NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. vasevase

    vasevase Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GeForce GTX970
    Nice!
     
  2. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,018
    Likes Received:
    533
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Some of the flags do not work though. Or did not seem to anyway.

    For example, both Transformers games: Fall of Cybertron and War for Cybertron, which use the Unreal Engine 3 and the 0x00000245 flag previously in Windows 8.1 Pro ran with major polygon glitches when forcing 4xMSAA + 4xSGSSAA on my system. I had to change it to 0x000102C1 which seems to work fine.

    Now, it may be that the original flag did not work properly in Windows 8.1 either with the v353.xx driver as it has been a few months since I have played either games. However, it definitely worked with the 0x00000245 flag with an early driver on Windows 8.1 but, as always, NVIDIA have a habit of changing (breaking?) things such that some games no longer work with newer drivers and the old customised profile settings.

    I already know that CSAA and 16QxMSAA is not supported by my graphics card so in some games that force those settings in their per-game profile it will cause a crash on loading them or even a TDR (this is the only time I have had TDRs by the way). Switching down to 8xMSAA in all cases fixes the crashes/TDRs.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    That flag is low quality anyway(245). So nothing of value lost
     
  4. Cure_We_us

    Cure_We_us Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16GB
    MrBonk, I have two questions,

    1. Does in-game SSAA affect driver forced SGSSAA?

    2. How how does one go on to test each anti-aliasing compatibility flag? I notice that some in-game settings makes it incompatible, so far I notice that it's shader, SSAA, and textures. Do I have to test every anti-aliasing compatibility flag with all settings set to low?
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    1. It CAN. Though, there won't be many games that you can use SGSSAA in that ALSO have an SSAA mode built in (This has become more common with DX11 games though. Basic SSAA modes). The effects can vary depending on the type of SSAA used, when it occurs in the rendering chain and when SGSSAA would be applied.

    One set of examples are games made with Monolith Productions "Lith Tech" or "Jupiter Ex" Engine.

    These games use FSAA. Though, I couldn't tell you exactly how their implementations work. In these games (like Condemned;wish they'd port the 2nd to PC; or FEAR 2) SGSSAA actually works best used WITH the in game FSAA.

    If you know of other DX9 games that have built in SSAA, i'd love to know.




    2. By each flag do you mean the values in each slot for the hex DWORD 0x00000000 ?

    I'm curious as to what games you are testing for :) Just because the amount of games left untested seems very small at this point for DX9 :p
     
  6. NiscoRacing

    NiscoRacing Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 680 4GB (WC)
    Anyone here any experience whit Cryengine 3 and forcing AA?

    I have this -Early Access Games- -Miscreated- what runs on CRYENGINE 3.8.2 the AA options are very poor.

    The games has -SMAA 1x- -SMAA 1TX- -SMAA 2TX- for AA options but they all look poor.

    I am trying to find some Crysis 3 settings for forcing AA but no luck. Anyone in here have a good working AA profile that i can try out on this game Miscreated?
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It's a DX11 game.

    So, you are out of luck sorry. :|

    You can thank Nvidia for that. And for developers sucking at implementing and making decent high quality AA solutions.

    Your only option is to use one of those + downsampling
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2015
  8. flipp0

    flipp0 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY GeForce 780 XLR8

    I was fiddling around with it and settled with 0x000010C1, which seems pretty common for UE3 games. I don't see any issues so far, but if you find any please let me know.

    I tried both 2x and 4x, but settled with 2x SGSSAA using a LOD bias of -0.875. The performance hit on 4x felt a little steep... I would notice the occasional slowdown in frame rate, never below 30, but still noticeable for a game that usually runs at 60FPS constant.
     
  9. ToasTinButtered

    ToasTinButtered Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980
    Not that this'll do much, but here's a video of what you (MrBonk) described about the stutter bug, on Sonic 4 Episode II and Dead Or Alive 5 Last Round:
    Oh wait... Sorry. Need 5 points to post links... but I don't have any.

    Just search up " A link for 1080p fix and Sonic EP1 Textures! ".
    You will find this video in the last post (#29) on steam Sonic 4 Episode I discussion forum.
     
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Great, more games.

    I really hope they fix this. I filed another bug report because I didn't reply to the last one because of IRL. But still haven't received another reply.
    I was told they were aware of it but.
     

  11. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    one piece pirate warriors 3 SGSSAA flag pls :banana:
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Is it DX9??
    Try 0x084012C1
    Also:
    EDIT:Whoops I had the OSD turned on :bang:
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2015
  13. balthier

    balthier Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 2070 RTX
    Works great thank you MrBonk :)

    One Piece Pirate Warriors 3

    Flag:0x084012C1

    Screens:
    no AA
    8xSGSSAA
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Cool, i'll add that to the list
     
  15. GanjaStar

    GanjaStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 4G gtx970 1506/8000
    deadpool SGSSAA bits cause issues. visible in an early scene 5 min into the game, when you look at a pillar with a giant fish tank behind it. there is rectangular artifacting around the pillars. i'll try to get a screenshot in later.
     

  16. daninthemix

    daninthemix Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Was just wondering, the issues arising on newer drivers - has anyone tried just using SGSSAA without any LOD adjustment? Someone mentioned it might be the LOD tweaking that causes the issues.
     
  17. emusa

    emusa Active Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 780 (1140/6600 OC)
    NullDC AA profile

    Ey guyz, have I got a great challenge for you! :)

    I use the Dreamcast NullDC emulator a lot, it works great. Version r141 optimized is considered the "best" version, with the least serious issues. You can download it HERE.

    The emulator is able to render the image at higher resolutions; which looks fantastic. Though, it would be awesome if it had a high quality form of AA because of the jaggies.

    I can force FXAA from the Nvidia control panel which helps, but SSAA of SGSSAA would be so much better. I've tried the "default" settings, but I get odd framedrops (one hiccup every 8 sec. or something) so that doesn't seem to work that well. The GPU isn't stressed that much, so that's not an issue - I've got plenty of overhead.

    If someone would be able to discover a working preset..

    [​IMG]

    that would truly be an achievement :)
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Nope. I don't use LoD adjustments. And I have Auto-LOD disabled.
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Could be normal with some newer revisions of UE3. (A LOT of UE3 games made in the last 2/3 years have had some problem or another due to Epic's choices in how they have made changes to the Engine. How they handle Post Processing for example. It's done mostly all in one pass. Meaning you get it all. or None. And often that means you can't turn off FXAA)
    Once I see a picture, I may be able to tell.
     
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    183
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Hm. Well it would only work if it was DX9. Does the emulator not have built in SSAA?

    I'll take a look maybe when I have more time.

    Also: You can probably use DSR as AA. If the emulator lets you select full screen resolution, with DSR activated you can probably select the DSR resolution to use. (Using FXAA in conjunction might lead to good results too)
     

Share This Page