Nvidia AA guide

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by GanjaStar, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    What feature for nvidia cards do they have that is similar to MLAA from ati?
     
  2. Cru_N_cher

    Cru_N_cher Master Guru

    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI NX8800GT OC
    Doesn't work here either Win XP DX9 patch 1.9 :( tested on the Nanosuite Room

    the red ring on the floor is still aliased only r_PostMSAA = 1 works but it blurs the entire screen and looks ugly like hell :(

    http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/1770/noaacompbitsset.png <- Compatibility Bits set 2x SGSSAA no effect :(

    http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/4485/postmsaaedgefilter1.png <- r_PostMSAA = 1 and r_PostMSAAEdgefilter = 1 is just to blurry changing it to r_PostMSAAEdefilter = 2 lowers the blurr but to much aliasing gets visible again :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  3. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Also works in DirectX.
     
  4. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    Anyone know the answer to my question?
     

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
  6. Guzz

    Guzz Member Guru

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    In the near future FXAA will be implemented in the driver.
    [​IMG]
    FXAA gives very similar results in quality in comparison with MLAA.
     
  7. dennymoofoo

    dennymoofoo Member Guru

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    KFA2 GTX 570 @ stock


    What driver is that?
     
  8. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    SRAA is the Nvidia equivalent of MLAA, and FXAA is already available...


    Try 275.36
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  9. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I'm quite sure that SRAA need engine support. It's a bit more than just post-processing filter like FXAA and MLAA. I'm sure that we are not going to see SRAA in drivers. Why? It need super resolution depth buffer (and super resolution normal buffer, if you want higher quality).
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  10. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    http://research.nvidia.com/sites/default/files/publications/I3D11.pdf
     

  11. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    So? Sure, you can implement in existing renderers but hacking it in via drivers is something else since it requires super resolution depth buffer (and super resolution normal buffer if you want even better quality).
     
  12. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    What's your point?
     
  13. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I made my point. What part did you not understand? I'm just saying that there's a reason why we aren't (most likely) going to see driver option for forcing it in every game.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  14. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    What are you talking about?
    I don't understand why you quoted my post, because I never said SRAA would be implemented through the driver..:3eyes:
     
  15. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I kinda thought that you meant that when you said that it is NVIDIAs answer to MLAA. :D
     

  16. dennymoofoo

    dennymoofoo Member Guru

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    KFA2 GTX 570 @ stock

    Im pretty sure its FXAA that needed developer support. I know it works in Opengl but i think to use it in DX it needs to be coded into a game. SRAA is supposed to be Nvidia's answer to MLAA to compete with AMD. Its suppossed to work at the driver level so that it can be used with games that don't support it like GTA 4. That was the whole point of it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  17. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    There's nothing that special in FXAA and having read the white papers about both I don't see why they would need special developer support for that - it's much more simple than SRAA in a certain way (post-processing filter, no need for super resolution buffers or anything like that). The fact that it's already partly implemented (and partly working) in the driver just proves it that they plan to use it as their answer against MLAA. Also, I've only seen CUDA implementation (code) for SRAA. I don't know how easy it is to implement in HLSL/GLSL.

    But anyway, I bet we will see soon enough.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2011
  18. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    Thanks guys, my 9800gt doesn't have that option, so i guess when i pick up my GTX 550, it will right?
     
  19. dennymoofoo

    dennymoofoo Member Guru

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    KFA2 GTX 570 @ stock

    Please explain what you mean by super resolution buffers i honestly don't know what that is. Enlighten me please.
     
  20. stitch

    stitch Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    yeah in duke nukem, fear 3 and age of conan but not if you try to force it in other games like.. well.. gta 4.
     

Share This Page