NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. portgas

    portgas New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    portgas
    So, I forced it into dx9 and 8xsgssaa with unity flag, but here's not the most excellent result

    [​IMG]

    Total blur. Why is that? It also has some weird effect when zooming in and out.
     
  2. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Simply because "0x004000C1" works without blur in some older Unity engine games doesn't mean it will do so in all Unity games.
    Perhaps you could try "0x00401045" instead?

    Or maybe some post process setting is causing the blur with the "C1" flag?
     
  3. airshiraz

    airshiraz Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970
    does anyone know how to enable this new dsr in games?is it through nvidia cp?
     
  4. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    I think you enable it through GeForce Experience but you can tweak it in the NVCPL.
     

  5. applejack

    applejack Master Guru

    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 GAMING X
    I think this is not yet available for fermi/kepler ?

    I don't have this feature in latest whql driver...

    [​IMG]

    anyway I believe that Geforce Experience only allows to select the added resolution configured in NVCP.
    same as you would pick that res in game.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2014
  6. mikul1991

    mikul1991 Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8GB DDR3
    This feature works only with GTX970 and GTX980.
     
  7. applejack

    applejack Master Guru

    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 GAMING X
    at least its officially coming to keplers soon. the end of reconfiguring custom resolutions on each driver install is near. better quality too - what a treat. I'll be waiting...
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Doesn't look super blurry as much as smooth to me with a little blur. But anyway, try 0x004000C4 or 0x004000C5

    Then try 0x004002C1 0x004010C1 0x004012C1 etc
     
  9. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    If 0x004000C1 is blurry, then 0x004002C1, 0x004010C1 and 0x004012C1 will also be blurry.
    Perhaps even more so in certain cases.

    It is only the last two digits in the AA flags, which affect blurriness ;)
    "C1" generally gives the best AA quality in most games, but can be blurry in some.
    "C4", "C5" and "45" variants can then be used/tried as alternatives.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2014
  10. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    No, that's not true at all.

    If a certain buffer of a certain kind isn't told to be AA'd it can result in blur (IE: Street Fighter IV 12C1 produces no blur. Where as 2C1 and no bits produce the same amount of blur http://screenshotcomparison.com/comparison.php?id=83038 .)
     

  11. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    In that post I only see comparisons between "12C1" and enhanced.
    No "2C1" or "10C1" pictures.

    The "C" part is the real supersampling AA bits, and this is also essentially what is allowing blur-free SGSSAA in most DX9 engines.
    The rest of those bits are needed for compatibility and AA quality reasons.

    The full truth is more complicated, I know that :)
    But I just wanted to give people a basic guideline.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2014
  12. _GalForD_

    _GalForD_ New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 680 2Gb
    Any flag for Quake Live on Steam???
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    While true. Using 2C1 produces the EXACT same result as enhancing the game.

    So /shrug
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  15. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    The "AA fix" is required with Wasteland 2 when you use SGSSAA, it reduces blurring and prevents SSAO glitches.

    Wasteland 2

    You need to run the game in DX9 mode by adding "-force-d3d9" to the end of the text in the "Target" box in the Wasteland 2 shortcut properties, or by adding it to the games "Set Launch Options" in Steam.

    Flag: 0x004000C1

    No AA
    8x SGSSAA (AA Fix On)
    8x SGSSAA (AA Fix Off)

    It gets blurrier though the lower the quality of SGSSAA you use.

    4x SGSSAA (AA Fix On)
    2x SGSSAA (AA Fix On)

    You can use "0x004000C5" for less blur but with slightly more aliasing

    8x SGSSAA (AA Fix On)

    It will be difficult to notice the SSAO problem in the screenshots so I have made a quick comparison video to demonstrate it.



    I used 4x SGSSAA for performance reasons.

    I also tested OGSSAA and it does indeed produce no blur, it doesn't have the SSAAO glitch either so the "AA fix" is not required.

    2x2 OGSSAA
    3x3 OGSSAA

    Downsampling works aswell but you have to set your desktop resolution to the resolution that you are downsampling from, in my case it was 3840x2160, you just then have to select that resolution ingame.

    3840x2160 Downsampled to 1920x1080 (HUD Scale 1.48x)
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2014

  16. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Btw I have now fully updated my new NVIDIA compatibility bits master threads, with all the latest profiles and information from various threads:

    NVIDIA compatibility bits master thread and IQ guide (Guru3D)
    NVIDIA compatibility bits master thread and IQ guide (3DCenter)

    The 3DCenter thread has now been made sticky, and I very much appreciate this :)
    But I still think its Guru3D cousin also should enjoy this honor, in order for the information in this compilation thread to reach a wider audience.
     
  17. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    Awesome thread :thumbup:

    By any chance, is there a good place to learn what each compatibility bit does? Learning how to build them is nearly impossible going off the info provided in Nvidia Inspector. I'm talking about something like "this bit effects 32FP Textures". I see some people in this thread know what to use in specific situations and I would love to learn that too.
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    There are posts where we have been over it before. But I can't remember where.. tbh is a lot of information. haha...
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    I forgot to say THANKS a bunch for this! Updated the OP with this.
     
  20. ZabaZuu

    ZabaZuu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    Yeah I figured it was a bunch of information. Forcing AA to work with multiple engines certainly isn't simple haha. I can't find ANYTHING on it by googling though. Maybe I'm not using the right words when I'm searching? :p If you come across anything helpful and happen to remember this post, could you shoot me a PM? Maybe I could attempt to compile all the things I find in to one convenient thread so that more people can contribute.
     

Share This Page