NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. MarcinPL

    MarcinPL Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 970 4 GB
  2. KainXVIII

    KainXVIII Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Sadly i can't turn it off from game options (it has SMAA, MLAA and FXAA), maybe *.ini tinkering is needed.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Oh dear lord... it might be tied to all post processing.. so you might end up being stuck with FXAA forever on if you want things like Bloom or any other PP.
    And this doesn't happen without AA? Looks kind of like pop-in.
     
  4. MarcinPL

    MarcinPL Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 970 4 GB
    Yeah without it no problem
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ok, so would you mind taking a screenshot of your Inspector settings first before I start offering some suggestions? Just to rule out any human error.
     
  6. Enterprise24

    Enterprise24 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    1080Ti FTW3 S2716DG
    Thanks now I can enjoy this casual games without blur
     
  7. MarcinPL

    MarcinPL Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 970 4 GB
    Sure

    [​IMG]
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    OK. Your LOD bias is WAY too big for starters. Dial that back to -1.00 for 4xSGSSAA.

    Try that and then try turning on the AA Fix.
     
  9. Chaython

    Chaython Banned

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD/7970/3GB
    Anyway to import all these rules, rather than doing it manually?
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No, not really. Seeing as many games have multiple options.

    Someone would have to manually add each and every game (including ones that don't have a profile in the driver already. So they'd have to make one, and if they didn't have the game. You'd still have to add the .exe manually yourself) and then export it.

    The problem would be that you'd inherit all of the settings on the profiles. Not just the flags.
     

  11. Marcel

    Marcel Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
    Hello,

    I need help with SGSSAA for Resident Evil Zero. For native 2560x1440 resolution I not found any profile and settings for RE 1 HD not working for RE Zero :( Works only if I set -10% lower resolution than is my native resolution.
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Resident Evil 0 is like REmake HD where the rendering resolution is locked to around 1080p I think. (Due to the nature of the game being mostly pre-rendered backgrounds. It would start to potentially look odd if they let the 3D rendering increase over the pre-rendered stuff. This is just my guess though)

    AA won't work at any resolution than 1080p and below IIRC. The same flag as for REMake HD should work.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2016
  13. PoeticSanity

    PoeticSanity Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIAGTX 1080 8 GB
    Just found these bits on NVIDIA's Borderlands 2 Tweak Guide, and they seem to be the most reliable bits for SGSSAA in the Pre-Sequel, at least: 0x000000C1
    Haven't tried this in BL2, but these bits don't give me weird red shadows/outlines like the ones listed in this list does, and they appear to look better.
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Those guides don't always have the correct flags, but the flag you posted is the same as the one posted.

    Which looks fine according to everyone else
    https://imgur.com/a/7NuVm

    The listed flag is 0x080000C1, the 8 for Unreal Engine games allows AA to work at non 16:9 aspect ratios.

    You might be doing something else wrong like your settings in inspector or initweaks or it could be something else.
    If someone else who owns the game would chime in. That'd help probably.
     
  15. roxahris

    roxahris Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 770 2GB
    With a mod, arbitrary resolutions look fine in RE HD - and the backgrounds there are already blown up to begin with. I imagine you'd need a similar mod for RE0 to fix it.
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ah well by default REHD is render locked. So that is my experience. And yes it's backgrounds are upscaled. Where as RE0HD is a bit different, the backgrounds are completely re-rendered in high resolution and stored as video files.

    If anyone makes such a mod for RE0, feel free to post it here.
    Would you mind posting the link for the REHD one? I'll add it to my reference.
     
  17. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    -Raiden III-


    This game was originally ported in 2006 and re-released a few years ago.
    But it's locked to 640x480 and was never patched.:wanker:
    It will crash if you try to launch it in 480x640 even (Vertical).
    I looked for the resolution address in the .exe but I couldn't find it.

    If you have an old 31khz VGA CRT lying around, it's just dandy and looks quite fantastic. But most people are on LCDs, so it's unfortunate it's locked as it is.


    0x00000041 - MSAA
    0x000000C1
    - SGSSAA,OGSSAA,HSAA

    No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/c9NoAA.png
    41 8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/418xMSAA.png
    C1 8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xMSAA.png
    C1 8xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xSGSSAA.png
    C1 4x4 OGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C14x4.png
     
  18. GIBF4

    GIBF4 Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I'm new here on this forum (mainly lurking) but now I am looking for a good AA flag on rFactor2, Build 1052.

    Are such available or can anyone point me in a good direction? rFactor2 still is DX9 BTW.

    Tries several but still things look a bit shimmery and not as smooth as I would like it to be looking. Am on GTX 650 - 1GB + 1x2SS + 2x SGSSAA currently.

    Regards,
    GIBF4
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    2xSGSSAA unfortunately can only do so much, even with 4xS depending on the content.

    It looks like there is a free demo. So I will take a look.
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    -rFactor2-

    0x000012C1 - SGSSAA,OGSSAA,HSAA+SGSSAA
    0x000112C1 - SGSSAA,HSAA+SGSSAA (Better gradients and edge quality)

    In game has FXAA, some other AA method just called "AA level", my guess is it is some temporal solution or maybe SMAAT2x

    It's not half bad, a big step above FXAA. But, even with 2x2 DSR it's still not quite there temporally. Edge quality is very good, but fine subpixel issues it just can't quite 100% Get like SGSSAA.


    No AA Garage | Race
    In game FXAA Garage
    In game AA level 4 Garage | Race
    8xSGSSAA 12C1 Garage
    8xSGSSAA 112C1 Garage | Race
    2x2 OGSSAA Garage
    4xS (1x2) + 2xSGSSAA Garage


    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/264rFactor2201602160543.png
     

Share This Page