No file created in DXCache folder

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Frecsy, Mar 3, 2024.

Tags:
  1. Frecsy

    Frecsy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 12GB
    Guys I have a problem that I couldn't resolve by myself. A lot of my games tend to load shaders for enormous times when I load in so I checked the DXCache folder to see if there are any files. My folder is empty and in nvidia control panel its set to unlimited. Does someone know a fix for this?
     
  2. alatariell

    alatariell Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 4090 Aorus
    They moved it again i think. Its not in local or roaming anymore, its in locallow now:

    AppData\LocalLow\NVIDIA\PerDriverVersion
     
    DmitriyWZR and tsunami231 like this.
  3. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    ^ This.
     
  4. Frecsy

    Frecsy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 12GB
    yea I was looking in that folder.
     

  5. cricket bones

    cricket bones Master Guru

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW

    Do you use any 'junk cleaner' type of software? Sometimes those can clean out caches or something else you don't want.
     
  6. Frecsy

    Frecsy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 12GB
    No.
     
  7. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,839
    Likes Received:
    1,920
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    hmm they did move it again. Prior folder still had cache files in it, this was install over old one with out DDU though, use windows clean up function? maybe that did it?
     
  8. Frecsy

    Frecsy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 12GB
    never ever used it. The problem is that they don't even get created and this is not a 1 game problem. I have countless games doing it.
     
  9. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    Try putting NVCP back to the default cache size and see if that changes anything.
     
  10. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,839
    Likes Received:
    1,920
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    Use DDU and install drivers again?
     

  11. Frecsy

    Frecsy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 12GB
    I've already tried that.
     
  12. Frecsy

    Frecsy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 12GB
    I've tried this and now the whole NVIDIA folder is missing in locallow.
    Edit: The folder is now there out of nowhere BUT its still empty after playing for hours.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2024
  13. cricket bones

    cricket bones Master Guru

    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW
    What is the game you're talking about....
     
  14. Frecsy

    Frecsy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 12GB
    I've played CS2 some apex and 3 or 4 other singleplayer games.
     
  15. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,839
    Likes Received:
    1,920
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    is it really empty? or for some reason is your system hidden the files?
     

  16. Frecsy

    Frecsy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 12GB
    I see hidden files if you meant that. My guess is either its instantly gets deleted or somehow it isnt able to create the files bc the foldets got created when games tried to save shader cache files. But i am not an expert so i may be false.
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,897
    Likes Received:
    13,841
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    Maybe worth to try to lunch a game as administrator - to test whether DX cache folder is created with some wrong access restrictions.
     
  18. janos666

    janos666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,686
    Likes Received:
    421
    GPU:
    MSI RTX3080 10Gb
    Aren't these files managed by some driver process/service (that's always running independly of application processes)?
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,897
    Likes Received:
    13,841
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    Part of DX code is executed in user process before jumping to kernel level. I don`t know where shader cache is managed, but it can be in user process.

    @Frecsy

    Also worth to check the security attributes for the DX cache folder.
     
  20. Frecsy

    Frecsy Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 12GB
    Did both with no luck. I suspected the security attributes too but everything seemed to be normal and I lunched multiple games in admin with no luck.
     

Share This Page