NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. Chaython

    Chaython Banned

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD/7970/3GB
    Anyway to import all these rules, rather than doing it manually?
     
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No, not really. Seeing as many games have multiple options.

    Someone would have to manually add each and every game (including ones that don't have a profile in the driver already. So they'd have to make one, and if they didn't have the game. You'd still have to add the .exe manually yourself) and then export it.

    The problem would be that you'd inherit all of the settings on the profiles. Not just the flags.
     
  3. Marcel

    Marcel Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
    Hello,

    I need help with SGSSAA for Resident Evil Zero. For native 2560x1440 resolution I not found any profile and settings for RE 1 HD not working for RE Zero :( Works only if I set -10% lower resolution than is my native resolution.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Resident Evil 0 is like REmake HD where the rendering resolution is locked to around 1080p I think. (Due to the nature of the game being mostly pre-rendered backgrounds. It would start to potentially look odd if they let the 3D rendering increase over the pre-rendered stuff. This is just my guess though)

    AA won't work at any resolution than 1080p and below IIRC. The same flag as for REMake HD should work.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2016

  5. PoeticSanity

    PoeticSanity Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIAGTX 1080 8 GB
    Just found these bits on NVIDIA's Borderlands 2 Tweak Guide, and they seem to be the most reliable bits for SGSSAA in the Pre-Sequel, at least: 0x000000C1
    Haven't tried this in BL2, but these bits don't give me weird red shadows/outlines like the ones listed in this list does, and they appear to look better.
     
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Those guides don't always have the correct flags, but the flag you posted is the same as the one posted.

    Which looks fine according to everyone else
    https://imgur.com/a/7NuVm

    The listed flag is 0x080000C1, the 8 for Unreal Engine games allows AA to work at non 16:9 aspect ratios.

    You might be doing something else wrong like your settings in inspector or initweaks or it could be something else.
    If someone else who owns the game would chime in. That'd help probably.
     
  7. roxahris

    roxahris Guest

    With a mod, arbitrary resolutions look fine in RE HD - and the backgrounds there are already blown up to begin with. I imagine you'd need a similar mod for RE0 to fix it.
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Ah well by default REHD is render locked. So that is my experience. And yes it's backgrounds are upscaled. Where as RE0HD is a bit different, the backgrounds are completely re-rendered in high resolution and stored as video files.

    If anyone makes such a mod for RE0, feel free to post it here.
    Would you mind posting the link for the REHD one? I'll add it to my reference.
     
  9. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    -Raiden III-


    This game was originally ported in 2006 and re-released a few years ago.
    But it's locked to 640x480 and was never patched.:wanker:
    It will crash if you try to launch it in 480x640 even (Vertical).
    I looked for the resolution address in the .exe but I couldn't find it.

    If you have an old 31khz VGA CRT lying around, it's just dandy and looks quite fantastic. But most people are on LCDs, so it's unfortunate it's locked as it is.


    0x00000041 - MSAA
    0x000000C1
    - SGSSAA,OGSSAA,HSAA

    No AA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/c9NoAA.png
    41 8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/418xMSAA.png
    C1 8xMSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xMSAA.png
    C1 8xSGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C18xSGSSAA.png
    C1 4x4 OGSSAA http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/C14x4.png
     
  10. GIBF4

    GIBF4 Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello, I'm new here on this forum (mainly lurking) but now I am looking for a good AA flag on rFactor2, Build 1052.

    Are such available or can anyone point me in a good direction? rFactor2 still is DX9 BTW.

    Tries several but still things look a bit shimmery and not as smooth as I would like it to be looking. Am on GTX 650 - 1GB + 1x2SS + 2x SGSSAA currently.

    Regards,
    GIBF4
     

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    2xSGSSAA unfortunately can only do so much, even with 4xS depending on the content.

    It looks like there is a free demo. So I will take a look.
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    -rFactor2-

    0x000012C1 - SGSSAA,OGSSAA,HSAA+SGSSAA
    0x000112C1 - SGSSAA,HSAA+SGSSAA (Better gradients and edge quality)

    In game has FXAA, some other AA method just called "AA level", my guess is it is some temporal solution or maybe SMAAT2x

    It's not half bad, a big step above FXAA. But, even with 2x2 DSR it's still not quite there temporally. Edge quality is very good, but fine subpixel issues it just can't quite 100% Get like SGSSAA.


    No AA Garage | Race
    In game FXAA Garage
    In game AA level 4 Garage | Race
    8xSGSSAA 12C1 Garage
    8xSGSSAA 112C1 Garage | Race
    2x2 OGSSAA Garage
    4xS (1x2) + 2xSGSSAA Garage


    http://u.cubeupload.com/MrBonk/264rFactor2201602160543.png
     
  13. GIBF4

    GIBF4 Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello MrBonk,

    I appreciated your AA proposals very much. Now running with 4xS + 4xSGSSAA + 0x000112C1 and this made a hell of a difference whilst still running smooth. Again THANKS much!

    Regards,
    GIBF4
     
  14. gobbledygook

    gobbledygook New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GeForce 980 ti
    Can anyone tell me what mix of AA settings provides the best performance to image quality ratio?
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    195
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Others have asked before, but it depends on the game.

    If you can afford the performance, 4xSGSSAA + 2.25x DSR can cover a lot of cases and looks fantastic most of the time. IMO when this is working as it should it's the best it gets for decent performance.

    Some games, 4xSGSSAA will be more than good enough for that sweet spot.

    No problem. Glad it was helpful. And i'm most glad that it has a free demo so I could look into it myself.
     

  16. ezodagrom

    ezodagrom Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1660 Ti 6GB
    Phantasy Star Online 2 Episode 4 Character Creator/Benchmark, currently known SGSSAA flags (0x004010C1 and 0x004010C5) cause problems with the new tier 6 setting added to the benchmark (this setting will be added to the actual game in April).

    Screenshot taken with 8x SGSSAA with the 0x004010C5 flag, AA fix on, -1.5 LOD Bias.
    http://i.imgur.com/F4q55wJ.jpg
     
  17. lance55

    lance55 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anyone knows whether pcsx2 ( ps2 emulator ) gets benefit of sgssaa like nulldc , i've been play pcsx2 for awhile lately and try to google sgssaa bits for it but ended up nothing, so anybody cares to give it a try,thx?
     
  18. Dreadmoth

    Dreadmoth Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 1070Ti Titanium
    Might be very game-dependent - if MSAA (via hardware hacks in GSDX settings) actually works on a particular game (without causing graphical problems or crashing), adding SGSSAA might work.

    -PCSX2 1.4.0 running Drakan - The Ancients' Gates (PAL)-
    (GSDX settings)

    No bits:

    No AA: http://i.imgur.com/4xrHmq8.jpg
    4xMSAA: http://i.imgur.com/6NBguxU.jpg
    4xSGSSAA: http://i.imgur.com/Gy50ljf.jpg

    Fairly small improvement to geometry edge AA, but improves transparent textures and almost completely eliminates texture shimmering in motion (which was quite bad before, unless very high internal resolutions were used).

    Forcing MSAA externally might require a compatibility flag, or might not work at all.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  19. Gitaroo

    Gitaroo Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 670/2 gigs
    anyone know the flag for blazblue?
     
  20. lance55

    lance55 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    ok,thanks for testing and info, i'll try myself too to see if it's game-dependant, and maybe playing around with available compatibility bits and monitor the result as well, cheers=)
     

Share This Page