NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. evo161

    evo161 Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 GAMING 4G
    Alien: Isolation ?
     
  2. robb

    robb Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2 x GTX 970 STRIX
    There is none to fix it, downsampling included. It's all shader aliasing :cussing:

    There's no fixin' that without more advanced modifications to the game--very likely to never happen. Even if you were to downsample from 16K (not that we can anyways performance wise), it'd still be there.
     
  3. GanjaStar

    GanjaStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 4G gtx970 1506/8000
    downsampling +smaa looks fantastic in Alien: Isolation.
     
  4. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    You think so? I'm playing at 1920x1200 downsampled from 2650x1600 + smaa2, and I'm still seeing a lot of jaggies.
     

  5. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    Anyone know of a working AA flag for Legend of Grimrock 2?


    *Edit* Also, do you think a program like InjectSMAA might work for Alien Isolation?
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Like others have mentioned, you could have 16xSSAA and still have a ton of aliasing left. So while you may not realize what it is. It is definitely there. It is something SGSSAA and aliasing tackled at the lighting/shader level that can fix it.
     
  7. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Couldn't tell you. Don't have it. LoG1 used DX9, but literally nothing worked. And downsampling caused the UI to become too small. I doubt they will have fixed that in the 2nd
     
  8. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    Yes, I know. It works very poorly though and does little to smooth the jaggies especially when the scene is in motion.
     
  9. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    Yeah, I tried downsampling and it has the same effect that it did in LoG 1.

    InjectSMAA works though. It's not as good as SGSSAA would be, but it's better than nothing.

    Curious how they could make a DX9 engine that seems impervious to AA.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2014
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Is a shame because the game is amazing looking.
     

  11. whitespider

    whitespider Member Guru

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4770k
    I am shocked at how grey and dull fable anniversary looks. So I made these pictures. I know it's a bit off topic, but the color grading of fable is utterly shameful. It looks like a war movie from the 80's printed on fading cheap film, not a bright crisp game.

    http://i.imgur.com/bGNd2il.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/MZ5Rm52.jpg
     
  12. Johnny5srv

    Johnny5srv Master Guru

    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia SLI gtx670 2GB
  13. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    Have you made sure you have the right exe attached to the Inspector profile? sometimes games are released with a different name for the exe so the profile that NVIDIA created might have the wrong exe associated with it.

    Could you post your NVIDIA Inspector settings please?
     
  14. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    You can disable the dull grey look by disabling "DepthOfField" in the "WellingtonSystemSettings.ini", although there could mods to improve the graphics by now.
     
  15. tapioks

    tapioks Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 780M 4GB
    Comment withdrawn ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2014

  16. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,954
    Likes Received:
    959
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti

    Probably because it's 0x080000C1 and the executable is called borderlandspresequel.exe

    Also, update nvidia Inspector, you're a couple of revisions behind.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2014
  17. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    That Inspector picture is from NVIDIA's Borderlands 2 & Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel Tweak Guide, it's an excample of how to enable 4xSGSSA in Borderlands 2. If he is using the Borderlands 2 profile like in the picture, then no wonder it's not working.
     
  18. robb

    robb Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2 x GTX 970 STRIX
    I think he's just trying to get a stronger setting since ingame we can't really set it afaik. At least that's what I did with SweetFX.

    I thought it was DX11 only? Even requirements point to that. From what I read it's an entirely new engine, as I thought originally it was idTech perhaps.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2014
  19. Johnny5srv

    Johnny5srv Master Guru

    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia SLI gtx670 2GB
    Thanks for the responses, it's really appreciated. I'll change the AA flag as indicated. Yes, I added/pointed the pre sequel exe to the already pre sequel profile just to make sure. When I get a chance to try out that flag I'll edit this post with the results.
     
  20. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,954
    Likes Received:
    959
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti

    It works fine as I'm using it. You just had the flag wrong. It's the same engine as Borderlands2. The same shader tweaks work as well.
     

Share This Page