New sapphire amd R9 290 giving me a black screen, any ideas?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Ohnooze, Nov 11, 2014.

  1. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    You mean DOS ?
     
  2. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    that's right...I knew that.
     
  3. calusari

    calusari Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia GTX 2080
    yeah. everything you need to make the bootable usb stick is in the onedrive file.

    just follow the steps i outlined
     
  4. calusari

    calusari Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia GTX 2080
    Are you using legacy or the UEFI bios?
     

  5. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    This works for both 290 and 290x right?
     
  6. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    The one called Sapphire "R9 290 TriX OC BIOS.rar" from your first post I think.
     
  7. calusari

    calusari Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia GTX 2080
    Yeah its the same for both 290 and 290x.

    I mean your computer setup. Are you using UEFI BIOS on your mobo?
     
  8. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    lol...I have no clue.
     
  9. calusari

    calusari Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia GTX 2080
    whatever it doesn't really matter

    the R9 290 TriX OC BIOS.rar

    has two bioses in it once you extract it

    flash each one to separate sides of the switch

    if your computer won't boot when you are done just flip the switch to the other side and it should be the correct bios and it should reboot fine.
     
  10. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    If I flash both then I no longer have the original bios right? If I flip the switch after flashing both sides how would that help if my pc won't start?

    Sorry if that's a stupid question...
     

  11. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Use GPUz to save your original BIOSs before you do anything
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/

    And don't flash both BIOSs at the same time, flash one, boot using that BIOS to make sure it worked - if it didn't, you still have the other one to use to fix it

    If you flash both and neither work, you're gonna be trying to flash blind, or have to use another GPU
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2014
  12. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    I see...that's kind of what I was getting at.
     
  13. calusari

    calusari Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia GTX 2080
    the originals would be gone

    because it would correspond to whatever your mobo is setup for (UEFI or legacy)
     
  14. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    Ah, that's why you asked.
     
  15. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    Thanks for taking the time to help a noob. I have been building PCs for a while now but have always stayed away from stuff like bios for the most part. I have updated my mobo bios a time or two but that's about it.
     

  16. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    Flashing a graphics card BIOS is similar to flashing a motherboard BIOS about 10-20years ago where you had to boot into DOS to flash the BIOS by typing the command it told you to type in. Now a days you can flash your motherboard BIOS within the BIOS itself.

    Also GPU-Z will also tell you which BIOS you have active on your card by having a U at the end for UFEI and non U for legacy.
     
  17. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    Ok guys I got the bootable usb and got to the point where I type:

    atiflash -p 0 285PF5HB.U44 -f

    ^ I typed it exactly like that and it says "bad command". And yes I copied the two files into the flashdrive.

    I am supposed to type it exactly like that right?
     
  18. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    One sec...I forgot the exe. brb
     
  19. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    Fixed....done ty so much guys!!!!
     
  20. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    Max temp playing BF4 was 70C
     

Share This Page