New Windows 10 build update can cause high CPU activity

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 2, 2019.

  1. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    I used the same fix but in the form of a bat file and it worked.
     
  2. sverek

    sverek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,092
    Likes Received:
    2,938
    GPU:
    NOVIDIA -0.5GB
    So this logic allows M$ to mess up whenever, however it wants?

    I know there lots of pointing fingers towards M$ and current bug is not OS breaking, but it gets attention nontheless.
     
    fry178 likes this.
  3. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,360
    Likes Received:
    896
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    This is one of the few times I've been affected by a windows bug.

    Setup the laptop on 1903h and it updated to this latest version.
    After that search stopped working and cortana was using 40% CPU.

    Of course I thought I f*cked up something by doing my usual tweaks and ended up creating a new user account which fixed the problem.
    That was annoying to say the least.
     
    airbud7 and fry178 like this.
  4. gbengoo

    gbengoo New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    geforce 9600gt 512
    Possible fix for MSI hardware Users: I just discovered that if I disable MSI DRAGON CENTER utility , it brings my CPU utilization back to normal even though I have the update installed. it seems to be a conflict with the MSI app. Just check its not installed on your pc or just disable/exit it from background apps.
     

  5. fernake

    fernake Master Guru

    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Asus strix GTX 1080 OC
    This update only made my games stutter but my 5.1 sound of creative sound blaster z also stopped working, everything was uninstalling the update and it worked normally.
     
  6. Ho3n3r

    Ho3n3r Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 290X Lightning
    Is there anything specific that would cause the high CPU usage - a setting or something? I've updated 2 PCs since Sunday and neither have had this problem.
     
  7. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,594
    Likes Received:
    3,568
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    LTSC. Cough.

    On a more serious note, I'm gald there's people noticing this with not highest end rigs... I'd probably go crazy running into this with an old CPU and suddenly crapping out on the performance one fine tuned.
     
    airbud7 and schmidtbag like this.
  8. chinobino

    chinobino Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    GTX980Ti Lightning
    Exactly, it takes forever searching only to find nothing I ask for.

    I installed a 3rd party program (Everything) and it finds what I am looking for on every drive simultaneously in a second.
     
  9. Clawedge

    Clawedge Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,511
    Likes Received:
    771
    GPU:
    Radeon 570
    It should just be renamed from update to downdate
     
    fry178 likes this.
  10. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,143
    Likes Received:
    2,379
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Didnt had any issues but i just reverted back to .295 just for the peice of mind.
     

  11. Witcher29

    Witcher29 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Gaming X
    Noticed this aswell only on 1 page on facebook the webpage freezes then when i check cpu load its over 75% real quick then its stuck on 12% if i close the facebook page its gone but it wil hang for awhile.
    Hopefully ms wil fix this.
     
  12. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,991
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    I remember when Deneb cpus had this problem in Windows 7, 8 and 10 lol.
     
  13. Clanger

    Clanger Master Guru

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    igpu
    ive just gone back to windows 7 and its a joy.
     
  14. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    507
    GPU:
    .
    that's not a fix, that's a mitigation.
     
  15. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,852
    Likes Received:
    507
    GPU:
    .
    That's not about telemetry, it's about not having that bing shìt in the local search.
     
    fry178 likes this.

  16. GREGIX

    GREGIX Master Guru

    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    2080S
    What a surprise...
    Although I do own w10pro license, I am still on w10 LTSB 1607, just because all of this update and no control over ur damn system ms policy.
    I mean, I have had(and still have, but not using atm) w7, and was waaaay better than this w10 crap, even LTSB.
    Man, sometimes I need fkn youtube tutorials to find damn thing in this system to eneble/disable, that I know is somewhere 1-2 clicks away, or should be, like in w7, but no, there are submenus and fkn 0 user friendly experience all the way.Or logical operation...
    And all users who auto update their w10 systems, they simply deserve what they get...
    On my sons PC is regular w10, had serious issues and yeah, youtube/google help, to disable all damn unnecessary services and WU, because that damn thing can revert changes sometimes, and bam, "do not turn off your pc while updating" or so message appears...
     
    fry178 likes this.
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,424
    Likes Received:
    6,325
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Turn your network connection as a metered one to shut WU completely. (No need to watch tutorials for that.)
     
    386SX and Fox2232 like this.
  18. smashmambo

    smashmambo Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    GTX 970 4GB
    Ages ago I followed a Youtube video describing how to slim down Windows 10 with scripts that were linked in the video description. For months my PC had been working fine until I downloaded this update yesterday and noticed the CPU usage while the PC was idle. Today I have done a full reformat of Windows 10 from scratch, installed this same update and it's working perfectly fine.

    I don't think MS can be completely to blame for this, as my friends and family who didn't apply the tweaks / scripts I did have no problems what so ever with it. I think from now on I'm just gonna leave this OS alone and keep it stock as it's performance is great out the box for me.
     
    mbk1969 likes this.
  19. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    211
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    spoke to soon, after 2nd reboot i now see 9-14% load when it was 0-1% (on idle).
    since i turned off lots of tele, i couldnt revert/activate anything and just recovered an image from before the updates installed.

    perfect example why i still do regular images of the OS drive, even if everything works fine...
     
  20. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    762
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I am fine with whatever it is called and I will not stop using Windows .
     

Share This Page