NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. gold333

    gold333 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX670CUII oc'd
    I disabled ingame SSAO. Still same result.
    I like 1920x1080, don't really wanna change for this AO type.
    I'm on Win 7 but don't really know how (or why) to hex edit.

    Sure, here is a screenshot of the NIP:

    [​IMG]

    I never really minded the ingame SSAO. If I turn off the ambient occlusion in NVI the ingame SSAO should still work right? I don't understand because there are TWO settings for turning AO off in NVI:

    Ambient Occlusion Setting - OFF
    Ambient Occlusion Usage - DISABLED

    I wonder what the difference is.


    I actually just wanted a working SGSSAA in A:CM. I'm getting conflicting advice though. Different people in the previous years have said:

    1. Borderlands 2 - 0x200012C1

    2. 0x00001045 (Brothers In Arms: Hell's Highway, Qiang Shen Ji, Aliens: Colonial Marines)

    3. 0x080010C1

    Are the best.

    I wonder which of these three is really the best bit for SGSSAA in A:CM?
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
  2. gold333

    gold333 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX670CUII oc'd
    Ok to answer my own question I tested myself:

    0x00001045 is terrible, black edges everywhere and 15 fps
    0x080010C1 and 0x200012C1 are good. Pretty much the same though I think 0x200012C1 gives slightly higher average FPS.

    Even at SGSSAA 4x the aliasing looks good. I turned off AF and multisamples in the INI but I don't think it makes an FPS difference. These are NVI HBAO disabled and just ingame SSAO.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Edit:

    Actually I was wrong,... Nvidia HBAO+ (0x00000021) looks alot more real than the in game SSAO. See comparison pics below. Top in game SSAO, bottom Nvidia HBAO+. Shame about the fog on some levels. I guess the search for a better HBAO flag goes on.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
  3. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    @gold333

    You really don't have to go through all of this for Colonial Marines.
    Blaire and I (SLIKnight) have already tested SGSSAA, HBAO+ and SLI in this game in the 3DCenter forums.

    The best possible solutions are 0x080010C1 for SGSSAA and 0x00000021 for HBAO+, which is also what is in my NVIDIA master list spreadsheet:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=4908843#post4908843

    There are no other high quality solutions, trust me I have tested the game extensively.
    Those bleeding problems also seem minor in my opinion.
     
  4. gold333

    gold333 Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX670CUII oc'd
    Yeah, I quit messing with it. You're right. Thanks for your efforts as always.

    Though in my testing 0x200012C1 looked identical to 0x080010C1 and seemed to give slightly higher average fps. Why did you guys not choose that for the master list? Flicker?
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Little King's Story

    0x000000C1

    Use AA fix to make sure light source bloom works properly.
    Do NOT use in game Post Processing, big performance hit, and increases aliasing on objects with heavy DoF/Bloom
    To use DSR you have to have your desktop set to DSR resolution first.
    Correct Vsync in Windows 7 requires Aero to be enabled
    If you are going to use AA at display native. Just use the in game 8xMSAA and TRSSAA option. Not much difference from SGSSAA to be worthwhile for the performance hit.
    If you are going to play at a very high resolution or use downsampling, you might want to use NPI MSAA instead of In game MSAA.
    The in game MSAA for some reason wants to use a ton of VRAM, even 2xMSAA at 3200x1800 pretty much filled a GTX 980's 4GB and caused the performance to drop massively.
    NPI MSAA does not do this and looks 100% the same


    NoAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/b54NoAA.png
    In game 8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/ingame8xMSAA.png
    Driver 8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/385C18xMSAA.png (Notice light bloom is reduced. This is without AAFix)
    In game 8xMSAA+TrSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/ingame8xmsTrSSAA.png
    8xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/8xSG2.png
    8xSGSSAA with PP http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/8xSGwithPP.png
    32xS enhanced (Not worth it) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/8xingameenhance32xS.png
    2x2 DSR+4xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/2x24xSG.jpg
     
  6. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Technically "0x000010C1" should be enough at least at 16:9 resolutions in Colonial Marines.
    However sometimes an additional AA bit is needed for SGSSAA to be applied at all resolutions and aspect ratios.
    Hence "0x080010C1" being the profile listed.
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  8. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
  9. NeroFearUs

    NeroFearUs New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX980M 4GB
    Hello there, someone know a good bits for Kritika Online on the international version? I tried many but thats bugged many times. The game come out this year for US and EU players too.
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Atelier Sophie

    0x000100C1 - SGSSAA,OGSSAA,HSAA(+-SGSSAA) (Use AA Fix to combat white line artifact on some models and increase sharpness slightly when using SGSSAA. Might not be worth using if not using SGSSAA as GPU usage increases)
    Can also enhance in game MSAA.
    Game AA will also be affected by NPI settings, even if it it's set to Application Controlled.

    Also worth noting is that SGSSAA does affect the UI elements, which is painful because the game uses super compressed low resolution UI elements that are far worse than the PS4 version. So that will likely serve to make them look just a bit worse than they already do.

    0x00000041 - MSAA/TRSAA (Game only offers up to 4xMSAA)

    NoAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/10NoAA.png
    In game 4xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/ingame4xMS.png
    Enhance 4xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/Enhance4xSG.png
    Driver 8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/Driver8xMS.png
    Driver 8xMSAA+4xTrSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/driver8xMS4xTr.png
    NPI set to App.Controlled with 4xMSAA in game and 8xSGSSAA set in NPI http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/4xsetingameNPIsetapp.png (Same as enhancing 4xSGSSAA oddly enough)
    8xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/0x000100C18xSG3.png
    8xSGSSAA AA Fix http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/0x000100C18xSGAAfix1.png


    Zoomed AA fix comparison: http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/201631


    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/201632
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2017

  11. Scorpio82Co

    Scorpio82Co Member Guru

    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX1070 G1 8GB
    there is no flags for paragon to work?
     
  12. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Paragon is UE4 DX11, so no.
    Your best option would probably be the mediocre ingame TAA :wanker:
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Which looks like the above posted screenshot of FFVII:R.

    Enjoy the smudge!

    If you can manage it, some downsampling will make some small improvement.
     
  14. arcturian

    arcturian New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16
    Anyone get AA working in theHunter Call Of The Wild?
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    DX11. Impossible.
     

  16. kenoh

    kenoh Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    TitanXP 2.1GHz
    Any AA Flags for Xenoverse 2? Xenoverse 1 flags don't work :(
     
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Check to see if it's still DX9 with an OSD
     
  18. Susahamat

    Susahamat Master Guru

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    151
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti Poseidon
    xenoverse 2 is DX11 game , impossibru
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,145
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2017
  20. Abdu

    Abdu New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980Ti
    I tried that but I got nothing. I tried checking other options, no luck
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2017

Share This Page