New Mod for Cyberpunk 2077: Optimizes RAM buffer pools

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Dec 17, 2020.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    43,710
    Likes Received:
    10,906
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Dragam1337 likes this.
  2. oli3

    oli3 Member Guru

    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    2080 Ti
    angelgraves13 likes this.
  3. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,360
    Likes Received:
    2,182
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
  4. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,956
    Likes Received:
    5,529
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o

  5. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,370
    Likes Received:
    6,973
    GPU:
    RTX 2080S AMP
    Amd smt fix helps in some cases but others are just a placebo.
     
    angelgraves13 and fantaskarsef like this.
  6. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,360
    Likes Received:
    2,182
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Yes this mod actually helped for me. i tried the hex tweak before that , and that didn't work.

    Now i am able to run at 3840x2160 HDR at ultra with my GTX1070

    J/K , But i am able to run higher settings at 1080p that is true.
     
    Airbud and fantaskarsef like this.
  7. circeseye

    circeseye Master Guru

    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6800xt oc
    sigh just go into your cyber punk folder, click engine folder, then config folder....open memory pool budgets with note pad (not word pad)..
    change PoolCPU to what your sytstem is that you want under PC make sure gigabyte is GB
    change PoolGPU to what your gpu has on it again make sure you use GB
    i set mine to 8 for cpu and 8 on my gpu and it actually helped
     
    HARDRESET likes this.
  8. geogan

    geogan Master Guru

    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    216
    GPU:
    3070 AORUS Master
    Yeah I can't believe changing two numbers in a text config file now requires a specialized tool to be downloaded. Some chancers out there.

    Anyway, I wish Hilbert would do an actual test here to see if increasing pool sizes actually makes any difference to framerates - I can't see it myself... maybe only for a time that new textures for areas are being streamed in from disc and for people running game from slow harddrives or something.
     
    Dragam1337 likes this.
  9. Sylencer

    Sylencer Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    ASUS 3090 Strix OC
    I hope that they don't make the modders fix their games like Bethesda does it in their games.
     
  10. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,104
    Likes Received:
    389
    GPU:
    Geforce RTX 3090 FE
    At this point I can't tell which mod did it, but one of them fixed my fps issues. Was stuck at low CPU usage (and thus also an extremely bottlenecked GPU) and after fixing that my FPS practically doubled :x

    Would have to undo them 1 by 1 to check really.
     

  11. Sycuss_MoO

    Sycuss_MoO Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Blocked 3090 FE
    SO i have been reading that this file does nothing as of patch 1.02, its a dev script that was left in and does not get used.

    so keep this in mind. I do not think its actually doing anything.
     
    angelgraves13 likes this.
  12. EngEd

    EngEd Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080

    What did it help you? What CPU you have? I have RTX 3080 as you can see but installed with a very old CPU like 4790K @ 4.8Ghz, 4-core. I don't know if I can get a an AMD ryzen 9 5900x due to low stock these days but would like to know what performance gains you got? Is it with RTX ON ? or without? Is it with other settings, please specify if you can :)
     
  13. EngEd

    EngEd Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080
    Well, this is bad if the mod community is "fixing" a game like CP2077 with a mod in order to increase or help with better performance...

    I mean it's not like the game has not been delayed a couple of times before, and yet we see a disappointing performance. Still, they did crazy advertising about this game and we ended up in a mixed opinion performance-wise.
     
  14. Daftshadow

    Daftshadow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    I tried it but didn't see any difference or at least I did not notice any performance gains. The game still felt the same as before with it.
     
  15. Embra

    Embra Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    440
    GPU:
    6800xt Nitro+
    Why can't we get a play ready game at release anymore?? Is that too much to ask?

    All these fix and 3rd party solutions should not be necessary to play a game reasonably well.
     

  16. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,474
    Likes Received:
    2,817
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    It's not going to help if your RAM usage isn't a bottleneck. If the CPU or GPU are under a heavy enough load then any assets that need to be replaced in RAM isn't going to result in a noticeable performance drop.

    That's why I haven't bought a new game in maybe a decade. You pay a higher premium for a buggy incomplete game, poorly-optimized drivers, and (if multiplayer) unstable servers. By the time the game goes on sale, it's cheaper, playable, and can work better on crappier GPUs.
     
    HandR and Airbud like this.
  17. ViperAnaf

    ViperAnaf Master Guru

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    125
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3080 OC
    Placebo...
     
    angelgraves13 likes this.
  18. evak

    evak Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX 2060 OC
    If it works I'd use this, there are flags in an ini file for a bunch of other stuff too, including disabling loading screens and a bunch of other stuff. I have one of those early RTX 2060 Strix cards and the game runs really well at 1080p on high preset with raytracing Medium and 1440p runs ok same settings without raytracing except the first person fighting matches drops quite a few frames.
     
  19. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,295
    Likes Received:
    566
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    I did all the known tweaks for AMD cpus and graphics and I got zero results. 3700X 2070s.
     
  20. Silva

    Silva Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    904
    GPU:
    Asus Dual RX580 O4G
    Me now: having fun playing other games skipping all the drama.
    Also me in 2021: having fun with 2077 after being polished and everyone else got bored with it.
     

Share This Page