NVidia Anti-Aliasing Guide (updated)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jan 29, 2012.

  1. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    That flag doesn't work for Risen 3. I've tried it several times.

    I have AA fix off, AA mode set to "override any application setting", and the in-game AA disabled.

    Unless it's just doing a horrible job with the temporal aliasing in that engine. 4xMSAA + 4xSGSSAA usually completely eliminates any crawlies for me. Not so in this case.
     
  2. tapioks

    tapioks Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 780M 4GB
    @Bradders684

    I used this flag for the first level of the game and did not have the 'accumulating edge light' issue that is present in your screenshots. Maybe there is some other variable in play here? i.e. something in combination with SGSSAA that is causing the issue for you?
     
  3. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    No idea, it could be something to do with my PC. All the configs were at default.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Mind posting your inspector profile?

    This shows it working too http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=10313461&postcount=5991
     

  5. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 OC/UV
    I'm not noticing any positive change with AA fix off in Risen 3. In fact it's quite the other way round, I notice less shimmering with it on.
    Be aware that AA of D3D9 (and older) is simply broken in some terms with AA fix off, and this in general. Try it with any old game that doesn't change a pixel unless you move camera etc. Without AA fix, there are always pixels different between two screenshots -> there's pixel shimmering.
    This doesn't occur with D3D10 and newer and OpenGL. Just with D3D9 and older without AA fix = broken.

    Shadow system is still not perfect in Risen 3 (but worlds better than 2), so SSAA can't eliminate such shimmering artifacts entirely.
    Also in-game SSAO is extremely noisy.
    Unfortunately, driver HBAO+ doesn't work for me with 0x00000009, it keeps turning on and off.
    Or is this a driver issue that was fixed after 337.50? I'm still with this driver.
     
  6. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 OC/UV
    Double post:
    YEAH! and lol
    Change SSAO from 3 to 4 (unofficial) in the config. It eliminates shimmering and keeps a nice shadow effect.
    0:
    [​IMG]

    4:
    [​IMG]

    :banana:
     
  7. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    I got it working now. aufkrawall2 is correct, AA fix needs to be on.

    The screenshot from the post at 3DCenter also shows AA fix on.

    Thanks guys! :)


    *Edit* The performance hit with SGSSAA is brutal in this game. I had to go back to the in-game AA after awhile. My framerate was just too choppy.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2014
  8. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,203
    Likes Received:
    179
    GPU:
    MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
    sorry for the late reply...
    here are the screens..
    its also on the sides if there are lightsources..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    HBAO works doh..with the mass effect bits..
     
  9. Canzah

    Canzah Banned

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti GHz
    I said I don't recommend AA Fix because it becomes considerably more aliased with it on.
     
  10. Bradders684

    Bradders684 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 Ti GAMING
    Thanks for the reply, It's good to know it wasn't just me. It's weird how tapioks is not affected though.
     

  11. JDR13

    JDR13 Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770
    It doesn't seem to be working that way for anyone else.
     
  12. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 OC/UV
    It cuts the fps down to 1/3 with 4xSGSSAA and 780 Ti, which is normal.
    The GPU demand of the game can be very high at certain scenes in general.
    I play with 20-40fps under normal conditions, but e.g. cascades totally kill performance. Although I won't give up on 4xSGSSAA, since it helps immersion a lot by having a calm scene.

    If you haven't tried out setting SSAO to 4 in config, DO IT!
     
  13. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Try taking some screenshots for comparison?


    The AA fix has been known to be the cause or fix of NUMEROUS issues with many many games.
     
  14. Canzah

    Canzah Banned

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti GHz
    Hmm, seems I made an accident since I just opened Inspector and had AA Fix set to On all this time, when I assumed it was Off. So it seems that after all AA Fix is indeed recommended for this, also took screenshots.

    AA Fix Off:
    http://i.cubeupload.com/ZURYOF.png

    AA Fix On:
    http://i.cubeupload.com/KQxBK9.png

    Sorry for the confusion I caued guys, I tested it during night those few days ago and I could've sworn that I had AA Fix as Off.
     
  15. tapioks

    tapioks Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 780M 4GB
    Something new for the list! Posted this in the HBAO thread as well...


    BULLY - SCHOLARSHIP EDITION
    SGSSAA - 0x000010C1
    HBAO+ - 0x00000003


    The images below also have forced 8x anisotropic filtering; nVidia Inspector really works wonders for this game!

    NO AO and NO AA:
    [​IMG]

    HBAO+ and 4x SGSSAA:
    [​IMG]

    Have found no issues so far!
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2014

  16. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    Tony Hawk's Underground, Tony Hawk's Underground 2, Tony Hawk's American Wasteland

    SGSSAA flag - 0x000012C0

    Tony Hawk's Underground

    [​IMG]

    Tony Hawk's Underground 2

    [​IMG]

    Tony Hawk's American Wasteland

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2014
  17. portgas

    portgas New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    portgas
    Anybody know AA flag for King's Bounty: Dark Side? Thanks.
     
  18. sparrow1911

    sparrow1911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 750 Ti 2GB
    Try 0x000002C1
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,020
    Likes Received:
    96
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Try solutions for the other KB games? Which is 2C1
     
  20. portgas

    portgas New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    portgas
    Thanks for suggestions, but didn't work for me for some reason. The game runs weirdly, so I can't blame nvidia inspector.

    Any flags for Metro 2033 Redux yet?
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2014

Share This Page