NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. ezodagrom

    ezodagrom Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1660 Ti 6GB
    - Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus -

    0x004412C1 - MSAA, SGSSAA, OGSSAA, HSAA

    Saw the flag posted on the community hub and tried a few different AA methods, all the ones I tried seem to work fine except for one small issue, there's some sort of outline only at the left and top of the screen when forcing any form of AA.
    Feels like the best one when taking into consideration both quality and performance is 16xS Combined.
    Screenshot with no AA was taken with no anisotropic filtering as well, screenshots with AA were taken with 16x high quality AF.

    Comparison screenshots:
    No AA - Starting Area | Training Field
    8x MSAA - Starting Area | Training Field
    8x SGSSAA - Starting Area | Training Field
    8xS Combined AA: - Starting Area | Training Field
    8xSQ Combined AA - Starting Area | Training Field
    16xS Combined AA - Starting Area | Training Field
    4x4 SSAA - Starting Area | Training Field

    EDIT: Did only a very quick test, but, same flag works for Hyperdimension Neptunia U Action Unleashed.
    Quick comparison shots (will take proper shots later):
    No AA - http://i.imgur.com/qFqDAV1.jpg
    16xS Combined - http://i.imgur.com/Cns8I5z.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2016
  2. ezodagrom

    ezodagrom Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1660 Ti 6GB
    - Hyperdimension Neptunia U Action Unleashed -

    0x004412C1 - MSAA, SGSSAA, OGSSAA, HSAA

    And done, same types of AA as the Senran Kagura game, same issue with the tiny border on the left and top.
    Screenshot with no AA was taken with no anisotropic filtering as well, screenshots with AA were taken with 16x high quality AF.

    Comparison screenshots:
    No AA - Starting Area | Welp... (partially nsfw)
    8x MSAA - Starting Area | Welp... (partially nsfw)
    8x SGSSAA - Starting Area | Welp... (partially nsfw)
    16xS Combined AA - Starting Area | Welp... (partially nsfw)
    4x4 SSAA - Starting Area | Welp... (partially nsfw)
     
  3. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Custom configuration files for Quake 4 and RAGE

    As a small "continuation" to the tweaking information I posted a while ago for Enemy Territory: Quake Wars, I have also prepared some custom configuration files for a couple other id Tech games.
    In Quake 4, please remember to adjust "r_aspectratio" to your monitor setup (0 = 4:3, 1 = 16:9 and 2 = 16:10) and "com_videoRam" to your VRAM amount.

     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2016
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Thanks for the entries. I will add them!
    The borders can be fixed with a simple border shader with Reshade or SweetFX
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2016

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I'd like to post an update for

    =Mars: War Logs=

    While testing this for something else. I'd figure i'd play around with it a little.
    As Mars War Logs has a TON of texture aliasing and moire.

    Figured out that SGSSAA worked, but for some reason was skipping certain elements and was a bit softer than expected.
    I also wanted to see if I could find a flag that would AA the game but skip the UI.

    I figured both out.

    Enabling the AA fix improves the sharpness of the image a little bit and AAs the harsh specular component better that it misses without it.

    It's still not quite as sharp as without AA. But some sharpening helps out quite a bit. Which you might as well use anyway since you NEED a border shader for this game with SGSSAA. As it creates a massive white outline on the left most portion of the screen.

    C5 will skip the UI for AA, but doesn't AA the image as well. So you have options! Still need the border shader though.

    Also: Disable the in game SSAO, it performs well without AA. But it can suck GPU usage down the drain fairly well with AA enabled and doesn't look as good as HBAO+ with 0x00000027.(Which also is more performant with AA enabled than in game SSAO)

    Here are presets for SweetFX and ReShade for Border and Sharpening.
    http://www.mediafire.com/download/mi9so6lopd6gp5p/MWLSweetfx.rar
    http://www.mediafire.com/download/6mklx4k6kbl7rs1/MWLReshade.rar



    0x084010C1 - use AA fix! - Normal
    0x084010C5 - use AA fix! - Skips UI, lower quality


