NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    I can understand your confusion regarding ingame SSAA settings these days.
    Some developers are not very "consistent" regarding their design choices and labeling IMO.

    But normally 200% SSAA is used to indicate a doubling of the pixel count in both the vertical and horizontal directions, i.e. 2x2 SSAA = 4xSSAA.
    This standard is followed in for example ArmA 3, Shadow of Morder, BF4 and many other titles with ingame SSAA options.
     
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Set scaling to aspect ratio, play the game at the 16:9 equivalent of your monitor and it will just not use the extra space
     
  3. cyberbeing

    cyberbeing Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy GTX 770 2GB
    I've not noticed this on my GTX 770. Aside from the settings in my inspector image, I also use Adaptive VSync, High Quality texture filtering, and forced Ansotrophic x16.

    Is there a reliable way to reproduce this, or a specific area? Does it stop occuring if you disable a certain in-game graphics feature?
     
  4. Yongkykun

    Yongkykun Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 770M 3GB
    Hi guys, just signed up to the forum since this seems to be the only right forum for me to ask regarding an issue I have.

    So I'm playing Dragon Ball Xenoverse on my notebook and I have tried using the nVidia Inspector tweaks as posted by some of you here (thanks, btw) and have achieved the result I wanted. But there is one issue that has occurred since day 1 which doesn't seem to happen to anyone else on the net. I've trolled YouTube videos including the comment sections, have trolled steam discussion forum (bought the game from Steam), and some other gaming forums both obscure and famous ones and have found no one who has the same problem...

    So my problem is.. with FX overlays. Glowing red eyes, black and ki auras, waterfall foams, portal FX, etc. seems to be displayed on the top most layer, in other words, they are always on screen. Never occluded by mountains and characters and stuff. Is there a fix for this? Thank you in advance.
     

  5. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    The problem between our definitions is that his is right when developers label it that way stupidly (Frostbite engine. 200% resolution scale I think means 2x each axis=4) and mine is what it SHOULD be labeled. (And they need to educate users to not create confusion) WoW sounds like maybe they mean the same as Frostbite. Again, they dont' educate people and it causes confusion.

    Generally 4xSSAA = 2x2 because it's 4 times as many pixels. Thus 4xSSAA.
    2xSSAA is generally 1x2,2x1 or some extremely long integer to get 2x with rounding. (Like Nvidia does for 2x DSR/3xDSR)


    Performance between DSR and developer implemented OGSSAA will vary greatly sometimes. Developers can opt to skip some rendering passes entirely to gain performance. Where as DSR would act like the game is rendering entirely at that resolution and nothing may be skipped.

    It's not a common thing that i've seen yet anyway.


    Some screenshot comparisons maybe might help a little in determining what it actually is :) (With the DSR screenshot. Downsample it using photoshop if you have it. Or use Faststone Image Viewer to do the same. Use a lanczos3 or Bicubic filter)
     
  6. Yongkykun

    Yongkykun Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 770M 3GB
    So... since no one responded to my post, I reckon it's a problem with my notebook then...

    NOTE: also, during one of the main quests where Trunks's transparent, he's completely gone and only visible for a frame or two. I think it's related.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2015
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I don't know what kind of advice I can offer sorry. D: but i'll try


    Can you post your inspector profile? A screenshot I mean.

    What resolution are you using? Does it happen without AA?
     
  8. Yongkykun

    Yongkykun Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 770M 3GB
    My current profile:
    http://img.techpowerup.org/150321/nvidia_20150321_155144.png

    I use 1080p on an external display over HDMI. Running @60Hz refresh rate. And here is the link to a screenshot I took to further explain what I mean:
    http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=410972942

    So the problem happened even before I start using Nvidia Inspector and did any tinkering. So basically it happened by default. I have tried turning off all options such as FXAA, Bloom, HDR, Depth of Field, etc. and still no luck.

    Any advise you can give is more than appreciated buddy. Thanks in advance.
     
  9. Dr4Wm4N

    Dr4Wm4N Active Member

    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce 2080Ti
    Don't use V-Sync if you are playing fullscreen, or play with windowed mode (you can use Windowed Borderless Gaming to simulate a true fullscreen mode). ;)
     
  10. Yongkykun

    Yongkykun Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 770M 3GB
    Tried it. Didn't work. There is a chance that it might be a driver issue though.
     

