1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NTFS Disable Last Access Update File Time Stamp Windows 10 April 1803 Update

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Watcher, May 27, 2018.

1. Watcher

Watcher Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
    I have been applying this particular registry tweak for many years however with the Windows 10 April 1803 update, the value that I entered no longer worked and even caused an active foreground Window pane in use problem with inactive Window panes momentarily popping up or even steeling focus from the foreground Window pane on my box.

The value and location that worked up until 1803 was:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\FileSystem]
    "NTFSDisableLastAccessUpdate"=dword:00000001

The value and location with Windows 10 April 1803 update is:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\FileSystem]
    "NTFSDisableLastAccessUpdate"=dword:80000001

Same KEY name, same DWORD32 name, different value

Here is an older article from Windows XP days from the How-To Geek web site.

https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/win...disabling-last-access-updating-in-windows-xp/

You could download the " DisableLastAccessUpdate Registry Tweak file" from the web site, change the value as stated above and then import the registry file back into the registry if you are uncomfortable using the Windows Registry editor.

As always, make a system restore point or back up the registry before making this change.
    A Registry back up tool that I use on a regular basis, description and download locations can be found here:

http://www.tweaking.com/content/page/registry_backup.html
    http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/Back-Up-and-Recovery/Tweaking-com-Registry-Backup.shtml
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php/Tweaking.com_-_Registry_Backup_d7786.html

The reference I have found to this change was at this Windows 10 forums web site: