1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    It has been a while since I tested it. When I was making the post for the HBAO+ settings, I remembered that issue. I'll give those a shot at some point and let you know the results. For the record, the base, unmodified game works great with 0x004010C5. I think those other values are unnecessary, for the base game anyway. I'll be sure to screen cap the issue as well.
     
  2. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah I mostly recommended those for the FXPipeline mod.

    I'd download and test myself, but after a huge string of extremely large games, I don't have the HDD space to spare nor the patience for huge downloads at the moment.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    -Blade Kitten-

    General Information:
    This game is several years old, but not really playable on PCs yet. First developer went bankrupt or something and now they are back and are working on fixing the game up again.

    So there are a number of issues present still.
    Changing full screen resolution crashes the game.
    Changing resolution in windowed mode crashes the game.
    Game doesn't have native support for other ARs than 16:9, giving you the option to letterbox it to 16:9 or 4:3 or none. Which essentially anamorphically stretches the image. So in FS 1280x1024 for me, the none-setting makes the image look 16:9. But still far from ideal
    60FPS is a WIP game was originally locked to 30. Game has random performance problems in 60FPS mode

    So currently I am stuck with 1280x1024 FS with vsync (yuck) or 1592x872 windowed with no vsync

    Oh well not like i'm playing the game anyway right now.

    __________________________________________________
    =Anti-Aliasing=
    0x004010C1 - SGSSAA, OGSSAA, HSAA(SGSSAA only!)

    SGSSAA requires AA fix!
    Without Fix Cutscene | gameplay
    With Fix Cutscene | gameplay
    There is a caveat that this still leaves behind some minor white lines on some objects, OGSSAA doesn't suffer this. But it's livable considering they are much worse without the AA fix and there is also the crazy black lines through many objects, especially in cutscenes.

    No AA
    8xSGSSAA
    4x4 OGSSAA
    16xS+4xSGSSAA

    _____________________________________________________________
    =HBAO+=
    0x00000024
    works in windowed or FS for the time being! Effect is pretty subtle, not many flags produce a result with the game. Some mess up the existing shadows in the game or other stuff.

    No AO Cutscene|Gameplay
    24 HBAO+ Cutscene|Gameplay
     
  4. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    Alright so I tested those flags and nothing worked. The problem only occurs when when AA is being forced. The same issue came up with SSAA as well.

    0x084210C3 - Same issue, worse AA
    0x084210C1 - Same issue, worse AA
    0x084210C7 - Same issue, worse AA
    0x085210C7 - Fixed issue but it's because it removed effects, worse AA. Possibly a desired effect for some?
    0x086210C7 - Same issue, worse AA
    0x086210C1 - Same issue, worse AA

    Here is a screenshot of the issue: http://abload.de/img/sonicgenerations.fxpik2fe2.png

    Obviously, it makes the game unplayable lol. Looks like the best form of AA for those who just need to use the Fx pipeline will be downsampling + FXAA or SMAA.

    EDIT: I forgot to add that I tested AA fix, it didn't work as well.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2014

  5. UNREAL_2004

    UNREAL_2004 Master Guru

    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Watercooled MSI GTX 970
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed

    no AA Vs MSAAx4 + SGSSAAx4 (0x004010C1)

    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/102047

    4K downsampling Vs MSAAx4 + SGSSAAx4 (0x004010C1)

    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/102048

    4K downsampling + in-game AA Vs MSAAx4 + SGSSAAx4 (0x004010C1)

    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/102049

    no AA Vs 4K downsampling + in-game AA

    http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison/102050


    004010C1 means blurry as hell image (like TXAA), just use downsampling with the in-game post AA if you want a clearer image.
     
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    SGSSAA provides better temporal AA than regular downsampling in that game even though it isn't as sharp. (And ironically enough, driver forced OGSSAA modes do even better temporally and sharpness wise because of the way the developers render things like the jittered shadows)

    Whatever works for you man.

