shots: imgur dot com/a4nO2gA.png

    imgur dot com/UMR8d88.png

    imgur dot com/M5yVqEE.png

    imgur dot com/JuCk66O.png

    imgur dot com/WMYcXs9.png

    imgur dot com/DMOjRhI.png

    imgur dot com/WuhNVAd.png

    imgur dot com/0UsRZf5.png
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    definitely looks like a bug. Try playing at different resolutions, or using the AA fix. Which flag are you using as well? And what do your inspector settings look like.

    I don't have the game so I can't test it.
     
  9. INFEs

    INFEs New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 ti 3GB
    Well, weird. 1360x765 @54hz was somehow supported by my basic display, but was the only resolution at which everything appeared to be fixed, at the cost of massive issues like what appeared to be massive microstuttering from the refresh/resolution mismatch and an unadjustable shift to the left for the image, but then I tried loading the mission with the transparency issues, which gave this:

    imgur dot com/a/yawfC

    In addition, the missing text on the objectives screen returned there. I decided to keep the stuff to just one link. Exiting the mission gave a black screen. Now, I keep getting infinite loading screens from the missions and sometimes from transitioning from areas on the Hub world (1/3 of the time in the Hub, 1/2 of the time for missions). Side missions (or parallel quests as they are called) loaded correctly until I tried removing the AA compatability address. Disabling everything else didn't fix the loading. Also, loading that story mission with the transparency issues after, if memory serves, removing the AA address only crashed the game. Infinite loading screens were something that occasionally happened on the game to begin with, but only 5% of the time. Not to the point that it was completely unplayable.

    I can still check most of the graphical bugs caused by inspector, but I'm not sure if I would have to do a reinstall to fix the rest.

    My first settings, from the first post, were these: imgur dot com/wuRS6QD.png
    Right now I have everything disabled.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2017
  10. jiminycricket

    jiminycricket Member Guru

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Thanks to Guzz for discovering a workaround for the driver bug causing blurred textures when forcing SGSSAA in OpenGL games.
    Call of Duty
    Default
    [​IMG]

    Workaroud
    [​IMG]

    Medal of Honor: Allied Assault
    Default
    [​IMG]

    Workaround
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017

  11. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    321
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    Nice. Is there any performance impact?
     
  12. jiminycricket

    jiminycricket Member Guru

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    None that I've seen.
     
  13. Maarcis12

    Maarcis12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX 950 2 GB
    I've tried that Shift 2 AA Flag (0x004110C1) for my copy of Shift 2, but problem is that it breaks the race intro and replays badly with being stuck on just one image the whole time with visible contours of cars, is there any fix for that without constantly alt-tabing every time it gets stuck?
     
  14. LethalManBoob

    LethalManBoob Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
    Thanks for much for the workaround. It helps a great deal now that the latest drivers also broke ogssaa in the nvidia inspector.
     
  15. LethalManBoob

    LethalManBoob Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
    The new game DUSK can be run in dx9 with the launch command -force-d3d9

    Let us find flags.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017

  16. loganhome

    loganhome New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8 go
    Hello, I can't seem to make Nvidia inspector AA work on Blade & Soul. Any solution?
     
  17. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
  18. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    Anybody have any ideas for Ys 7? It's dx9 and a very simple engine (it's a PSP port). None of the typical flags seem to have any effect at all.
     
  19. Guzz

    Guzz Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    This game uses R5G6B5 (16-bit color) textures and seems that driver can't properly apply AA for it.

    You can try this patcher - Ys7_Res_patch.zip, it will allow to run game at resolution higher than 1920x1080.
    Or patch Ys7.exe using Hex-editor by yourself:
    Code:
    0F 8D 76 03 00 00 => E9 77 03 00 00 90
    8D 3C 40 89 7D 14 => 90 90 90 89 7D 14
    3D 00 08 00 00 0F 8F 10 01 00 00 8B 5D 10 81 FB 00 08 00 00 => 3D 00 80 00 00 0F 8F 10 01 00 00 8B 5D 10 81 FB 00 80 00 00
    7F 0C 81 BD 04 F9 FF FF 38 04 00 00 7E 14 => 7F 00 81 BD 04 F9 FF FF 38 04 00 00 EB 14
    In game launcher set "Window Mode" to "Fullscreen" and game will start at maximum possible resolution.
    [​IMG]
     
    Susahamat and DarkSPartan like this.
  20. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    Thanks for such a detailed response! Bummer that it won't work. That resolution patch is good enough I suppose, thanks for posting it.
     

Share This Page