New Mod for Cyberpunk 2077: Optimizes RAM buffer pools

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Dec 17, 2020.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    40,301
    Likes Received:
    8,847
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Dragam1337 likes this.
  2. oli3

    oli3 Member Guru

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC
    angelgraves13 likes this.
  3. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,805
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
  4. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,057
    Likes Received:
    4,169
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o

  5. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,884
    Likes Received:
    3,995
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Amd smt fix helps in some cases but others are just a placebo.
     
    angelgraves13 and fantaskarsef like this.
  6. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,805
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Yes this mod actually helped for me. i tried the hex tweak before that , and that didn't work.

    Now i am able to run at 3840x2160 HDR at ultra with my GTX1070

    J/K , But i am able to run higher settings at 1080p that is true.
     
    Airbud and fantaskarsef like this.
  7. circeseye

    circeseye Master Guru

    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Sapphire NITRO+590
    sigh just go into your cyber punk folder, click engine folder, then config folder....open memory pool budgets with note pad (not word pad)..
    change PoolCPU to what your sytstem is that you want under PC make sure gigabyte is GB
    change PoolGPU to what your gpu has on it again make sure you use GB
    i set mine to 8 for cpu and 8 on my gpu and it actually helped
     
    HARDRESET likes this.
  8. geogan

    geogan Master Guru

    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    3070 AORUS Master
    Yeah I can't believe changing two numbers in a text config file now requires a specialized tool to be downloaded. Some chancers out there.

    Anyway, I wish Hilbert would do an actual test here to see if increasing pool sizes actually makes any difference to framerates - I can't see it myself... maybe only for a time that new textures for areas are being streamed in from disc and for people running game from slow harddrives or something.
     
  9. Sylencer

    Sylencer Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 Strix OC
    I hope that they don't make the modders fix their games like Bethesda does it in their games.
     
  10. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,016
    Likes Received:
    328
    GPU:
    Geforce RTX 3090 FE
    At this point I can't tell which mod did it, but one of them fixed my fps issues. Was stuck at low CPU usage (and thus also an extremely bottlenecked GPU) and after fixing that my FPS practically doubled :x

    Would have to undo them 1 by 1 to check really.
     

  11. Sycuss_MoO

    Sycuss_MoO Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 FE
    SO i have been reading that this file does nothing as of patch 1.02, its a dev script that was left in and does not get used.

    so keep this in mind. I do not think its actually doing anything.
     
    angelgraves13 likes this.
  12. EngEd

    EngEd Active Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080

    What did it help you? What CPU you have? I have RTX 3080 as you can see but installed with a very old CPU like 4790K @ 4.8Ghz, 4-core. I don't know if I can get a an AMD ryzen 9 5900x due to low stock these days but would like to know what performance gains you got? Is it with RTX ON ? or without? Is it with other settings, please specify if you can :)
     
  13. EngEd

    EngEd Active Member

    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080
    Well, this is bad if the mod community is "fixing" a game like CP2077 with a mod in order to increase or help with better performance...

    I mean it's not like the game has not been delayed a couple of times before, and yet we see a disappointing performance. Still, they did crazy advertising about this game and we ended up in a mixed opinion performance-wise.
     
  14. Daftshadow

    Daftshadow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    I tried it but didn't see any difference or at least I did not notice any performance gains. The game still felt the same as before with it.
     
  15. Embra

    Embra Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    324
    GPU:
    Vega 64 Nitro+LE
    Why can't we get a play ready game at release anymore?? Is that too much to ask?

    All these fix and 3rd party solutions should not be necessary to play a game reasonably well.
     

  16. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,639
    Likes Received:
    2,121
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    It's not going to help if your RAM usage isn't a bottleneck. If the CPU or GPU are under a heavy enough load then any assets that need to be replaced in RAM isn't going to result in a noticeable performance drop.

    That's why I haven't bought a new game in maybe a decade. You pay a higher premium for a buggy incomplete game, poorly-optimized drivers, and (if multiplayer) unstable servers. By the time the game goes on sale, it's cheaper, playable, and can work better on crappier GPUs.
     
    HandR and Airbud like this.
  17. ViperAnaf

    ViperAnaf Master Guru

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3080 OC
    Placebo...
     
    angelgraves13 likes this.
  18. evak

    evak Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX 2060 OC
    If it works I'd use this, there are flags in an ini file for a bunch of other stuff too, including disabling loading screens and a bunch of other stuff. I have one of those early RTX 2060 Strix cards and the game runs really well at 1080p on high preset with raytracing Medium and 1440p runs ok same settings without raytracing except the first person fighting matches drops quite a few frames.
     
  19. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    379
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    I did all the known tweaks for AMD cpus and graphics and I got zero results. 3700X 2070s.
     
  20. Silva

    Silva Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,403
    Likes Received:
    579
    GPU:
    Asus RX560 4G
    Me now: having fun playing other games skipping all the drama.
    Also me in 2021: having fun with 2077 after being polished and everyone else got bored with it.
     

Share This Page