    I'd personally recommend using the recommended C5 bits (They are slightly sharper) for OGSSAA and then downsample with GeDoSaTo or DSR on TOP of that for the best results that both tackle temporal aliasing and provide more sharpness. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2014
  7. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    Any AA flags for Enemy Front? Or anything that works for CryEngine 3 in general?
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Only if it's DX9, 0x000012C1 works for a few CE games in DX9
     
  9. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x970,Gsync,3DVsn2
    So..what about Far cry 4 ? I think I see difference if I enable SSSAx8 (you can compare with SSAA on/off watching tree leaves,especially the further ones) but maybe there is a flag that can work for dx11 compatibility (and better AA methods than game provides) ?
     
  10. boykimma

    boykimma Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GeForce GTX 660 2GB
    can anyone tell me what is assassin's creed unity flag?
     

  11. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    These games are all DX11 only, which means you can't force perfect driver SGSSAA/OGSSAA like in DX9.
    Please continue to support the DX11 AA bits petition to convince NVIDIA to include support for this feature in future drivers:
    https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/544701/geforce-drivers/petition-for-directx-11-anti-aliasing-driver-profiles/

    Otherwise we will be stuck with DSR/downsampling combined with lousy post AA methods (FXAA, TXAA etc.) as the best AA solution in most current and upcoming DX11 titles.
    And this is simply insufficient compared to the wonderful options present in DX9 :)
     
  12. kobalt1001

    kobalt1001 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970 Extreme core
    Hello

    How get better AA in THE EVIL WITHIN pls ?

    ty
     
  13. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Another DX11 title, and only ingame FXAA, MLAA and SMAA.
    And downsampling and/or DSR has issues in this game :3eyes:

    We really need DX11 AA bits :bang:
     
  14. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x970,Gsync,3DVsn2
    Ofc we DO ! Though if game's engine has MSAA support then it would be common logic to support SSAA too...they suck on this one for sure.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2014
  15. kobalt1001

    kobalt1001 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970 Extreme core
    arf ok ty for your answer :) In 2014... we must cry for get a good AA --'
     

  16. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Well, you can enhance ingame DX11 MSAA with driver SGSSAA if you want to in most games.
    The problem is, that the resulting AA coverage is then solely determined by the quality of ingame MSAA.
    Which in most modern engines/games is pretty awful (FC4 included).

    To force perfect driver DX11 SGSSAA we need custom AA profiles to "hack" the driver, just like we currently have in DX9 ;)
     
  17. whitespider

    whitespider Member Guru

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4770k
    Actually the evil within is opengl, it uses the same engine as rage and wolfenstein
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    But the game still ends up being converted to DX11 calls, which means IF WE HAD THE CORRECT FUNCTIONS. It would WORK , even if the engine underlying it is OGL.

    We are able to force HBAO+ without a problem in The Evil Within even though the underlying engine is running OGL> (Tip: HBAO+ isn't possible in OGL unless the game itself has it)
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I'd also like to comment that after trying a recent game built on the latest UE3 UDK, games that have undefeatable FXAA are definitely tied to the "DepthOfField=" option. Which also disables ALL post processing effects.

    Which is very frustrating. An engine change that I despise that Epic made. I believe it probably has to do with them doing what they call an "Uber post processing" shader which they do all passes in just one or some****.
    http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/Deve...cess Effect Properties Kismet Sequence Action

    Ugh.
     
  20. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    I hate when devs do that. How do they not understand that some people don't like post-AA, and others won't like depth of field, etc.? I guess it is easier for them to do or something...

    EDIT: I looked at the script code. It seems like it can still be disabled individually. I'm guessing it is a developer choice in order to dumb down the options menu so people don't get confused. You aren't born knowing what depth of field, motion blur, bloom, chromatic aberration, post-AA, etc. means lol. They think it looks best and all of them have a minimal performance hit, so why not throw it into a single option so people don't get confused? The amount of time a dev would save by putting it all in one option is minimal when considering the duration of development as a whole. Of course, they could also have an advanced menu...idk, there is no point in speculating on this lol.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2014

Share This Page