NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Looks decent. Obviously, static edge/AA quality isn't perfect.

    Have you thought about trying 2xTXAA with MFAA enabled maybe? Do those mix at all?
     
  3. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    It looks better in motion than in these screenshots, trust me :)
    Dam .jpg compression really is ruining the nice sharp output from the 4K monitor (Asus PG27AQ).
    But .png or .bmp pictures will exceed the 10MB limit at abload.de.

    Also MFAA isn't compatible with SLI, as you might know.
    But I really doubt it would provide much improvement anyway.

    Edit:
    Full sized pictures in .bmp format:
    http://www.mediafire.com/download/28563z981vqgb3z/GTA_V_pics.zip
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  4. KaneMkII

    KaneMkII New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 660
    Guys is the list of codes being updated? I can't find some recent games like Dying Light or Fallout 4. Even registered to ask this.
     

  5. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    They only work with DX9 games.
     
  6. KaneMkII

    KaneMkII New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 660
    So... There's no way to force proper AA in DX11 games?
     
  7. applejack

    applejack Master Guru

    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI 3070 Ventus 3X
    AFAIK you should be able to enhance the game's own MSAA implementation if available, but not override.
    I tested BF4 (enhance by SGSSAA) and remember it being far from perfect.
     
  8. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    417
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    DSR and as said above you can try to "enhance" to SGSS.
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Blame Nvidia for not giving us the same functions for DX10/DX11 games.
    It's simply not possible. But YES, the list is 100% updated...with DX8/9 games, which is mostly the purpose. Sorry for the inconvenience .

    Enhancing will only work if the game has MSAA and most time it is very spotty. So your only option is what the Developer gives you and brute force OGSSAA via DSR.
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    OK, that looks much better.
     

  11. Irenicus

    Irenicus Master Guru

    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    1070Ti OC
    I love this guide, I tried it and it seems to work but I want to be sure I'm putting these flags in the right place.

    For ambient occlusion: do I put this flag in Ambient Occlusion Compatability or somewhere else?

    Same for the AA. Does the flag go in Antialaising - Behaviour Flags or in Antialaising Compatibility?

    I don't quite understand some of the other stuff, though I'm somewhat familiar with SGSAA etc. I have set AA mode to Overrride, Setting to 2x2(2x2 Supersampling D3D Only) and Transparency Supersampling to 4x Sparse Grid Supersampling.

    Could you clarify so I can be sure I'm doing this right, please? :)
    Perhaps you could provide a screenshot of the page in NVinspector (or what is now, for profiles at least, Nvidia Profile Inspector).


    here's what mine looks like
    http://imgur.com/a/GbnCY
    Thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2016
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    OK, sorry so I see some confusion here.

    I'll address a few things.

    Ambient Occlusion flags go in the "Ambient Occlusion Compatibility" field. The one listed for VC is built into the driver, so if you just click the list, 0x00000032 will be listed to check.

    AA also goes in Anti Aliasing Compatibility but NOT the one marked (DX1x).

    With SGSSAA sample counts have to match for it to work, but I see you set 2x2 OGSSAA instead. My guess is you saw my comment and comparison using 2x2 DSR. This is actually *Separate* from Inspector.

    DSR has to be activated from Nvidia Control Panel, and it lists everything in resolution multipliers. But it's the result from multiplying the ratio of the increase in each axis of resolution. So 4.00x DSR = 2x2 resolution because each axis is doubled in number. 1920x1080 becomes 3840x2160.
    2.25x DSR = 1.5x1.5 resolution. 1920x1080 becomes 2880x1620.

    I generally recommend only using the built in values for 2.25x and 4.0x. None of the other solutions maintain the proper complete aspect ratio or create resolutions that aren't made with rounding up a number.


    It's something I wish Nvidia would allow custom values of, because it's easy enough to get whole number resolutions with 100% correct aspect ratios


    For example, the 2.00x option on a 1600x900 monitor has an aspect ratio of
    1.7776904948939512961508248232522:1 and the resolution itself requires rounding up from an integer.
    16:9 should be
    1.7777777777777777777777777777778:1


    Where as if we had fine control you can set it in increments of tenths per axis and get perfect aspect ratios and whole number resolutions.

    1.3x1.3 =1.69x resolution , 1.69x of 1600x900 = 2080x1170


    SO, if you'd like to use SGSSAA in addition to DSR. Simply set SGSSAA up in Insspector like so
    [​IMG]

    It also shows the AO settings with the flag and the bottom option to actually turn it on.

    You can ignore everything else like the Vsync and Pre-rendered frame set up.


    Just be warned that enabling HBAO+ In addition to SGSSAA and DSR may be very very performance hungry. And HBAO+ with the current flag does have some minor moments of actual slow down.

    I would maybe just try DSR + FXAA and HBAO+ first. It might be good enough for this game to strike a balance of performance and Image quality.


