NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Maarcis12

    Maarcis12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX 950 2 GB
    Hello, it's me again, i wanted to know which anti aliasing flag i should use for Need For Speed Most Wanted 2012?
     
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No idea, I don't even remember if that game is Dx9
     
  3. Maarcis12

    Maarcis12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX 950 2 GB
    It's a DX10/11 game and uses beefed up Chameleon engine that was used for Hot Pursuit 2010. And the flag for HP 2010 doesn't work for this one.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Forcing AA in DX10/11 is possible.
     

  5. Maarcis12

    Maarcis12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX 950 2 GB
    so is there any aa flag you might suggest me to try?
     
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Oh sorry, my keyboard didn't detect the "im" it's impossible sorry. (I need to buy a new kb this is a cheap pos after mine broke)
     
  7. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    158
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    nope Need for Speed: Most Wanted (2012) its DX11 game . trying use SSAA(4x) in a game is great
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Small update for
    -Hitman Contracts -
    (Use AA fix. Improves quality.)

    For some reason 0x00000041 causes abnormally high GPU usage for MSAA.
    I found out that 0x000020C0 actually provides the same/better quality MSAA for significantly less performance.

    20C0 also provides better SGSSAA quality if you are willing to disable the Post Processing.
    It should be mentioned there are some white line artifacts on some models when using MSAA with either method. And even with MSAA, the UI is slightly messed up. It adds a white line in overlays like the menu and text is slightly blurrier.

    SGSSAA causes the bloom buffer to flicker a little bit. It's not horrible or anything. 20C0 fixes that, but it makes the image much softer and negative LOD bias doesn't work in DX8 it seems. Turning off the PP though dramatically reduces GPU usage.

    I don't know of a way you can wrap it to DX9 and maintain using the Nemesis Widescreen Fix at the same time (which uses d3d8.dll)


    No AA (PP on) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/3f5NoAA2.png
    41 8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/418xMSAAPPHighAAfix1.png
    20C0 8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/20C18xMSAAPPHigh2.png
    C0 8xSGSSAA PP On http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xSGSSAAAAFix2.png
    C0 8xSGSSAA PP Off http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xsgaafixpplow.png
    20C0 8xSGSSAA PP Off http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/20C18xsgaafixpplow.png
    20C0 8xSGSSAA PP On http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/20C18xsgaafixpphigh.png
    8xMSAA white line http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/8xMSAAwhiteline2.png


    8xSG No AA fix http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xSGSSAANoAAFix2.png
    8xSG AA fix http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xSGSSAAAAFix1.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2017
  9. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,987
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    0x00000041+AAFix worked pretty much flawlessly for me for SGSSAA, besides some UI issues.
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    If you have a beffy GPU you wouldn't notice, but an older or lesser GPU might. Better for it to use less GPU for the same effect right?
     

  11. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Honestly using MSAA in such an old title makes little sense anyway IMO :)
    SGSSAA should be more than manageable for most current GPU's.

    Just to be clear, something like 0x00000040 also increases GPU usage compared to "20C0"?
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It does, just look at the screenshots. It's nearly double in that one scene.

    Different people prefer different things, so just giving out the options.

    This isn't the first time 2000 is required to get MSAA support working or for better effect. Though it is the first time i've seen it lessen GPU usage.
    Maybe it's a DX8 thing.

    SGSSAA also uses a dramatically larger amount of GPu with the Post Processing on. So for lesser GPUs, say someone is using a lower end to mid range card or older one. Then that MSAA could be an alternative for them.

    Again, options.
     
  13. Maarcis12

    Maarcis12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX 950 2 GB
    Well, problem is that it's perfomance heavy on that game.
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    You are SOL then. Downsampling+In game AA or FXAA/SMAA is the only choice.
     
  15. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    158
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    or try lowering ambient occlusion to medium for performance then re-apply SSAA, high AO is huge performance cost
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2017

  16. Maarcis12

    Maarcis12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX 950 2 GB
    Thanks, that helped a bit, tho, even with 4x SSAA there's still some aliasing and i tried inject SMAA and other tools and they didn't worked for me. So probably acquiring a more powerful videocard like GTX 1050 Ti in some time in the future would be my best case scenario, but again thanks for suggestions.
     
  17. INFEs

    INFEs New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 ti 3GB
    Maybe not the best thread to post this, but I found settings here. This is with respect to Xenoverse 1 and forced MSAA through Inspector. Using any amount of MSAA gives problems with text, where the selection cursor just doesn't work right or much of the text is simply missing, the enemy ultimate head things lack outlines, and the KO things almost always lack heads. Also, in the last image, the purple shading on the mountain looks like something out of Quake 3. Or is that called a shadow? Is it supposed to look like that? On a side note, transparency doesn't work at all even when not using Nvidia Inspector, which made trunks invisible in that one scene where he was supposed to be transparent or fading out of existence. Without MSAA, everything looks terrible as if SGSSAA did nothing. I think it does something though, because distant lines from the floor become visible from the spawn-point-of-view.

    Please excuse the wicked, post-count restriction circumvention.

    My settings: imgur dot com/wuRS6QD.png

    In-game shots: imgur dot com/a4nO2gA.png

    imgur dot com/UMR8d88.png

    imgur dot com/M5yVqEE.png

    imgur dot com/JuCk66O.png

    imgur dot com/WMYcXs9.png

    imgur dot com/DMOjRhI.png

    imgur dot com/WuhNVAd.png

    imgur dot com/0UsRZf5.png
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    definitely looks like a bug. Try playing at different resolutions, or using the AA fix. Which flag are you using as well? And what do your inspector settings look like.

    I don't have the game so I can't test it.
     
  19. INFEs

    INFEs New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 ti 3GB
    Well, weird. 1360x765 @54hz was somehow supported by my basic display, but was the only resolution at which everything appeared to be fixed, at the cost of massive issues like what appeared to be massive microstuttering from the refresh/resolution mismatch and an unadjustable shift to the left for the image, but then I tried loading the mission with the transparency issues, which gave this:

    imgur dot com/a/yawfC

    In addition, the missing text on the objectives screen returned there. I decided to keep the stuff to just one link. Exiting the mission gave a black screen. Now, I keep getting infinite loading screens from the missions and sometimes from transitioning from areas on the Hub world (1/3 of the time in the Hub, 1/2 of the time for missions). Side missions (or parallel quests as they are called) loaded correctly until I tried removing the AA compatability address. Disabling everything else didn't fix the loading. Also, loading that story mission with the transparency issues after, if memory serves, removing the AA address only crashed the game. Infinite loading screens were something that occasionally happened on the game to begin with, but only 5% of the time. Not to the point that it was completely unplayable.

    I can still check most of the graphical bugs caused by inspector, but I'm not sure if I would have to do a reinstall to fix the rest.

    My first settings, from the first post, were these: imgur dot com/wuRS6QD.png
    Right now I have everything disabled.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2017
  20. jiminycricket

    jiminycricket Master Guru

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Thanks to Guzz for discovering a workaround for the driver bug causing blurred textures when forcing SGSSAA in OpenGL games.
    Call of Duty
    Default
    [​IMG]

    Workaroud
    [​IMG]

    Medal of Honor: Allied Assault
    Default
    [​IMG]

    Workaround
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017

Share This Page