1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Windows 10 build update can cause high CPU activity

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 2, 2019.

  1. joe187

    joe187 Master Guru

    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX1070 FE
    Better off just staying on at least 1 build previous to whatever is current when it comes to win10. Even then, sometimes there is issues. But overall a much smoother experience.
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,049
    Likes Received:
    788
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    sometimes there are good reasons to make the jump.
     
    airbud7 likes this.
  3. airbud7

    airbud7 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,269
    Likes Received:
    3,880
    GPU:
    pny gtx 1060 xlr8
    I upgraded from 7 pro to 10 pro back in march...it says 1809/ is that good?

    ps: that's what it gave me then.

    Edit: it works fine/ I really like it.
     
  4. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,049
    Likes Received:
    788
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    i hopped over to 1903 while 18362 was still in preview phase so i could test retpoline on my win10 pc, found a bug in a virtual dvd/cd driver that is commonly used and let them know early so they could resolve it before the may release :p

    there were some things fixed too, like the issue with latencymon where you were forced to restart the application to start logging a second time on 1803/1809.
     
    airbud7 likes this.

  5. ht_addict

    ht_addict Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Asus Vega64(CF)
    I've been using a Bloatware Free Version of Win10 for the past year. Nothing better than a Operating system free of all the crap that infests it. Then I use 3rd party apps to prevent Win10 ftom updating and adding them back.
     
  6. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,049
    Likes Received:
    788
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    I call that Win10 broken edition, because something at some point is not going to work.
     
    Aura89 likes this.
  7. Cidious

    Cidious Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GB RTX 2070S G OC
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2019
  8. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,049
    Likes Received:
    788
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Lets not talk about an unsubstantiated TPU article that is actually 100% due to Audio drivers and not the OS.
     
    Aura89, malitze and Alessio1989 like this.
  9. ht_addict

    ht_addict Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Asus Vega64(CF)
    I take it you have never tried it. Try before you comment. No issues if done right.
     
  10. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,049
    Likes Received:
    788
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    There are always issues.
    Something will always eventually come up not working because of a reliance on something removed.

    Has always been the case since nlite days with windows xp.
     

  11. The Laughing Ma

    The Laughing Ma Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    462
    GPU:
    WC 980GTX
    I can't remember ever seeing a Windows version having so many real issues, BSOD, at least two if not three updates that have prevented computers from booting this year alone, high CPU usage, etc. I would blame the media I consume more readily making the failings of the OS easier to find compared to back in the day but the thing is I am still using W8.1 and I am not reading every other week about how the latest update to W8.1 has caused computers to stop working or caused issues x, y and z.

    Is W10 really this bad?
     
  12. wavetrex

    wavetrex Master Guru

    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
    1. Open Windows Explorer as Administrator
    2. Go to Windows\SystemApps, find Microsoft.Windows.Cortana_cw5n1h2txyewy
    3. Hit Rename and try renaming it (for example by adding .bak) - It will say it's in use and cannot be renamed (Retry/Cancel)
    4. Kill the SearchUI process in task manager and quickly hit Retry (needs to be under 2 seconds or it restarts itself, so be a quick mouser)

    Enjoy Windows 10 without Cortana bloatware.

    (Note: The "bloat" will still be there obviously, but at least it's not going to run, since by renaming it's folder you effectively broke the app)
    If for some outworldly reason you want Cortana back, just rename back to original name and reboot PC.

    p.s. No idea what happens on the next major update, I'm guessing it will "fix" itself back into place, but until that time comes... no Craptana.
     
  13. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,049
    Likes Received:
    788
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    don't go around renaming crap in the windows install.
     
    HandR, Alessio1989 and Undying like this.
  14. ht_addict

    ht_addict Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Asus Vega64(CF)
    Shouldn't be making baseless assumptions without trying and passing it of as advice
     
  15. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,049
    Likes Received:
    788
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    you wut?

    Remove the package properly, don't rename.
     

  16. ht_addict

    ht_addict Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Asus Vega64(CF)
    Based on what facts? As I have said been using Bloatware Free Editions with "ZERO" issues. Again, try before you make assumptions.
     
  17. wavetrex

    wavetrex Master Guru

    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
    Taking ownership of NTFS files and removing it completely is an option indeed, but storage space is not what bothers me.
    Cortana is just a few MB.

    What bothered me is the CPU usage, which is completely resolved by not allowing it to run at all.
    (It also disables search in Start Menu, but who gives a crap, never used that anyway)

    "Ancient guru" and still a noob. Sad.
     
  18. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,049
    Likes Received:
    788
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    NO!
    this leaves you with more issues!, remove the package properly with the powershell >:|

    also this is fixed now in 18362.352.
     
    Fox2232 and Alessio1989 like this.
  19. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    224
    GPU:
    .
    Is an option like cutting off your foot with a chainsaw because you have spur on a toe.
     
  20. Clawedge

    Clawedge Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,465
    Likes Received:
    669
    GPU:
    Radeon 570

Share This Page