1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nvidia Announces Quadro P6000 with 24GB gddr5x

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jul 25, 2016.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    35,911
    Likes Received:
    5,015
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Nvidia has announced two new graphics cards for the business market. The Quadro P6000 and P5000 are equipped with Pascal GPUs and feature Nvidia respectively, 24GB and 16GB gddr5x....

    Nvidia Announces Quadro P6000 with 24GB gddr5x
     
  2. SirDremor

    SirDremor Master Guru

    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1050
    Please pack me 2.

    On a side note - this is an insane ammount of memory)
     
  3. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    497
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380 4G
    Just before the FirePro announcement from AMD in the event.

    Glorious Nvidia marketing.
     
  4. cryohellinc

    cryohellinc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    1,655
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti
    Nvidia dominates on all fronts.
     

  5. TeX_UK

    TeX_UK Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,951
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FE
    And still no HBM2....
     
  6. jststojc

    jststojc Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    gigabyte gtx285
  7. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    127
    GPU:
    quadro K6000+Tesla M2090
    not so for quadro... i have already 12 and it's not the biggest one just on high quadro.
     
  8. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,314
    Likes Received:
    1,501
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti
    Why would they want HBM2 on Quadro cards? It gives you native ECC and that's about it. Neither card is close to saturating the bandwidth of GDDR5x. All it does is significantly cost.

    Huh? Where do you see the Maxwell products linked in there?
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2016
  9. FeDaYin

    FeDaYin Active Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 780 ref.
  10. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    211
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    The source is Nvidia, but there is no link to a source ?
    Is it an email from Nvidia ?

    Can't see any announcement on their webpage either, UK or US.
     

  11. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,096
    Likes Received:
    653
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X
    Sick amount of vram, wow.
     
  12. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    Without citing the W9100 32GB from AMD released 3 months ago. ( just for saying ) and the Q6000 24GB .

    Siggraph have start yesterday, so either Nvidia have send mail preview for it ( more probable as the AMD conference is today, and AMD have a lot of news on compute, with partnership with big compute society, 3D modelisations tools with their FireRender engine ( Blender, Max and other ), or they have present it there.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2016
  13. jura11

    jura11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    277
    GPU:
    GTX1080 Ti 1080 FE
    Agree 24GB is great news on Quadro,but still no news on new CUDA which should be released on release of Pascal already and people over on other forums still can't use their Pascal cards in any 3D SW(Octane v3 I think supports them,but still performance is not right with this beta CUDA)

    24GB is great amount but still on low side,32GB is great starting point if you do large renders,but still Quadro are slower in rendering than their gaming counterparts,looking forward on some benches

    Thanks,Jura
     
  14. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    Not only Octane, all 3D raytracing CUDA softwares are at this moment unable to use Pascal, due to the fact they are not compatible yet with CUDA8 . ( Blender Cycles, Vray, Iray, mental ray etc ) .... Note, this need an updated and special optimisation on the softwares front, so i can only hope this will be fixed really soon. ( Well, with Autodesk who is moving to Arnold and FireRender right now, i dont know when this will occur )

    No bugs when you render, but performance are abysmal at best.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2016
  15. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    127
    GPU:
    quadro K6000+Tesla M2090
    there is HBM2 on the new tesla (and big pascal too) price on demand still lol

    nope it's on pro website (and now everywhere too)
     

  16. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    127
    GPU:
    quadro K6000+Tesla M2090
    agree :)
     
  17. jura11

    jura11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,005
    Likes Received:
    277
    GPU:
    GTX1080 Ti 1080 FE
    Hi there

    Yes agree,I can only confirm Octane,Cycles and IRAY which are not 100% compatible,Octane is still in optimization beta and I've tried that last beta on our workstation,there we have 4 GTX1080 and performance against our next workstation where we are running 4 Titan X is just poor

    In IRAY GTX1080 is not recognized at all,this I've tested only in DAZ3D Studio and still no support for new cards and you can't use them in rendering

    In V-RAY this depends as right now,V-RAY tested new GTX10xx series and in their tests looks like they're 2x faster,still people need to bit wait as still CUDA 8 is not publicly available

    Optimization of SW,Mental Ray is Nvidia child and they want to rework Mental Ray to their image,Arnold renderer is awesome renderer which I use,FireRender we are using in work and same I'm using this renderer with Corona renderer

    Many people still waiting for Cycles update for GTX9xx or Titan X,where those cards are lot slower than GTX7xx when you apply SSS...

    In my case I'm just waiting Octane can be run on AMD and then I switch to AMD cards and as I use lots if OpenCL programs right now more and more,same this will apply for our company,which is switching already from Quadro to FirePRO or normal GTX

    Hope this helps

    Thanks,Jura
     
  18. jarablue

    jarablue Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nVidia 960m 2GB
    Nvidia is bitch slapping AMD. I almost feel bad for AMD. Geez, talk about ass whoopin.
     

Share This Page