NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ok, I will add it then. Thank you for the effort.

    Oh, are you playing in DX11 or DX9 though? I just looked it up and apparently there is a dx9 renderer available??
     
  2. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    That was under the DX11 renderer, I'm currrently testing the DX9 renderer.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    The easiest failsafe flag that covers just about everything is 0x084012C1.

    If that works, then try to break it down to just C1 see if it works. If not. Try 10C1, if that doesn't work. Try 0x004000C1, and so on.
     
  4. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    This is with 0x084012C1

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Hm.Seems comparable. But something else looks kind of off. Like it's alternating being smooth, and aliased.
    (DoF maybe?)
    Try playing with the AA fix or changing the C1 at the end to either C5 ,C3 or 81
     
  6. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    DoF should be off unless they have some low quality back up they use.

    If it really is still on in some form then that might explain the shoddy msaa coverage when the sky is in the background.

    AA fix Seems to have fixed the coverage

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2017
  7. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    I tried indoors but they even have DoF there as well.
     
  8. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    Tried 16xS here with the failsafe flag

    [​IMG]

    It doesn't reflect it under memory usage in AB so i'm under the suspicion that its not fully working.
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Something like that or some kind of blurr/mandatory post AA technique.

    Mafia 2 had something like that.

    The easiest way to tell is to take pictures without any AA enabled. Look at the edges. They should all be 100% sharp.(Some effects withstanding).

    If you look at M2 for example, some edges are soft/blurry. But still aliased.
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison.php?id=81623

    Speaking of Mafia, M3's recent DLC release on PC has reportedly ****ed up the graphics. In one shot someone posted, it looks like the TAA is completely malfunctioning too. (This is after being sharpened)

    Before https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd....044/22DF69FD3D76D95D613555915E48D669CE520D54/

    After https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd....978/B55105FBD7F3D830C43915F0D3EA8A2DEAD5B69E/

    Notice the telltale horrible splotchy effect that has become so popular with TAA techniquese these days. Didn't seem to be remotely that bad before.

    I have the game, but I'd rather not waste the huge download bandwidth to confirm it. I was hoping they'd patch the game and bug fix it some more... guess not.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2017
  10. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    Oh wow :puke:

    Seems pretty crisp throughout with no aa.

    [​IMG]

    Ill test more of it later today or if someone else comes along and does it for me.
     

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Hm. Perhaps it is just conflicting with something in the rendering.

    Did you try anything like just C1 by itself or 10C1? Or C5?
     
  12. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    I haven't tried those, so far I've only tried 0x084012C1 and changed the end to C5, C3 and the 81 but they all did pretty much the same when it came to coverage. Only AA fix actually changed anything. DX9 seems odd all together.
     
  13. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,987
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    0x000000C0 vs 0x000012C1. Can't spot any difference.

    Both 0x00000040 and 0x00000041 work for MSAA but SGSSAA with both of them produce a blurry image.
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Thanks. Yes, MSAA bits usually make a super blurry SGSSAA image. So you have to use one or the other.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2017
  15. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Very interesting about "C0" actually being required for blur-free SGSSAA in such an old DX8 game.
    This is the first time I have seen such behavior.
     

  16. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    Tried C1, 10C1, 4000C1, and combinations of AA fix. They all give relatively the same outcome.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Did you try changing , enabling different in game settings as well?

    Either way, it doesn't look bad. Just a bit odd. Did you also try no bits?
     
  18. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    DX9 mode already disables nearly every setting, there's not much more I can do there. I did try no bits in the beginning which tends to miss things entirely.
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,214
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Not much else we can try then.

    Do you think it's more worth using DX9 forced or DX11 enhanced?
     
  20. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    A proper post with comparisons would be interesting for DA2.
    All of these posts with random screenshots taken at different locations really are not helping very much.

    DX9
    -------------------------------------------------------
    No AA | SGSSAA (0x00000000) | SGSSAA (0x000000C1)
    -------------------------------------------------------
    DX11
    -------------------------------------------------------
    No AA | MSAA (ingame) | MSAA + enhanced SGSSAA
    -------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2017

Share This Page