NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Yeah, its SSAO that tanks perfomance, but i still don't get why? Even during FMV video and main menus, that's crazy :) Maybe HBAO+ injection will work better (if it possible of course)

    https://abload.de/img/bayossaomipu4.png
     
  2. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    you found another flag ? greeaat cant wait for trying when i get home :)

    Update:

    tried 32C5 result in this flag is stutter and high performance drop when using 8xSGSSAA on my system(980TI,2560x1080),but 4x is fine.32C5 better in motion no shimmering on the walls, but a little bit blurry than C1 even with using AA fix.

    SSAO High and 8xSGSSAA is fine on C1 but with 32C5 is stutter. for personal taste i'll going back to C1 with AA Fix ON

    0x000032C5:https://abload.de/img/0x000032c5s8s00.png
    0x000012C1:https://abload.de/img/0x000012c1yvsaq.png
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017
  3. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    opel gl try using this 0x0000F0C1
     
  4. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    There are no AA compatibility flags that affect OpenGL.
    The only options are to enhance ingame MSAA (if available) with TrSSAA, or try and force MSAA+TrSSAA without a compatibility flag set (0x00000000).

    I know "F0C1" is mentioned in the OP for this thread, but that is pure BS.
    This AA flag is the supersampling MSAA mode from STALKER, and only has an effect in DX9.
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    That's fine. 32C5 works better for 4xSGSSAA. I don't imagine it would help 8xSGSAA. C1 4xSGSSAA was very lacking but 8x was fine.

    Here's an easier to see comparison for 4x
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/206932
    http://www.screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/206936

    It does trim out a hair more high frequency information. (It's way blurry without the 5 at the end. 5 skips the primary and makes it sharper. But also skips fixing the scaling of FMVs that are broken. Where as C1 would fix the FMV image scaling)
    But it's barely noticeable at 4x and the better reduction of aliasing is much worth it.

    Which reminds me that, that needs to be removed lol.


    Anywho, i've heard some people having luck forcing SGSSAA in Cemu just by setting MSAA and TRSAA. Or if Cemu has an MSAA mode. Enhance it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2017
  6. Mr.Lolendo

    Mr.Lolendo New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070 8GB
    PoE

    Anything for Path of Exile DX9 and DX11?

    Bits 0x004040C1 and 0x004012C1 no longer is working.

    edit/

    DX11 version has already MSAA build in the game.
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017
  7. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    150
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 Ti GX Trio
    I won't be home for a few hours, but I was wondering if you know/think that this TXAA enhancing method would work for GTAV or not. Seeing as it works awesomely with Blacklist, and both of these games are DX11 with TXAA support I figured it might be worth a try. What bugs me most in GTAV is the nasty looking power lines, fences and all the other transparency/temporal sort of things.
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It could work, but from what I recall seeing from someone else. It doesn't work all that well with GTA V.

    Your best bet is to use TXAA+Maybe FXAA or SMAA on top (Will catch hard edges it misses)+DSR (Adjust smoothness slider to your taste)
     
  9. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Enhancing ingame TXAA with TrSSAA or SGSSAA does very little in GTA V, and is a complete waste of performance IMO.
    And even with native 3840x2160 + 2xTXAA I still see plenty of shimmering and aliasing in motion, however general IQ is of course very nice.

    In a similar way is Max Payne 3 DX11 MSAA also close to useless when enhancing.
    5760x3240 (3840x2160 with 2.25xDSR) combined with ingame FXAA is definitively the way to go in MP3 on my system.
    DX9 SGSSAA is of course decent but then you are forced to using only SSAO instead of HDAO, and there are these ugly line artifacts in shadowed areas.
    Not related to the AA fix though.
     
  10. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,970
    Likes Received:
    338
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    0x000012C1 works for forcing SGSSAA in Hitman Contracts. Don't see it in any of the lists out there. AA Fix is a must though.
     

  11. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    But is a custom AA profile even needed for such an old renderer?
    Did you try with just "0x00000000" or "0x000000C0"?
     
  12. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,970
    Likes Received:
    338
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    0x00000000 doesn't work for sure.
    0x000000C0 does and the result is similar to 0x000012C1.

    In both cases only SGSSAA works, MSAA doesn't.

    Couple of shots with SGSSAA via 0x000012C1 bit:

    https://abload.de/img/hitmancontracts_2017_w8qn9.png
    https://abload.de/img/hitmancontracts_2017_5iqux.png

    It's important because the only other AA option for Hitman Contracts is driver's FXAA (which you can't capture on screenshots) since the game doesn't support MSAA and it doesn't rescale HUD which makes DSR pretty much unusable.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2017
  13. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    Is there known compatibility bits for Dragon Age 2? I looked through the spreadsheet but didn't find any and DAO bits didn't seem to work for it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2017
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080


    0x00000040. Or 41. would probably work for MSAA/TrSSAA

    Would you mind taking an A/B shot of C0 vs 12C1 just to make sure there is no quality difference? I added it to the list already. But would be nice to see.

    DA2 was DX11 As far as I know. Or DX10. Either way it's impossible.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2017
  15. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    Dragon Age 2 (DX11)

    The in game MSAA samples aren't so great

    Line artifacts

    [​IMG]

    Turning off AO seems to have gotten rid of the lines.

    [​IMG]

    Heavy (33%) performance drop with shader effects on.

    All effects on

    [​IMG]

    All effects off

    [​IMG]

    Needs AA fix to avoid blurriness as much as possible.

    MSAA samples go kaputt whenever geometry overlaps in front of a transparency.

    With 4xSGSSAA this is as low as I could get my framerate to go on my 1080 Ti in the starting area with DoF, AO and Motion Blur off.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2018

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    So, I am assuming this is Enhancing the in game MSAA?? (Need to know for reference.)

    Also, these shots show the weakness of the standard MSAA box resolve I think as clearly could ever be shown. Where SGSSAA is perfectly integrating (effects it has problems with, withstanding) with the rendering. But the box filter is holding back the quality of the final effect.

    (Halo Wars is another example of this to the same degree as well when enhancing).
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2017
  17. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    Yeah I'm just using the in game MSAA.
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ok, I will add it then. Thank you for the effort.

    Oh, are you playing in DX11 or DX9 though? I just looked it up and apparently there is a dx9 renderer available??
     
  19. borktorias

    borktorias Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti
    That was under the DX11 renderer, I'm currrently testing the DX9 renderer.
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,189
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    The easiest failsafe flag that covers just about everything is 0x084012C1.

    If that works, then try to break it down to just C1 see if it works. If not. Try 10C1, if that doesn't work. Try 0x004000C1, and so on.
     

Share This Page