    No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/NoAANoAo.png http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/NoAAnoAo2.png
    8xSGSSAA no AA Fix http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/8xSG.png
    8xSGSSAA AA Fix http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/8xSGaafix.png http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xSGAAfix.png
    C5 8xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C58xSG.png http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C58xSg.png (Forgot to take shot of same spot with C1, but it has even further improvement that isn't shown in the previous shot)
    C5 8xSGSSAA AA Fix http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C58xSGAAfix.png
    8xSG+HBAO+ http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/8xSGHBAO.png
    8xSG+In game SSAO http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/8xSGingameAO.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2016
  6. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Nice work on Mars: War Logs :)
    BTW, I introduced a new "system" to my spreadsheet to indicate, whether the TF2 AA fix is needed for SGSSAA in a specific game or not.

    A single asterisk (*) is used to indicate "AA fix = On" and a double asterisk (**) is used to indicate that the AA fix should not be used.
    Naturally a missing asterisk either means no information is available, or that the AA fix should still not be used.
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4908843&postcount=1
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Nice, makes me wonder whether I should do the same.
     
  8. Skycrawler

    Skycrawler New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GT 650m \ 1024
    Hello, guys! Plz help, I need the sli profile for the "Tianyu" game:

    tianyu,163,com/index,html (Revelation Online) - in future the most expected mmorpg
    Developer - Netease, engine - Bigbang (smth like Dragon Sword Online)

    Need to know:
    Antialiasing compability
    Antialiasing compability (DX1x)
    SLi compability bits
    SLi compability bits (DX10 + DX11)

    Can you help me?
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2016
  9. jaredpace

    jaredpace Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4890 975/1150


    Hey MrBonk, can you do a similar comparison with GTA 5 on PC?

    Thanks
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    GTA5 won't really accomplish anything though since it's DX11
     

  11. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2016
  12. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
  13. GanjaStar

    GanjaStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 4G gtx970 1506/8000
    downsampling + txaa helps counter the smoothing blur. or some post process sharpening on top of txaa. at native res, yeah, eyes take a while to get used to the blur.
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    With DSR all you have to do is lower the smoothness setting you'll be good to go I think.
     
  15. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    TXAA misses certain geometry edges (just like MSAA), but still looks much better in motion than anything else in this game IMO.
    And the blurring is quite minimal, especially at higher resolutions.
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    And those missing geometry edges is also the fault of the MSAA by Rockstar because TXAA has to piggy back off that.
     
  17. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    My point was that it doesn't tackle any edges that MSAA doesn't, and 4xMSAA already removes shimmering from the edges it works on. I've compared it numerous times, and it just looks like a blurry MSAA in GTA5 specifically. I love it in the batman games and AC series, so it's not like I just hate TXAA.
     
  18. CrazyBaldhead

    CrazyBaldhead Master Guru

    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Does anyone have working AA bits for Dreamfall Chapters? The ingame FXAA makes things extremely blurry. Tried 0x004000C1, FPS in the main menu dropped down to single digits and it was glitchy. DSR works okayish- few lighting artifacts here and there but it has a huge performance impact.
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,251
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah, if DSR is going to make performance kick the bucket, then SGSSAA is going to do it even worse more likely in such a modern game. Performance doesn't seem very optimized in that game from what i've seen over the last few years.

    Your best bet is 0x084012C1 perhaps. Try the AA fix on and off too.
     
  20. CrazyBaldhead

    CrazyBaldhead Master Guru

    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Ok, 0x084012C1 doesn't work (black screen) and it in fact resulted in a repeatable driver crash, tested multiple times. Odd behavior, don't think I have ever encountered driver crashes from modified AA flags before. So I guess I'm sticking with DSR and low FXAA.
    And yes, the game is terribly optimized, even now that they're switched over to the newer engine. There are small interior environments preceded by loading screens which perform worse than the main city hub itself. Shame about both the performance and lack of proper AA as the game has some amazing visuals and is so slow moving and exploration focused.
     

Share This Page