    For further reading, I suggest these
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=392715
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=403676
     
  13. Irenicus

    Irenicus Master Guru

    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    1070Ti OC
    Thanks very much for responding. That clears things up a bit. I will test this out and report back on how I go :) Cheers
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Warface seems to have changed at lot since first release visually. It looks very nice. But the AA is total piss. Even just crouch walking very slowly produces ghosting akin to LCDs from over a decade ago.

    4xSGSSAA @1600x900 when you finally get it working just in the firing range map takes 50-70+% (Mostly skewing towards 70)usage of a 980 to hit 60FPS.


    Just turning the shader down to Medium drops usage by a good 10+%, seems to only disable SSAO.

    Turning Shadows down to low also drops another 10+%.

    Just shader to Medium though with 4xSGSSAA on the training map, which is bigger than the firing range map. It's at a much lower level in the 50% range.


    Shader aliasing is still problematic on Metallic materials though.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
  15. Goose

    Goose Member Guru

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX980Ti Hybrid (+ GT745)
    I read in this thread Blade & Soul only needed "the usual" Unreal bits, but could never make it work. I've since found this post, which I successfully distilled down to "make a new profile, link it to [letter]:\[whateves]\NCSoft\BnS\bin\Client.exe, then do the normal thing in nVidia Inspector, using 0x004210C1"

    As I'm as new at this as the linked poster, I'm assuming the new profile part is important to the gambit …

    Also: Adding SMAA via ReShade over-top of 2xSGSSAA doesn't seem to do anything, and 2xSGSSAA alone didn't do very much; 4xSGSSAA, with framerate limit of 42, seemed the best all-around option.

    [edit]Annnnd now you have to go to Teh Archive to see post I refer to …
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    2xSGSSAA rarely does anything anymore these days on newer games. It's a lost cause.


    As for setting up the profile, that's covered partly in the Nvidia Inspector Guide.
    If a game doesn't have the profile set up pointing to the right .exe or absolute application path. Things might not work.


    Glad you could figure it our on your own though. That's good.
     
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    The DooM Open MP Beta is out, and the AA included with the game is surprisingly good. Though there is no option to turn it off. Only a lower quality version.

    And that's probably because the game uses temporal filtering for some kind of ultra low precision SSAO buffer and others. (Like reflections).
    Ironically enough the temporal filtering for the AO falls apart in motion and is unnoticeable when static.

    Even more funny is that the Temporal AA itself actually works *Better* in motion than static for a change!
    It does so without any unsightly smearing, double images or ghosting and the like too. Though edge quality can be mediocre at times, for the cost (on my system there was no difference in performance between TAA and TSSAA.) however it's great.

    The low point is the texture streaming as usual with IDT, so much so that it actually seems to actively fall apart in motion as much as the filtering for the AO.
    They also filter the miplevels in an interesting way, using what looks like a Paint Shader almost.

    Here are some screenshots of the low precision AO. Notice the dithering
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/DOOMx642016041501451.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/DOOMx642016041521162.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/DOOMx642016041502084.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/DOOMx642016041521253.png (Look at the gun)

    I think the texture filtering and temporal filtering may be tied together in some way too, because often sometimes even objects that are static;such as the FPV Gun Model; seem to be affected.

    I'll use the last image http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/DOOMx642016041521253.png
    Look at the gun textures and notice how they are splotchy looking.


    Here are some examples of the texture streaming failing with fast motion
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/DOOMx642016041501485.png
    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/776DOOMx642016041501492.png (Notice the vertical artifacts lower on the torso, some are streaks)
    I'm using a mechanical hard drive, and I don't know if using a RAM Drive or an SSD would truly fix it.

    Example of how quickly textures change.
    A few meters away http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/737DOOMx642016041521211.png
    A few meters closer http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/DOOMx642016041521212.png
    And right up next to it http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/DOOMx642016041521211.png

    It can be kind of jarring, I wonder if it's somehow intentional to reduce aliasing. But that seems kind of odd. Maybe their AA can't properly resolve very fine high frequency detail from a distance so they opted for this instead.





    TAA/TSSAA comparison
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/169760


    Here's also an example of how just TAA fares better in motion
    Standing Still http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/76DOOMx642016041521113.png
    Moving forward http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/5bfDOOMx642016041521113.png (Notice to the right it's not quite keeping entirely up, but this is the lower end option) http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/DOOMx642016041521113.png

    What's interesting, is that AF from the drivers is blocked in the profile "Zionx" , don't know if that's supposed to be an internal codename during development or what. But it's blocked all the same as other IT games and there is no option in game.

    It's hard to get into the same areas to test and see if forced AF changes anything.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2016
  18. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX 3070 Ti
    Just reassuring myself: If I enable HBAO+ in drivers and force SGSSAA at the same time, it will result into blur, correct?
     
  19. jiminycricket

    jiminycricket Master Guru

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    No unless SGSSAA was blurry to begin with
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No, they don't interact in that way.
     

Share This Page