NV4x softmodding with RivaTuner 2.0 RC15.1. Frequently asked questions.

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by Unwinder, Sep 6, 2004.

  1. Sjah

    Sjah Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get almost the same on my Xfx LE too, except the third line is different: 3c03c333 is at mine : 3c0bc333 .
    Also get a cannot dump bios, just like alot of LE users.
     
  2. humppa76

    humppa76 Guest

    The Gigabyte's BIOS (F2) is also not supported by RivaTuner.
    I'm getting the "Cannot dump NVIDIA VGA BIOS information" on a Gigabyte GV-N68128DH.

    I get the following Hexdump:

    256-bit NV40 (A1,12x1,5vp) with 128MB DDR

    Reg 00001850 : 0000000
    Reg 00001090 : 0000000
    Reg 0000c040 : 3c03c333
    Reg 00300000 : eb7caa55

    Hope it helps for supporting this BIOS in RT 2.0 RC15.2
     
  3. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,455
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    It is NOT unsupported BIOS. It is unsupported flashrom chip.
     
  4. humppa76

    humppa76 Guest

    Hmm, that's quite strange. I remember when I had the MSI NX6800LE, I could not dump BIOS information when using the default LE-BIOS. After flashing the card with a BIOS from a "vanilla" MSI 6800, RT could read out the BIOS information without any problems.
    That's why I was assuming that it was due to the BIOS...
     

  5. Lomax

    Lomax Guest

    i have a gainward 6800 le , too

    and i use the command line "RivaTuner.exe /wr1850,0 /rr1850 /rr1090 /rrc040 /rr300000"

    result:
    256-bit NV40(A1,8x1,4vp) with 128 DDR

    Reg 00001850 : 00000000
    Reg 00001090 : 00000000
    Reg 0000c040 : 3c03c333
    Reg 00300000 : eb7baa55
     
  6. crusty2000

    crusty2000 Guest

    Hello!
    After i klicked the "Grafic subsystem diagnostic report" in the Rivatuner menue i get the following message:

    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $ffffffffff NVIDIA VGA BIOS information
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $ffffffffff Cannot dump NVIDIA VGA BIOS information

    Does this mean that my LeadTek 6800LE has a locked Bios?
    What must i do to mod this Card at all Pipelines!?
    THX for your help!

    greez Crusty
     
  7. Skazz

    Skazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 8800GT 512MB
    It means your 6800LE has the same sort of BIOS as all other 6800LEs so far... Unwinder has solved this issue in Rivatuner 15.2, so just be patient and you'll get to see what the contents of VGA BIOS dump is :)
     
  8. crusty2000

    crusty2000 Guest

    an where do i get the RivaTuner 15.2 ??
    THX!

    greez Crusty
     
  9. humppa76

    humppa76 Guest

    @crusty2000: Did you read at least a bit of whats posted in this thread? Two -really- stupid questions within 24h... Sorry...
     
  10. crusty2000

    crusty2000 Guest

    yes I read the tread but only the first few pages...
    sorry! :rolleyes:

    I also get the following result when i type:
    RivaTuner.exe /wr1850,0 /rr1850 /rr1090 /rrc040 /rr300000

    Information screen:

    256-bit NV40 (A 1,8x1,4vp) with 128MB DDR
    Reg 00001850 : 00000000
    Reg 00001090 : 00000000
    Reg 0000c040 : 3c03c333
    Reg 00300000 : eb7baa55

    but I doesn't find any information when 15.2 is realised or where i can download it at the time! sorry... :(

    greez Crusty
     

  11. evert.999

    evert.999 Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    vga 512kb
    i don't get it, what has it to do with a 'different' flash chip, with the standaart 6800 LE (aopen) i also dont get a bios dump, but who care, i have nothing on that information, its pretty useless for a normal person, unless you want to see the bios version you have (well, take a good look when you turn on your pc :p) or just see wich BIT version you have?

    Anyway, in the first hour i had my 6800 LE card i already flashed different bioses in it :). The aopen le (and xfx) are the only one that gives this dump error ****... Al the others just worked fine on my aopen le :p so i dont think its my chip that sucked...

    Anyway hope the new rivatuner comes real soon now :)
     
  12. super_falcon

    super_falcon Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Chaintech 6800NU (soft modded :))
    Hi all i have installed the new riva tuner and now im geting this:
    $ffffffffff NVIDIA specific display adapter information
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $0100000000 Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (12x1,5vp)
    $0100000001 Hardwired ID : 0041 (ROM strapped to 0041)
    $0100000002 Memory bus : 256-bit
    $0100000003 Memory type : DDR (RAM configuration 06)
    $0100000004 Memory amount : 131072KB
    $0100000005 Core clock : 324.000MHz
    $0100000006 Memory clock : 351.000MHz (702.000MHz effective)
    $0100000007 Reference clock : 27.000MHz
    $010000000b HW masked units : pixel 1000b, vertex 001000b
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $ffffffffff NVIDIA VGA BIOS information
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $1100000000 Title : nv40 p212 sku0 VGA BIOS
    $1100000002 Version : 5.40.02.12.01
    $1100000001 BMP version : 5.28
    $1100000100 BIT version : 1.00
    $1100010000 Perf. level 0 : 325MHz/350MHz/1.20V
    $1100020000 VID bitmask : 00000011b
    $1100020100 Voltage level 0 : 1.10V, VID 00000000b
    $1100020101 Voltage level 1 : 1.20V, VID 00000001b
    $1100020102 Voltage level 2 : 1.40V, VID 00000010b
    $1100000003 SW masked units : none

    Well this must be the 1 card that have no masked units, but is strange in previous version of rivatuner i had 16 something strange?
     