  11. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Can you try rolling back to some previous drivers? (Write down important settings, custom resolutions and export your Inpsector profiles) Use DDU (See sticky) and try different versions to see if it makes a difference. It could also potentially be affected since it's a mobile GPU? I don't know. Have you tried using your lappy display??
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    OK. So actually I just overlooked this. But this could be because of the flag and the settings you are using. Disable TrSSAA and just use 4xMSAA instead


    Also try the above with this flag instead 0x004032C1 instead
     
  13. cyberbeing

    cyberbeing Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy GTX 770 2GB
    This behavior seems to be a bug with the Xenoverse graphic engine or current drivers, since it occurs even without anti-alaising on my GTX 770 as well.

    Nothing you can do about it, just think of it as a feature to more easily track enemies and find landmarks...

    Those bits don't really work well for MSAA in Xenoverse, since they do not apply AA to the heavily aliased lineart.

    For MSAA in Xenoverse, you really need to use 0x004432C0 + AA Fix for there to be a quality improvement over in-game FXAA. Those bits function fine with 2x, 4x, and 8x MSAA. TrAA should work as well, but it has almost zero effect on quality since this game engine doesn't seem to use edge transparency anywhere.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2015
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Have you tried that bit actually?

    The only difference is that second 4. But also, really MSAA isn't going to be worth the cost when using shader super sampling. Use SGSSAA instead.
     
  15. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I'm not sure shadows look better with that added. Under the book near the bottom, there is more stair stepping than before.

    For comparisons in the future you can use www.screenshotcomparison.com it is back up. And is best for making short comparisons.

    I would also check the DoF with the AA fix. As often it breaks the DoF in some games. (Resident Evil 5, Resident Evil 6, Dead Rising 2,etc)

    The difference would be the DoF would be aliased and have flickering/crawling where as without it would be stable and fluid.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2015

  16. bokeh4096

    bokeh4096 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970 4GB
    I am confused. Does the AA fix break it as in it gets disabled?

    And in the OP regarding RE6 it says "Needs AA fix. DoF goes untouched. Downsample with SGSSAA if you can for best results!"

    So does the AA fix affect or not affect the DoF in RE6? The OP implies it does not?
     
  17. cyberbeing

    cyberbeing Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy GTX 770 2GB
    Yes, I actually had it written down in my notes as something which only functioned partially with poor AA quality.

    Unfortunately, SGSSAA actually has worse quality than MSAA only with these bits. There is no need use additional supersampling at all.
     
  18. Yongkykun

    Yongkykun Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 770M 3GB
    I have, in fact I've tried using the driver from ASUS' website as well. No luck. Tried using just the laptop display with my external unplugged as well.

    Actually cyberbeing's settings is the one I'm using now and it works really well with no lag whatsoever. But alas the problem persists.

    You're using GTX 770 (no M at the end, I notice) and you're having the same problem? How come I don't see anyone complaining about it anywhere? This is strange, indeed.

    I hope it is just a problem with the game engine and not with the GTX 770 series (desktop and mobile).

    Thank you both for the suggestions. All I can do is just enjoy the game with the annoyance for now. And thanks for the settings suggestion for the Nvidia Inspector cyberbeing. It works really well and a huge performance improvement overall compared to the other ones I've tried.
     
  19. Vladislav

    Vladislav Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX260
    I agree. "8" is not necessary. She does original filter more aggressive ("Under the book near the bottom..."). Shadows become similar to the PCF-shadows on UE3. "8" works rough, but hides the jagged shadows (shadow over the book).

    Comparison of the flag 0x000012C1 with AA fix and without (against the background of the depth of field).
    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/117804
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2015
  20. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,190
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It DOES.

    If ****ing MEGA actually REPLIED to any of my emails since my account was suspended so I could work the situation out. I could show you with VIDEO how it breaks. But now I can't because the videos don't exist any more on my hard drive.

    Without the AA fix, the DoF is AA'd and is stable. With the fix, DoF is not AA'd and is left at 1x which is unstable, has aliasing and flickering/crawling.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015

Share This Page