New Upgrade from 3570k to R7 3800x

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by pedromr2, Dec 2, 2019.

  1. pedromr2

    pedromr2 Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro OC+
    Hello Guys,

    I have just upgraded my 6 year old build that i am going to list bellow to a new 2020 build, i am going to place the items bellow and the i want your opinion of the things to do first when i finish assembeling the PC,what would you install software and what tests would you do.

    Old Machine:

    Intel i5-3570K (4.2 OC 24/7)
    Hyper-12 cooler
    GIGABYTE Z77-X-DH3
    Hyper-X 2x8 GB 1600MHZ DDR3
    Sapphire Fury Nitro
    Samsung 940 Pro SSD

    New Machine:

    Ryzen 7 3800x (got i at the price of the 3700x)
    Corsair Hydro Series H115i RGB Platinum 280mm
    Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
    SSD M.2 2280 Western Digital Black SN750 1TB 3D NAND NVMe
    G.SKILL Trident Z RGB (For AMD) 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4-3200MHz CL16
    Corsair RM Series RM850 (2019) 80+ Gold Full Modular
    Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Nitro+ 8GB Special Edition

    Hope you liked it and now i let me know what would you do.

    Thanks
     
  2. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    192
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    that C16 3200 might hold you back a bit due to it being Hynix ram but everything else looks great.
     
  3. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,614
    Likes Received:
    2,035
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Throw away that 5700xt and go with 2070 super instead. Cl14 3200 or cl16 3600 would be better also.
     
  4. GarrettL

    GarrettL Member Guru

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2070S
    I just put together a 3800x and Asus Tuf using Corsair LPX 3200 memory.

    It was a tough decision for the gpu but I did end up going with a GTX 2070S. The Radeon would be fine as well since most of the current games don't use ray tracing.

    You are going to love the speed. No regrets with the x570 so far.

    Gaming is a very smooth experience.
     

  5. RaynerJa

    RaynerJa Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    I did the same, i have a i5 3570k + z77a-gd65, my new radeon 5700 is not working well with this 8 year old system(artifacts during boot, crashes in heavy games like Hunt), so bought a 3800x + x570 Aorus Elite, G Skill 3600 c16, waiting for it to arrive, this kit seems like the best cost-benefit, at least here in brazil where the difference betwen a 3700x and a 3800x is very small right now.
     
  6. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    Yup, I also went from a 3570K to a 3800X, and its night and day.

    I agree with Kool64 above, the only thing I see is the memory.
    Generally 3200-C14 or 3600-C16 would be sweet, the 3200 can generally go up to 3600 too.

    For software, thats up to you ;)

    Any games will be super smooth.
    Might want to stress test it for a bit, Prime95, UniGine Benchmarks, etc.

    Then just enjoy :)
     
  7. pedromr2

    pedromr2 Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro OC+
    So i recieved my new 3800x as i said above assembled everything and everything is working well,i have set XMP (3200) on BIOS then went to RM and set PBO (+200)+AUTO OC hitted apply and test and everything is great,i see around 4.45 all core and some times 4.55,temperatures around 65/70º .

    I wanted to know if this is the best setup in terms of OC for gaming as i dont to workload often so trying to with the max single core performance,i just see some time the voltage is around 1.4/1.45 is it normal?

    Do you suggeste any other way or overclocking this CPU or do you leave it like this?

    Do you recomend doing anything else in the BIOS.

    Justr tryin to get the most out of the CPU without any worries.
     
  8. GarrettL

    GarrettL Member Guru

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2070S
    I'm running my 3800x at stock clocks. Runs every game I throw at t with ease.

    They typically don't have much overclocking headroom from the reviews.
     
  9. IceVip

    IceVip Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    74
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti @ 2050
    If you're really tryina get the most outta the cpu then you should listen to what people said about your ram. That's pretty much it.
     
  10. pedromr2

    pedromr2 Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro OC+
    So everything i did so far is ok and normal now i should try and bump the memory to 3600 with the dram calculator is that it?
     
    Evildead666 likes this.

  11. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    657
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    You have a 5700XT if you game higher than 1920x1080 then maybe look at some testing I did,All you need is tighter memory timings.Check spoiler for B-DIE 3200Mhz settings.

    https://i.**********/J4CbLvLZ/Memory-Chart.png
    ♦ 2133Mhz (16GB)CL10-10-10-10-21
    ♦ 2400mhz (16GB)CL10-11-11-11-21
    ♦ 2933mhz (16GB)CL12-14-13-13-26
    ♦ 3200mhz (16GB)CL14-14-14-14-28
    ♦ 3733mhz (16GB)CL16-17-16-16-34
    ♦ 4000mhz (16GB)CL16-18-17-17-36 -(memory clock 2000x2/fabric clock 1800x2/memory controller 1000x2)
    ♦ 4200mhz (16GB)CL16-18-17-17-36 -(memory clock 2100x2/fabric clock 1800x2/memory controller 1050x2)

    RAM TIMINGS USED FULL NO AUTO
     
  12. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    192
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    C16 Gskill is definitely not Bdie and it’s extremely likely it’s Hynix AFR which won’t clock much past 3200.
     
  13. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    657
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    My Hynix RAM clocked just as good as the B-Die Ram.You just have to be more selective in tRFC settings,so that is why I stated the Ram settings were for B-Die.If OP needs help ,i am sure someone can give some advice.
     
  14. liviut

    liviut Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080/8GB
    what kind of hynix do you have? cjr?
     
  15. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    192
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I could only get my Hynix AFR to 3333 with sloppy timings even on my 3700x. I had two of the same kit that did that.
     

  16. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    657
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    It was not CJR,I think MFR(I would have to look at old screens shots) which I sold awhile back but CJR can get better speeds than B-Die from what I seen with some people.
    I have to say this,memory is not that important and to me you have asked more questions about Dram on the AMD side than anyone I seen.It really is not that important ,buying a better GPU is better idea.

    LOL you suck,I could do 3600Mhz on Hynix and B-Die even on a 2600X CPU (which is very rare and I only seen a couple people who did that).I even seen people on Hynix surpass 3600Mhz Dram on Ryzen+ although I could not do that much.
    The op's kit can do 3600Mhz I bet with timings and enough Dram voltage.The Ryzen 3XXXX lineup is no slouch on memory and is better than Intel as far as reaching certain speeds the memory is rated for.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
  17. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    192
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I bet $5 it wasn’t AFR Hynix.
     
  18. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    657
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    You won,I said MFR.I send you the cash.
    Heyyyyyyyy you can not bet after I said what it was,you so tricky.
     
  19. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    192
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    It makes a huge difference though. MFR is mediocre but AFR is absolutely nightmarish with Ryzen. Until my 3700X I couldn't even get the kit I had to run at 3200. Sadly Gskill skimps on their C16 3200 chips.
     
  20. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    657
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I believe you it makes a difference if you say so.Good luck to OP on whatever he decides
     

Share This Page