New Windows 10 build update can cause high CPU activity

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 2, 2019.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    45,189
    Likes Received:
    11,925
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    joe187, fluidz and Thunk_It like this.
  2. sverek

    sverek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,070
    Likes Received:
    2,973
    GPU:
    NOVIDIA -0.5GB
    Somewhere in alternative universe Win10 is not poisoned with bloatware and actually a decent OS.
     
    Brasky, joe187, Order_66 and 4 others like this.
  3. anticupidon

    anticupidon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,991
    Likes Received:
    3,285
    GPU:
    Polaris/Vega/Navi
    This alternative universe is some light years distance, same amount of time needed to fix Win10 mess.
     
  4. spine

    spine Member Guru

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    38
    GPU:
    Titan Xp CE + EK WB
    No, no sadly there isn't.
     

  5. barbacot

    barbacot Master Guru

    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    742
    GPU:
    Asus 3080 Strix OC
    That's why I disabled windows update (win 10 pro).
     
  6. Clawedge

    Clawedge Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    925
    GPU:
    Radeon 570
    [​IMG]

    This is the typical reaction every time MS releases an update.

    Sigh....
     
  7. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,808
    Likes Received:
    3,370
    GPU:
    6900XT+AW@240Hz
    Who here uses Cortana or has her even enabled? (She's no longer mandatory.)
     
  8. cryohellinc

    cryohellinc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,522
    Likes Received:
    2,955
    GPU:
    RX 6750XT/ MAC M1
    Potential solution for those who have the issue.
     
  9. gopher04

    gopher04 Master Guru

    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX780 Classified
    Correction..
    This is the typical reaction every time MS releases an update.
    for Win 10 Sigh....
     
  10. Kaarme

    Kaarme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    2,025
    GPU:
    Sapphire 390
    Was never an option to begin with. The blessings of living in a small country with an obscure language.
     

  11. Stairmand

    Stairmand Master Guru

    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    162
    GPU:
    RTX3090 Aorus Maste
    "which made sure that the search on the desktop did not work anymore"

    This would assume that search has ever actually worked properly to begin with.
     
    Order_66 likes this.
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,147
    Likes Received:
    11,355
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    You can joke, but can you point to ideal (for entertainment, for work - i.e. universal) OS?
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2019
  13. insp1re2600

    insp1re2600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    1,012
    GPU:
    3090 Vision OC 24GB
    Linux Mint is suitable.
     
    Order_66 likes this.
  14. Richard Nutman

    Richard Nutman Master Guru

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    111
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5700 XT
    I have a high cpu bug lately in Windows 10 but it's different to this. For years my system has been rock solid, and now I think MS have broken the scheduler.

    About an hour after boot, Chrome saturates download bandwidth (350Mbps) and it causes the system to lockup, because "System Interrupts" service goes ballistic, completely freezing the entire machine.

    Pulling the network cable out restores the machine to working perfectly.
    So it's either windows scheduler has broken, or Intel network driver is broken. Why Chrome is saturating download with crazy network data that pegs the network subsystem is beyond me.
    Very annoying.
     
  15. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,797
    Likes Received:
    1,161
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    Remove the photo app. It was indexing constantly on my machine recently and would not let my CPU clock down.
     

  16. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,367
    Likes Received:
    8,648
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    Didnt notice any high cpu usage after the latest update. Total cpu usage for 12threads is 0.4% while idling. Do have to use the search to replicate the issue?
     
  17. MaidenFred

    MaidenFred Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    MSI 3080Ti Suprim X
    To solve it, jump to

    C:\Windows\SystemApps\Microsoft.Windows.Cortana_cw5n1h2txyewy\cache

    and delete files in the 2 folders (cache/desktop and cache/local/desktop).


    Don't delete folders, just files inside
    You will have to take ownership these folders before...

    I found it somewhere and tried it with success
     
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,147
    Likes Received:
    11,355
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    Windows is suitable too, I was asking for "ideal" (no bugs, no stupidities)...
     
    386SX and RzrTrek like this.
  19. MBTP

    MBTP Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX590
    My God, i just can't wait steam on linux to equalize in performance over windows, i can't stand windows anymore, just a mess, even if Mac Os was more gaming focused i would be there, Microsoft is a pile of...problems.
     
    Order_66 likes this.
  20. GreenAlien

    GreenAlien Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 OC
    So.. I had that high CPU spike problem...

    Then I read about a "solution" (deleting "BingSearchEnabled" key).. installed again.. and no CPU spike. Nice.

    Only.. suddenly the Start menu no longer worked and forced me to sign off every time I touched it. sfc /scannow found problems, but after those were corrected "start" still failed..

    After uninstalling KB4512941 a second time everything worked again. I'm staying far away from this one for the time being..
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.

Share This Page