  13. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,455
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    super_falcon

    What about simply reading What's new in ReadMe? Is there at least one non-lazy user knowing about documentation?

    Quoting the info you _should_ read:

     
  14. persian_king

    persian_king Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    leadtek 6800 128mb
    sorry unwinder to ask this

    but im not good enough in english

    i see this in rivatuner for my leadtek 6800nu =$1100000003 SW masked units : none

    so it means i dont need to softmode and pipelines r already enabled all ?cuz none=16x1,6vp ???

    in main display it says(256bit nv40(A1,12x1,5vp)with 128 mb ddr)
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2004
  15. AlecRyben

    AlecRyben Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5x580 2x590 2x780Ti 1x970
    "SW masked units: none" means that all masked units are HW (hardware) masked.
    In your case, since the main display says 12x1,5vp - there is one pipeline quad (four pipes) and one VP that's hardmasked. You can try unmasking them with installing NVSTRAP that comes with the newest Rivatuner.
     

  16. persian_king

    persian_king Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    leadtek 6800 128mb
    k thx

    i have latest rivatuner

    in nvstrap driver section i clicked install then customize and ticked two hwmasked ones

    should i enable =allow enabling hardware masked unit)))when i click and check it ....says it may damage your card do u want to continue....

    to softmode my card should i enable that option or not?
     
  17. super_falcon

    super_falcon Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Chaintech 6800NU (soft modded :))
    When i have clicked that option it dosent appear nothing saying that i could damage my card, and yes you should enable that option ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2004
  18. revamperz

    revamperz Guest

    i also scared of the freaky disclaimer, but until now.. everyone who choose the softmod path must bear its wrath!

    seriously, theres none case of toast vga ;)
     
  19. Scief

    Scief Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward 6800GT @Ultra
    Hell this is a long thread, I stopped reading at 6th page, but hey, for the pipelines, this looks very easy

    http://www.guru3d.com/newsitem.php?id=1750

    Is that version avaible yet?

    (planning to buy 6800/6800 GT/ 6800 golden sample and wanting to get everything out of it so no need for upgrade for atleast for two years, or if there is, I'll have to stick with it).

    And by the way, I maybe get 2500+ athlon from my brother, and I'll oc it to 2800+, Will that bottleneck my card much ( I mean some of listed above what I plan to buy)

    For me, that FAG doesn't look too clear, I wonder if anyone knows any similar that is more easily understandable.

    And people talk about the memory, which is still different than 6800gt, is there anything that can done to that?
     
  20. My Nvidia VGA Bios information report does not show a line "GPU units mask". It does, however, show "SW masked units : none".

    The "NVIDIA specific display adaptor information" report shows "HW masked units : none"

    I have an eVGA 6800 Limited Edition that shows "256-bit NV40 (A1, 16X1, 6vp) with 256MB DDR" in the device custimization toolbar. I am trying to find out if this card is disabled and how.

    Why isn't "GPU units mask" shown?



    The entire report is below:


    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $0000000000 Description : NVIDIA GeForce 6800
    $0000000001 Vendor ID : 10de (NVIDIA)
    $0000000002 Device ID : 0041
    $0000000003 Location : bus 1, device 0, function 0
    $0000000004 Bus type : AGP revision 3.0
    $0000000005 AGP status : enabled
    $0000000006 AGP rate : 4x 8x supported, 8x selected
    $0000000007 AGP SBA : hardwired, enabled
    $0000000008 AGP FW : supported, enabled
    $0000000009 Base address 0 : f8000000 (memory range)
    $000000000a Base address 1 : e0000000 (memory range)
    $000000000b Base address 2 : f9000000 (memory range)
    $000000000c Base address 3 : none
    $000000000d Base address 4 : none
    $000000000e Base address 5 : none
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $ffffffffff NVIDIA specific display adapter information
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $0100000000 Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (16x1,6vp)
    $0100000001 Hardwired ID : 0040 (ROM strapped to 0041)
    $0100000002 Memory bus : 256-bit
    $0100000003 Memory type : DDR (RAM configuration 07)
    $0100000004 Memory amount : 262144KB
    $0100000005 Core clock : 372.937MHz
    $0100000006 Memory clock : 573.750MHz (1147.500MHz effecti...
    $0100000007 Reference clock : 27.000MHz
    $010000000b HW masked units : none
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $ffffffffff NVIDIA VGA BIOS information
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $1100000000 Title : nv40 p201 sku12 VGA BIOS
    $1100000002 Version : 5.40.02.26.17
    $1100000100 BIT version : 1.00
    $1100020000 VID bitmask : 00000011b
    $1100020100 Voltage level 0 : 1.10V, VID 00000000b
    $1100020101 Voltage level 1 : 1.30V, VID 00000010b
    $1100020102 Voltage level 2 : 1.40V, VID 00000001b
    $1100000003 SW masked units : none
     

Share This Page