NVIDIA 197.13 beta drivers released!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Sr7, Mar 17, 2010.

?

How do you rate the 197.13 beta driver vs. 196.21?

  1. Better than 196.21

    133 vote(s)
    75.6%
  2. Worse than 196.21

    23 vote(s)
    13.1%
  3. About the same as 196.21

    20 vote(s)
    11.4%
  1. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,532
    Likes Received:
    274
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    As with the 196.75, these are the fastest drivers i've ever used for the games i play, Left4Dead averages about 70fps at 1920x1080 all maxed 4xMSAA in Splitscreen, and image quality is identical to every other driver, it should only change if you use the preference emphasising setting, or if you use the Profiles, and Nvidia change them.

    As with 196.75 though, these are not great with HTPC setups, 60hz works for me, but if i change it to 50hz, then i can't change it back, as i will then only get 16bit Colour.
    Creating a custom resolution fixes it, but that shouldn't have to be done.

    Thankfully i have a partition for movies and another for games.
     
  2. Li4m79

    Li4m79 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,155
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2xPalit GTX770 Jetstream
    i installed and it musn`t have installed properly, as Afterburner just would not work, however Metro2033 worked with no stutters.

    I uninstalled drivers and reinstalled properly, afterburner working, now Metro is dropping to about 3-4 fps....... its now unplayable :(
     
  3. ShadowDuke

    ShadowDuke Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    586
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 970
    Crazy all the Problems you guys have, not understandable for me ^^
     
  4. Kill4L

    Kill4L Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 Laptop
    great driver )
     

  5. Rockshocker

    Rockshocker Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295
    The new drivers seem fine so far.
    A benchmark I ran last night and then this morning.

    Unigine DirectX 10 1920x1200

    Driver 196.21 fps 47.2 score 1189
    Driver 197.13 fps 65.3 score 1644

    Fairly large increase so I'll test more games out later on today but the numbers look good, can anyone confirm?
     
  6. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080


    This is My bench score with Heaven Benchmark.


    Heaven Benchmark v1.0

    DX10/high/Ani x2/AA x2/FS 1/Res 1600x1200


    GeForce Win7 x64 196.34: FPS: 29.0 Score: 731
    GeForce Win7 x64 197.13: FPS: 30.2 Score: 760


    And that on 2x Geforce 8800GT in SLI:)
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  7. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    I am not kidding! I had 195.62whql w/ the same temperature-gpu core. :)
    but you don't forget that my SPARKLE 9800GT w/ fan@auto efficient is excellent. ;)

    ex-my Point Of View 8800gts640 fixed - idle 50ºC; load 85ºC because the fan@auto is standard. the room is 15-16ºC. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  8. Barton C++

    Barton C++ Master Guru

    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB @ SLI
    Seems like a top driver for SLI, even tho there still is some stutter in L4D, no real emergency coz it can be played with ONE GPU or apply nHancer tweak.

    I've had black tracks in TrackMania, especially dirt/cross maps probably with all 196. drivers, would work OK with one GPU, not in SLI. But today I've played SLI and maps look OK again.

    BFBC2 (MP) got some extra fps, runs awesome SLI GTX260 @ std clocks, all high, 8xCSAA, 16xAF, HBAO, 2048x1152
    EDIT ///
    BFBC2GAME.EXE stays in taskman even after quitting the game. Steam shows In-Game My control panel ..lol...2nd time this happened with this driver...bc2 doesn't quit !
    I've got EVGA Precision 1.9.1 displaying fps OSD and to G15 LCD...I wondered why it displayed "DXD10 0fps"...coz bfbc2game.exe wasn't terminated. I'll test w/o evga app...


    Temps are looking good too.

    I'll install my drivers from Windows Control Panel from now on, Device Manager->GPU->Update Driver. Always antivirus off during install.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  9. PirateNeilsouth

    PirateNeilsouth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 OC
    BENCHMARKS

    Also don't forget these which are newer than the 197.13 driver software
    PhysX_10.02.22_9.10.0222_SystemSoftware
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=317559
     
  10. spine

    spine Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Titan Xp CE + EK WB
    Another moron with a CRT monitor that goes by default refresh rate as a guide for 'image quality'.

    Sometimes these people will install a driver that defaults their CRT monitor to 60hz and they're all like, "Yeah, image quality is great!". Other times a driver will correctly read the monitor DDC info and default to 85hz making the image fuzzier and they'll complain about the 'IQ' being lower.

    Yes, your IQ is lower. :bugeye:
     

  11. Weesni

    Weesni Master Guru

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    AORUS RTX 3080 M10G
    I installed these drivers without 3dvision and used newer physx 9.10.0222

    + 3dmark vantage stutters gone and normal score(i had on 196.86)
    + temps ok
    + iq ok
    + very good performance in bc2

    -Fallout3 stutter present
    (well you can get rid of the stutters by set Water Refractions: off and Water Multisampling: low and can leave everything else on whatever you want BUT its a bug and i always test that stutter with new drivers)

    Have to test more games but this driver seems to be good.

    :)

    How can i test this video playback-bug? I have no powerdvd....
     
  12. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,343
    Likes Received:
    291
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    get MPC HC install the xvid codec and then play something.,..
    you need to select the codec in external codecs in mpc hc to use the codec..thats why i use mpc cause you have controll over everything..
    i cant its clitching all over the video^^
    also 1280 wmv hd videos are stuttering.
    also when i set my LCD HDTV to 1920x1080 and 60hz it goes to 16bit color depth :(

    when i set on 50hz or lower it stays at 32bit color depth..argh...
     
  13. Weesni

    Weesni Master Guru

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    AORUS RTX 3080 M10G
    Oops you are right bc2 stay in taskman, but maybe its because the patch yesterday....
     
  14. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    oh dear another newcomer with a bad attitude, thinkin hes the bo**ocks.

    Gettin alot of these lately aren't we:bang:
     
  15. LEXX911

    LEXX911 Member Guru

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 950
    Is there an option in Personalize in Windows 7 x64 to rotate your monitor?
     

  16. ematsui

    ematsui New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyother BFBC2 reports?
     
  17. Death_LV

    Death_LV Master Guru

    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX 3080 TUF
    for me with this driver runs much better,then previous driver!
     
  18. Barton C++

    Barton C++ Master Guru

    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Hawk GTX460 1GB @ SLI
    I ran BC2 w/o evga app (used Fraps to measure avg fps, numbers at end of post), still the same terminate bug.

    btw, latest Fraps and EVGA Precision Tool ran together will crash any game, that I tested with last driver, haven't tried with this one.

    BC2, 5min MP on empty server, blowing buildings as much as I could:
    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    23049, 300000, 52, 110, 76.830


    2048x1152, 8xCSAA, 16xAF, All High, HBAO enabled, W7 x64, Stock GTX260 SLI - it runs like any other game now, couldn't belive this after the BETA..lol
     
  19. soddit112

    soddit112 Master Guru

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    KFA2 GTX560 Ti
    combined with the patch that was released yesterday, these are running very well. i was getting roughly 35fps avg in single player with all setting on high, HBAO off, 0xMSAA, now getting similar (perhaps higher) frames with all settings high, HBAO off, 4xMSAA. i dont have a precise benchmark, unfortunately, but there appears to be a pretty big perfance boost :)
     
  20. Weesni

    Weesni Master Guru

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    AORUS RTX 3080 M10G
    I dont think the bc2 close error is driver related. Last 3 tries it closed correct.

    I found out that bc2 dont like any other apps in backround....
     

Share This Page